No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The York Priory

4Visit England Assessed Guest House Ratings explained
The York Priory Guesthouse , York, YO10 4BE
The York Priory was established in 1930 previously known as The Priory Hotel. It has been in the same family (Jacksons)for 3 generations. It is always fondly remembered by customers for the Twin Gothic Arches in the gardens, an original `Victorian Folly'

The guesthouse could not be better located for the city centre, attractions and host of lovely 1st class restaurants. An ideal base for over night or a longer more relaxing break.

Free Parking and Free Wireless internet are just 2 of the many benefits including a full English Breakfast and continental cold buffett

One thing to be assured there is always a welcome from Liz Jackson and the team.
Picture of The York Priory, York at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 75 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room not ready.
The staff were very helpful & friendly & the room was nice & clean. The only negative was check our bed wasn't made until 5.30pm even though check in was 2.00. This was due to the clean bedding being delivered late I guess due to xmas/ new year.

Reviewed by
M Jackson

From Brigg, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Doggy friendly
Welcoming dog friendly, owners dogs on site. Set us a special table in bar for breakfast. Good sized car park, 10-15 mins walk to York center. Nice rear garden. Close to riverside walks but unfortunately path was flooded by swollen river during our stay. Lovely breakfast with plenty of choice. Only downside for the not as able is lots of stairs, no lift, we were on floor three, so check first if mobility is a problem.

Reviewed by
Carol n

From Skipton, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

York Priory
The guesthouse was in a fab location, lovely place. Large bathroom, need to hang the curtains back up though as a couple of hooks had come off. Bedroom ample size, bed very comfy. Tea and coffee making facilities and a TV, brill!

Reviewed by
Sue S

From Sowerby Bridge, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

New Years eve stay
All staff were really lovely, very helpful, it was New Years eve & they had even put on a party which was free for everyone, rooms a little dated but very spacious & clean. Breakfast was excellent, so much choice

Reviewed by
S Bradshaw

From Grimsby, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing
The room was very disappointing for £130 per night. It was supposed to be a superior delux. The wardrobe was full of clutter and held shut with a hairband.The curtains were terrible. The bathroom very bare with nowhere to put anything. I have stayed in better places for half the price. The breakfast was a very greasy.

Reviewed by
B Fitzpatrick

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just what we wanted.
Nice B&B. Best feature was the friendly staff! Close to York and breakfast was lovely. Only downside was that the rooms at the front were quite loud as its on a busy road but not a massive issue.

Reviewed by
Kevin Brennan

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent.
Great place to stay - excellent service, friendly staff, room was perfect - full English breakfast each morning, and a hotel bar, too. We had a really good Christmas weekend, and we'll probably book for the same time next year (if everyone can attend). Will definitely be recommending it to friends and family. Oh and there's the resident dog, called Bella, who's the real star of the show!

Reviewed by
M Keys

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Weekend ............
The York priory staff were very obliging....letting us check in early and use their car park. They also let us leave our car there for the rest of the day after we had checked out. Our room was spacious and well heated but at the top of the building with a lot of stairs to climb. The location is fab...just a short river stroll into the center.

Reviewed by
Sue Jobson

From Loughborough, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Stay
From walking through the door we were made welcome nothing was to much trouble, free car park was a bonus, it was an easy 10 minute walk into the city either along the river bank or the main road, we will stay here again no problem

Reviewed by
J Loynd

From Blackburn, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice few days at a very nice place !
Staff all very helpful and caring, good time and breakfast nice too. Thank you.

Reviewed by
Ian Crawford

From Melrose, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next