No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Drumoig Golf Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Forgan Drive , St Andrews, KY16 0DS
Welcome to Drumoig Golf Hotel and Golf Course. Under new ownership since February 2010. Conveniently situated between the Home of Golf, St Andrews, and the regular Open venue of Carnoustie, Drumoig Golf Hotel is the perfect base to experience the wide range of golf courses available in Fife and Angus.

With its own par 72 championship golf course, set in 250 acres of rolling Fife countryside, Drumoig Golf Hotel has all the facilities that the visiting golfer requires, including 24 standard double/twin lodge bedrooms and 4 executive bedrooms, bar and restaurant. The 18 hole golf course, which was opened in 1996, is exciting and varied with a reputation of being playable throughout the year.

Picture of Drumoig Golf Hotel, St Andrews at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 65 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really good stay, service excellent will
Definitely be back 5 star

Reviewed by
g dickson

From Chester le Street, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tired, shabby & overpriced even with Laterooms discount!
It was like reasonable student accommodation! Terrible decor (lime green walls & green curtains!) Very basic double room - 2 single beds pushed together. The room not up to the standard of cleanliness expected (regardless of star rating) backed up by the fact that when the window was open flies/bugs swarmed in!!! Carpets were dirty & the little furniture there was needed upgrading & cleaned. Walls were paper thin & could clearly hear everything going on next door.......thankfully only loud snoring! Food was as expected for a three star rated place - fairly average.
The only saving grace was Lyn (manager?) who seemed to do everything & was very helpful. Great welcome & service throughout. Without her I reckon the place would have closed down by now.

Reviewed by
David R

From Stirling, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely quiet hotel in quiet surroundings.
Was made very welcome although staffing was a little scarce due to the hotel being quiet and then got busy quick and staff had been sent home but Heather coped very well.

Reviewed by
Tim mason

From Peterhead, England
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the room we stayed in was excellent would recommend this hotel as a must stay if in the area.

Reviewed by
Sterling Campbell

From Lossiemouth, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel
Very good hotel. The service was excellent. The room was very well equipped. The food was really good and the bar was very well kept. The location is excellent for either a business trip or a golf holiday. Everything that i asked for was met with with a smile. Nothing was too much trouble. I will definitely stay here again. Thank you fir a great stay.

Reviewed by
k batham

From Tamworth, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous location for exploring the area
We spent three nights at Drumoig. Our request for a non-smoking, double-bedded room with a nice view was honoured and we found ourselves in an accommodation block next to the hotel itself.
Room 23 has fabulous views over the golf course.
Although basic, It was clean and spacious and had a brand new bed recently installed. The whole block was in the process of being refurbished.
It had everything necessary for a comfortable stay including hospitality tray, iron, trouser press, hairdrier. Only downside was a tv the size of a postage stamp but, depending on how much you watch tv this really isnt a problem.
The receptionist was also the bar attendant, the waitress and general all-rounder and did a marvellous job seeing to everyone. All the staffwere friendly and helpful. Food was really nice and very reasonable. Everything seemed to be made to order so a bit of patience was required on occasions. However, overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the hotel is conveniently located only 3 miles from Dundee and 6 from St.Andrews so was a perfect base for exploring the area.
It had more of a family/club feel to it as opposed to highly professional and this is what is one of its appeals. If you are looking for a relaxing break it would be difficult to find a better location that offers value for money.

Reviewed by
James A

From Banchory, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

2 night stay
lovely 2 nights

Reviewed by
kenny harrison

From Carluke, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value...
We got a fantastic deal at late notice - the room was bright, clean and roomy. Great views over the course. Only drawback is the cost of taxi's into St Andrews Town.

Reviewed by
D Brown

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Drumoig
I have stayed at this hotel before and again was very pleased with the accommodation. The staff could not have been more helpful, nothing was a problem. The food was excellent. The view from the room was wonderful. The gorgeous weather was a bonus. The peace and surroundings here has ensured that I will be booking again this year.

Reviewed by
J Walford

From Consett, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful location, lovely room.
Gorgeous location surrounded by rolling golf course, with lakes and wildlife. Lovely large upstairs room (room 16) with golf-course views, balcony and large bathtub and good shower. 'Double bed' was 2 large singles pushed together making a gigantic and very comfortable bed. Complimentary tea & coffee in room plus Scottish shortbread ! Full Scottish breakfast starting at the sensible time of 7.30am. We stayed on a special-offer weekend - full price sounds a little on the high side. Our dog stayed with us for a small extra fee.

Reviewed by
Kate B

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next