Reviews - The York Priory


The York Priory Guesthouse, York, YO10 4BE

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (65)

80% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • K Burns

  • September 2015

The York Priory

Great location, warm welcome and could not fault 4 poster room.

  • Kym A

  • September 2015

York Priory

Lovely welcome from staff and the dog, Bella.

Room was small but reasonable for one night stay. Shower over bath is always tricky and potentially hazardous. Breakfast was good in lovely dining room. Close enough to city centre for walking along the river.


  • August 2015

The York Priory

Was well impressed by room and facilities

  • karen barber

  • August 2015

Excellent will stay again

The hotel and family rooms where excellent.

Clean and very spacious. The staff could not do enough. We went up for my daughters graduation and booked two family rooms... such such good value and very very spacious. No faults at all

Would recommend

  • janice r

  • August 2015

Samll clean room.

Knew when we booked it would be small room, bigger rooms available but it was enough for our needs.

Clean and tidy. Nice walk along river into centre, no more than 10 minutes, very pleasant.

  • Stephen M

  • June 2015

Short Stay York

Superb place to stay, lovely room, fab breakfast.

Would stay here again and recommend to friends.

  • S O'Boy

  • April 2015

The staff were very helpful and friendly on reception, providing advice and directions.

We were travelling with my 'older' parents and reception was able to switch rooms around at the last minute so they could have a ground floor (as the hotel does not have an elevator and we were on the 3rd floor) - that was very considerate of the reception. The hotel is also convenient for the city centre and the walk into town along the river very nice.

  • A B

  • April 2015

A lovely break - Thank you

A lovely room in a lovely location, only a minute or two away from the river side.

Friendly staff too.

  • C Wilson

  • April 2015

Thoroughly Recommended

I stayed at the York Priory for three nights travelling alone for the first time.

I was very comfortable staying there. The hotel is kept beautifully clean, the staff are friendly and attentive. Fresh milk is provided in little flasks free of charge and they happily allowed me to leave my luggage at reception on the day I booked out because I had a later train. When I came to collect it I waited for the taxi to station in the lounge and was given a cup of coffee for which they would not accept payment. It is these little things that show that the hotel puts its guests first.

  • M Davison

  • April 2015

Great family run hotel in excelent location

Lovely hotel very friendly staff.

The location a 10 minute walk into city centre. The hotel was beautifully clean and full of character. Our room at the back overlooked a lovely garden and was nice and quiet. Having the remains of the old priory in the garden gave this hotel a special feature. Breakfast was lovely with plenty of choice. Ideal for families as well as couples or anyone travelling alone because the staff were so accommodating and were always available for a chat. It was a bonus that dogs were welcome too.