No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The York Priory

4Visit England Assessed Guest House Ratings explained
The York Priory Guesthouse , York, YO10 4BE
The York Priory was established in 1930 previously known as The Priory Hotel. It has been in the same family (Jacksons)for 3 generations. It is always fondly remembered by customers for the Twin Gothic Arches in the gardens, an original `Victorian Folly'. The York Priory is decorated accordingly and has many original timeless features.

The guesthouse is perfectly located for the city centre attractions, shops and a host of lovely restaurants and bars. York city centre can be reached by a 15 minute walk, either by the main road or the beautiful scenic route by the river. Ideal for dog walkers.

With a choice of classic rooms designed for a comfortable over night stay, or superior rooms perfect for those longer relaxing breaks. Family and twin rooms also available.

The York Priory offers all their guests free parking and unlimited use of free WIFI. Superior rooms provide guests with free SKY TV including the movie package as well as luxury amenities, bath robes and takeaway spa slippers.

Breakfast is available, and consists of a continental cold buffet and a vast choice of cooked breakfasts from the menu cooked fresh every morning, using locally sourced ingredients, including the Priory English breakfast.

Guests can make use of the well stocked bar, and enjoy the comfort of our lounge, Newspapers and SKY TV available in the living quarters. SKY Sports is available in the bar.

One thing to be assured there is always a warm welcome from Liz Jackson and the team.
Picture of The York Priory, York at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 76 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great staff hotel a bit shabby
We arrived to the hotel and was greeted by a very lovely staff member. When we got to our room we were a little bit disappointed. It was nothing like the photographs. There was a hole in the net curtains and the chair in our room, the side panel was coming away from the bath, there was a crack down one of the glasses in our room and it just looked and felt a little shabby. We had to report that one of the lamps bulbs was blown upon our arrival, this was changed quickly. The next day our room was cleaned, but it seemed the person doing it had been interrupted during as the drinks tray was only half topped up and a wet rag left on the side.
My only other concern was the toilet, it was next to a very large window looking onto the main street, there was a net up but I felt exposed on the toilet. We had the curtains closed throughout the duration.
The receptionist was fantastic, the hotel could be really nice if the odd jobs were kept on top of.

Reviewed by
Helen W

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No Major complaints
The staff were kind and friendly. The breakfast food was enjoyable. The room was advertised as a Superior room with a King size bed, this was not the case it was two single beds pushed together with two single mattresses on it.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your review. We do try hard to make our customers stay enjoyable as much as possible. 4 of our superior rooms have industry standard, zip and link beds, as used in most 4 and 5 star hotels. These are especially enjoyed by our customers as there is no roll together, yet the comfort of a large double bed. Zip and link beds are comprised of specialised single beds that can be joined together, making a spacious super kingsize bed. The bed however is not only the definition of our superior rooms. It’s not about the décor it’s about the room size, the Sky movie package, the luxury robes, and the added extras that are not provided in the classic doubles (which have just standard 4 ft beds).

Reviewed by
M Noble

From Ilkeston, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The York Priory
The room was clean and nicely decorated with character and little treats which make a difference. Parking was free with a small holding fee which was returned on departure. However, the room was cold on arrival, more concerning was the amount of road noise through the windows. The smaller windows also failed to lock and would suddenly fall open adding to the noise.

Reviewed by
jackie m

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Charming Guesthouse
A really friendly and great alternative to the rather impersonal hotel chains. We could choose our rooms which were much bigger than at similar priced hotels and beds comforable and huge. Breakfast was cooked to order and we really felt looked after. City centre was a 15 minute walk.

Reviewed by
mark g

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay, great value for money!
Booked this hotel for me and my partner as we were going to see a show at the grand opera house and it was reasonably priced and within walking distance of the city centre.
Staff were very friendly on arrival and our room was ready even though we got there a couple of hours early which was great! On-site parking was a bonus and they let us leave the car there for the rest of the day after we'd checked out so we could spend the day in the city.

Reviewed by
Sarah C

From Dewsbury, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The York Priory
Stayed in one of the superior rooms for the weekend. The room was lovely and had the facilities as expected suitable for a 2 night stay. The room was fairly small and the road at the front is very noisy so earplugs are provided. We did make use of the hotel bar and found this a lovely option in the evening and the prices were decent. £3.95 35ml malt whisky n £2.85 for a pint of john smiths. The centre of York is about 15 minutes away. The breakfast options were great with buffet cold breakfast n help youself toast. There was a good selection of hot food. Would return.

Reviewed by
Elaine I

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyed our stay
Lovely hosts and very friendly. Nothing was a bother to them and excellent customer service. Only complaint was the tv was on the small side for a superior room. Fantastic breakfast. Would definitely recommend.

Reviewed by
c Barnes

From Washington, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room not ready.
The staff were very helpful & friendly & the room was nice & clean. The only negative was check our bed wasn't made until 5.30pm even though check in was 2.00. This was due to the clean bedding being delivered late I guess due to xmas/ new year.

Reviewed by
M Jackson

From Brigg, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Doggy friendly
Welcoming dog friendly, owners dogs on site. Set us a special table in bar for breakfast. Good sized car park, 10-15 mins walk to York center. Nice rear garden. Close to riverside walks but unfortunately path was flooded by swollen river during our stay. Lovely breakfast with plenty of choice. Only downside for the not as able is lots of stairs, no lift, we were on floor three, so check first if mobility is a problem.

Reviewed by
Carol n

From Skipton, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

York Priory
The guesthouse was in a fab location, lovely place. Large bathroom, need to hang the curtains back up though as a couple of hooks had come off. Bedroom ample size, bed very comfy. Tea and coffee making facilities and a TV, brill!

Reviewed by
Sue S

From Sowerby Bridge, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next