No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The York Priory

4Visit England Assessed Guest House Ratings explained
The York Priory Guesthouse , York, YO10 4BE
The York Priory was established in 1930 previously known as The Priory Hotel. It has been in the same family (Jacksons)for 3 generations. It is always fondly remembered by customers for the Twin Gothic Arches in the gardens, an original `Victorian Folly'

The guesthouse could not be better located for the city centre, attractions and host of lovely 1st class restaurants. An ideal base for over night or a longer more relaxing break.

Free Parking and Free Wireless internet are just 2 of the many benefits including a full English Breakfast and continental cold buffett

One thing to be assured there is always a welcome from Liz Jackson and the team.
Picture of The York Priory, York at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 76 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
I have read reviews that this hotel could do with being updated, I do agree with this however the fantastic staff, the very comfortable bed, the locations and the ability to park far out-way this.

Reviewed by
Caroline J

From Feltham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very nice
very pleasent stay, lovely breakfast , location good & good value for money.

Reviewed by
steven d

From Hayes, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room had dirty tissues and hairbrush still in the room when we arrived at the side of the bed.

Reviewed by
G Breedon

From Mansfield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

So so - receptionist nice lady
The room we were allocated was a front facing room to the main road - it was very noisy so much so my husband and I did not sleep a wink. Perhaps a back facing room would have been appropriate. The receptionist was a really nice snd helpful lady and the breakfast was good.

Reviewed by
Isabelle M

From Perth, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing service
Although our room was quite small, it was prepared early to allow us to get ready for a wedding. The staff were friendly and very accommodating. Location was great and the parking was great. Excellent breakfast.

Reviewed by
Tina Garrahie

From Newmarket, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hidden Gem
A. Nicely situated hotel, only 10 mins walk to the centre of York. Well appointed, staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms have all necessaries, clean and tidy. Ample car parking at rear.

Reviewed by
John R

From Westcliff on Sea, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our first visit to York
The hotel was situated reasonably close to the City centre which could be accessed by walking along the river bank. Parking was good and secure. The staff were pleasant, but I consider that the foyer could be updated as it looked rather tired and gloomy. However I do think that it was somewhat overpriced when compared to other hotels.

Reviewed by
Peter B

From Fordingbridge, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

muckybrick
We stayed on the top floor at the rear of the house away from the fairly busy Fulford Road (A19) and (perhaps consequently) very quiet. The room was compact with plenty of hanging and drawer space for clothes, small TV +DVD, kettle with complimentary accoutriments. Bed (2 singles together) was extremely comfortable with a lovely light & fluffy duvet. The views over the city and gardens are very pleasant and well worth the 4 flights of stairs to climb which were no problem for us. Breakfast for us was their full English and the fried bread was the best I have had ever. Should I return I would ask for this particular room again - and that is without trying any other! The staff could not have been more helpful and friendly

Reviewed by
M Brooke

From Leeds, England
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly welcome. Excellent customer service. Beautiful gardens. Room very clean but could do with updating. Decoration and fittings a little tired.

Reviewed by
HELEN S

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A warm welcome
A lovely family run guest house that gave us a warm welcome. The staff were all lovely. As we were in a superior double I was a little disappointed not to have a bath in our en-suite hence my score for quality of room.
I was under the impression from late rooms that this was a hotel and not a guest house and did think the price was quite expensive for a guest house. When we arrived I noted that the price we had paid from late rooms was the same as the standard rate of the Priory so no savings made.

Reviewed by
Louise Jones

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next