Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > Devon & Cornwall > Cornwall > Truro Hotels > The Alverton (Formerly Alverton Manor)
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Alverton (Formerly Alverton Manor)

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
TREGOLLS ROAD , TRURO, TR1 1ZQ
Discover The Alverton...a hidden gem in the city! A historical Grade II listed building and previously a convent built by the same architect as Truro Cathedral - The Alverton has now been fully refurbished into a stylish, 4* hotel in the Cornish capital city. Offering unrivalled levels of service, luxurious rooms and gorgeous food and drink, with a convenient central location within walking distance to all that Truro offers. With 33 bedrooms from Classics to spacious Suites, laid back bar & brasserie, al fresco terrace and unique weddings and conference facilities.

The Alverton Hotel is simply magical and without a doubt a hotel to be enjoyed all year round. Whether for a weekend break, longer holidays or a business stay; The Alverton is the place to stay in Cornwall. Located within the Historic City of Truro and close enough to access Falmouth, St. Mawes, Padstow, St. Ives and most principal towns and attractions within the county.
Picture of The Alverton (Formerly Alverton Manor), TRURO at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 61 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel but shame about the bed
The Alverton is a lovely hotel only about 10 minutes walk from the centre of Truro. The food in the restaurant was excellent. The only negative comment is that the mattress in our room (Room 14) was truly awful. It was worn and soft and had such a dip in it that it was impossible to get comfortable and get any sleep. When we told the receptionist the next morning she readily agreed to move us to another room (Room 10) which overall was a much nicer room - better bathroom with a separate shower and a very comfortable bed. We did, however, get the impression, and it was only an impression, that she was not surprised by our comment about the mattress in Room 14. If that is the case, and the hotel had already had negative comments then they really should have done something about it. I hope they do now change the mattress before other travellers suffer a poor nights sleep.

Reviewed by
Catherine C

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a beautiful hotel!!
My boyfriend and I stayed for a night for my cousins wedding and we absolutely loved it. It's such a beautiful hotel with lovely rooms

Reviewed by
R Pearson

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Arriving tired and hungry !!!
I arrived quite late on my first night (I had a two night stay) and I thought I'd be JUST a bit too late for the hotel restaurant. Realising I was desperate, reception checked me in while I went straight into the restaurant while the kitchen was still in operation. I had a lovely steak which was the quickest and easiest thing to be cooked and the young lady at reception brought my room key and check-in papers to my table … I was impressed with the fact that the staff immediately tried to accommodate my needs. The hotel staff were consistently kind, helpful and respectful my whole stay … loved it !!!

Reviewed by
Philip S

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pity about the disco
We had a one night stay and enjoyed being in a well appointed, very clean ensuite room. When we checked in mid-afternoon the restaurant was already fully booked so had we wanted to dine in (we didn't) that wouldn't have been possible. Breakfast was excellent and quickly served. The only negative point was a wedding disco which went on very loudly after 11pm and rather spoiled the country house atmosphere. Overall a good stay if rather pricey.

Reviewed by
David L

From Yeovil, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Casual user
No problems encountered

Reviewed by
R Smith

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely building & ambience in hotel. Very helpful, friendly staff. My only concern is that it is not 4 star standard in my opinion. Rooms not cleaned properly & poor quality & lack of variety on cold breakfast selection.

Reviewed by
Laura M

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good.

Reviewed by
H Parry

From Godalming, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A return visit is a definite!
This place is really beautiful, a beautiful building in beautiful grounds (we had the added bonus of glorious sunshine during our stay). The staff were really lovely and helpful...I actually commented to my wife how great it was that the second a member of staff sees you...a smile instantly appears on their face. The first room we stayed in was a little noisy for us (we were there for total relaxation) due to the room above, and when we asked to move for the second night...it was absolutely no problem for the staff. Both rooms we stayed in were really very nice, decorated with style and the bathrooms were modern and very clean. Safe to say we will certainly return and have already recommended Alverton Manor to more than one group of our friends.

Reviewed by
Stephen Fowell

From Weston Super Mare, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Summer Break
We were impressed with the building and the friendliness of the staff from the moment we arrived, but a few hours later after my husband had a fall walking into Truro and ended up in Treliske hospital for a few hours, we were even more impressed. The hotel staff couldn't do enough for us.
The room we were in, number 22, was spacious and comfortable with lovely views over the terrace and garden. Although quite a rambling old building (long corridors and short flights of stairs) this didn't put us off as it was part of the ambience. The rooms were furnished in keeping with the building but the bathrooms were new and very up to date. We will definitely be back at some time and would recommend the hotel to anyone who enjoys staying somewhere different as well as good.

Reviewed by
D Williams

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would stay again!
Beautiful hotel, lovely grounds, terrific room - en suite AND with a cafetiere and proper filter coffee!! Definitely booking here next time I come. The only thing is I had a bad headache and the staff didn't have any ibuprofen or paracetamol.

Reviewed by
Paula M

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next