No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Sutherlands Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
STONE STREET , GATESHEAD, NE109RY
Sutherlands is a hotel in Gateshead, Tyne and Wear, just a 8 minute drive from Newcastle. On site facilities include, a Bar & Bistro open late, childrens entertainment, with various evening events and entertainment throughout the week. Our 12 hotel rooms provide you with personal customer service and relaxed atmosphere. We are a vibrant hotel, a destination venue catering for all facsits of entertainment and leisure. Each room comes with ensuite, flat screen TV and discretionary room service.

Newcastle/gateshead boasts great high street shopping, theatre, arts, culture and an extremely lively nightlife scene. The hotel is 8 minutes from Newcastle Central Station, and a 15 minute ride from Newcastle International Airport. Which means you couldnt be in a better position to visit all this great city has to offer whether your visiting family, partying with friends, on a romantic break or a quiet retreat, newcastle/gateshead is the place for you and Sutherlands is the place to stay.
Picture of Sutherlands Hotel, GATESHEAD at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 17 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I was pleasantly surprised by this accommodation. The room was a great size, very clean and had all the necessary facilities I would expect of a hotel room. The problem with the heating system was dealt with promptly and with care and professionalism.The breakfast was a delicious feast, although disappointed the restaurant had stopped serving the evening menu by the time I had returned to the hotel at 8pm.

Reviewed by
Lesley M

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Welcoming
Me and a friend only stayed there for one night but we felt like a massive part of our weekend being so good was how well the staff treated us and how friendly they were to us. I recommend this hotel to anyone purely because the people who work here are so great, especially the owner helen. After we left wr felt like we had known them for years.

Reviewed by
Joseph Ions

From Croydon, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stayed at the Sutherlands Hotel while visiting friends. Second time to stay here.. Room was a good size. one negative from my point of view, no mirror beside plug point to dry hair. Wedding in premises on the Saturday and the noise in the early hours of Sunday morning was appalling. This is something that may need to be looked at if guests are not part of the wedding party . Overall the Hotel is clean and breakfast was of a very good quality .

Reviewed by
Y MUNDY

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great people to stay with good all round
helen very nice person had a good stay , good food, and very helpful.
thankyou again chris at edm sales & services

Reviewed by
chris sayce

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent location for city break - staff couldn't be more helpful - will definitely go back

Reviewed by
Lynn T

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

morning campers
Ok. The Stateroom reminded me of the club house in a caravan park.

Reviewed by
Simon A

From Chorley, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic stay
Great hotel and ideal for a good night out in Newcastle. Taxi costs around £7 to get to the city centre. Rooms were beyond reasonable with comfortable beds and plenty of room for 4 of us. Flat screen tv and tea and coffee facilities were great. Breakfast was fairly good the next morning also. Price could be better as £40 a person was a bit steep. All in all a good stay.

Reviewed by
Robert Lane

From Alfreton, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I suggest you have a word with this hotel. A lady, who I assume was the manager, took it upon herself to enter my bedroom with her key when I was asleep to see if I had returned, I could not believe it. In all my years of using hotels this has never happened. I was startled to say the least and if I was a female, I would probably have been terrified.

Reviewed by
J Gauld

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not business persons venue
No breakfast, locked in if it was not for the cleaner at 8.30 I would not be able to get out. What about FIRE no on premises.

Reviewed by
A Leppard

From Croydon, England
Who stayed in December 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Visit to family
We used this hotel while we were visiting family in Newcastle and would recomend it for a stay in this city

Reviewed by
alan s

From Great Yarmouth, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next