No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Mortal Man

3Self Classified Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
Troutbeck Near Windermere, Troutbeck, LA23 1PL
Beneath the rugged fells of Troutbeck Valley, just outside Windermere and Ambleside in the English Lake District, lies The Mortal Man. An established traditional Lake District Inn since 1689, it resides over the wonderous panoramic views of Lakeland mountains that have captivated the great minds through the centuries.

Today, under new ownership, the Mortal Man continues to inspire and charm its visitors. Based in the heart of the Lake District it is the perfect base for Lakeland walks or to take a trip on Lake Windermere and wander the beautiful towns and villages close-by.

Whether you are searching for Lake District Accommodation, traditional Lake District food or a Lake District beer, the Mortal Man has it all.
Picture of The Mortal Man, Troutbeck at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 24 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent rustic escape
Had a room with nice view over the garden and down Troutbeck valley. Room furnishing was basic, but clean and functional with kettle/tea/coffee/water/biscuits provided. En-suite bathroom was of a higher standard than the room and both were clean. Overall the pub furnishing is in a variable state, with the stairs and corridors looking rather tired, but in my view this added to the character. All the staff were friendly and very helpful. Excellent selection of real ales at the bar and hearty portions of food. Beer garden at the rear is a good place to relax with a book and a number of hills could be climbed without needing to get in the car.

Reviewed by
Martin J

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautifully located with a breathtaking view from every room.

Reviewed by
Julie M

From Skelmersdale, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful setting. Staff very helpful. Food was good when it arrived although service was a bit slow in the evening. Breakfast fine. Not sure it was worth the additional money we paid compared to other places we've stayed.

Reviewed by
Suzanne L

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful break.
My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The room was clean and comfortable, the staff were helpful and friendly, food was great and the surrounding area really beautiful.
We will certainly be returning and unreservedly recommend the Mortal man as a great place to stay.

Reviewed by
Ian R

From Sunderland, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderfull Stay
Never been to the Lake District before so thought we would give it a try, went on internet and The Mortal Man looked a good choice being quite central and having good reviews. Their web site also said all rooms had a good view and there was a selection of real ales.
Boy did we come up trumps, Gary, Kate and all the staff were welcoming, friendly and saw to all our needs, the beer and food were excellent and we even had good weather. We look forward to staying there again next time we venture this way.

Reviewed by
William Butterfield

From Grays, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel experience in a truly beautiful setting

Reviewed by
Jane Riley

From Clitheroe, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hidden gem
Stayed for 4 nights comfortable room, amazing views, nothing too much trouble for staff. Will definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
S Bateman

From Bilston, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointed with the cleanliness in the room. Had not been dusted for a while and cobwebs around the light shades, but overall enjoyed our stay.

Reviewed by
D Olsson

From South Shields, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Three days to restore sanity
We just had three days/two nights and chose The MortalMan following an email from Laterooms. Best choice! The staff were very friendly, the food was delicious (extensive choice for breakfast), the bed very comfortable, lots of hot water and the whole place was warm and relaxing.

Reviewed by
J Taylor

From Skipton, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our first stay in Troutbeck and The Mortal Man was a good choice. Our room was clean and comfortable with a fantastic view of the fells. We found the staff were always very friendly and approachable. The food for the breakfasts and evening meals were very tasty. We liked the location, the log fires, the tranquility and being able to have our dog with us throughout. Overall, a very relaxing and enjoyable experience.

Reviewed by
J Rodgers

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next