Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > Devon & Cornwall > Cornwall > Truro Hotels > The Alverton (Formerly Alverton Manor)
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Alverton (Formerly Alverton Manor)

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
TREGOLLS ROAD , TRURO, TR1 1ZQ
Discover The Alverton...a hidden gem in the city! A historical Grade II listed building and previously a convent built by the same architect as Truro Cathedral - The Alverton has now been fully refurbished into a stylish, 4* hotel in the Cornish capital city. Offering unrivalled levels of service, luxurious rooms and gorgeous food and drink, with a convenient central location within walking distance to all that Truro offers. With 33 bedrooms from Classics to spacious Suites, laid back bar & brasserie, al fresco terrace and unique weddings and conference facilities.

The Alverton Hotel is simply magical and without a doubt a hotel to be enjoyed all year round. Whether for a weekend break, longer holidays or a business stay; The Alverton is the place to stay in Cornwall. Located within the Historic City of Truro and close enough to access Falmouth, St. Mawes, Padstow, St. Ives and most principal towns and attractions within the county.
Picture of The Alverton (Formerly Alverton Manor), TRURO at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 63 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A quality establishment
Very good quality hotel with excellent service. Great location a few minutes walk from the city centre.

Reviewed by
Des A

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend Away - and to visit friends
Room 10 (bed and breakfast £99 per evening) - on arrival at 6pm on the Saturday, staff very friendly and helpful, even bringing my suitcase to my room as it was up some stairs (I have trouble with my knee) the young receptionist took it upon herself, without me asking, to look on the computer to see if they could change my room due to my knee, which I thought was very helpful, ( I should have asked when making the booking - so my own fault) unfortunately the hotel was fully booked and I was happy to have the room given.
I ate in the Brasserie that evening, Chicken dish and veg, followed by cheese cake, the meal was very enjoyable and good value for money. The service was excellent - plenty of staff who were friendly and attentive. The room is comfortable to eat in.
Room 10 unfortunately backed/over looked the kitchen and staff would take their break and forget that voices travel at night! I really did not want to be listening to them at 11pm onwards. Up to 4 were sat down at one time. On both evenings.
Room 10 was comfortable and clean. The bathroom was a good size with bath and separate shower - the shower was excellent.
Not the hotels fault - but the people staying in room 9 felt they needed to bang on their door at 1.15am in the morning.
Breakfast - had both mornings(sun/mon) Staff very friendly and attentive.
Sunday -had small bowl of fruit with yogurt followed by Full English (ordered scrambled eggs,bacon, sausage,black pudding, potato cake and whole large mushroom plus two slices of toast) but with no beans or hogs pudding. It came and I was told there was no Cornish potato cake that morning, they hadn't been made - I was not offered extra of something else. The breakfast was ok , but I have had far better. The toaster took ages.
I did notice that parts of the floor appeared not to be hoovered as there was party glitter (50th) on the floor.
Monday morning - bowl of fruit, full english as yesterday- when it came out it was the wrong order, the next one came out this time with a cornish potato cake on it, what surprised me was just half a large mushroom!! bacon was rather crispy and overcooked. Perhaps they were running out (I was however one of the first for breakfast as I had to leave early)
The surroundings of the hotel is lovely and impressive,
At check out on the Monday,the reception staff were friendly and I gave them the feedback card I had filled out. I did mention about the kitchen staff, saying that I hoped to come back, but not stay in room 10. They were apologetic about the kitchen staff, and said it would be past on.
I did enjoy my stay, but the breakfast did let them down, if only the quality of the breakfast had been as good as the evening meal they would have been spot on

Reviewed by
L WARD

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel- lacking visible management
A huge amount of money had recently been invested in this hotel- lovely décor and perfect location- sadly- should be a lovely hotel. Whilst we were staying we never saw any evidence of 'Management' The young girls on the staff seemed to be untrained . If I was the owner I would be very upset and hopefully see a need to train my staff. better. . Food on the Dinner menu had 'run out' but was of a reasonable standard. Service was poor, even though the girls were reasonably friendly. Breakfast on the second morning was very good - eaten at 7.30( but they had run out of sausages!) - on the first morning we waited ages for the cooked food to appear( 8.45) : toast had run out. no sauce- cold coffee and lukewarm food. " Do you want to order" was said with astonishment. Our room ( Ok - we booked late and it was one of the least expensive) looked out onto the 'service courtyard' - even though it was well appointed the view left a huge amount to be desired. We really don't wish to see piles of packing cases or laundry being thrown out of a window !! In all rather disappointing- as it should be so much better. Hopefully it will 'get its act together ' and then we would certainly return, as it is an ideal location and a potentially lovely hotel .

Reviewed by
H Thompson

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel but shame about the bed
The Alverton is a lovely hotel only about 10 minutes walk from the centre of Truro. The food in the restaurant was excellent. The only negative comment is that the mattress in our room (Room 14) was truly awful. It was worn and soft and had such a dip in it that it was impossible to get comfortable and get any sleep. When we told the receptionist the next morning she readily agreed to move us to another room (Room 10) which overall was a much nicer room - better bathroom with a separate shower and a very comfortable bed. We did, however, get the impression, and it was only an impression, that she was not surprised by our comment about the mattress in Room 14. If that is the case, and the hotel had already had negative comments then they really should have done something about it. I hope they do now change the mattress before other travellers suffer a poor nights sleep.

Reviewed by
Catherine C

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a beautiful hotel!!
My boyfriend and I stayed for a night for my cousins wedding and we absolutely loved it. It's such a beautiful hotel with lovely rooms

Reviewed by
R Pearson

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Arriving tired and hungry !!!
I arrived quite late on my first night (I had a two night stay) and I thought I'd be JUST a bit too late for the hotel restaurant. Realising I was desperate, reception checked me in while I went straight into the restaurant while the kitchen was still in operation. I had a lovely steak which was the quickest and easiest thing to be cooked and the young lady at reception brought my room key and check-in papers to my table … I was impressed with the fact that the staff immediately tried to accommodate my needs. The hotel staff were consistently kind, helpful and respectful my whole stay … loved it !!!

Reviewed by
Philip S

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pity about the disco
We had a one night stay and enjoyed being in a well appointed, very clean ensuite room. When we checked in mid-afternoon the restaurant was already fully booked so had we wanted to dine in (we didn't) that wouldn't have been possible. Breakfast was excellent and quickly served. The only negative point was a wedding disco which went on very loudly after 11pm and rather spoiled the country house atmosphere. Overall a good stay if rather pricey.

Reviewed by
David L

From Yeovil, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Casual user
No problems encountered

Reviewed by
R Smith

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely building & ambience in hotel. Very helpful, friendly staff. My only concern is that it is not 4 star standard in my opinion. Rooms not cleaned properly & poor quality & lack of variety on cold breakfast selection.

Reviewed by
Laura M

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good.

Reviewed by
H Parry

From Godalming, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next