Reviews - BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel


358 Westgate Road, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE4 6NU

Price From 140.18 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (11)

73% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • ian r

  • October 2015


Overall i have to say the hotel was clean and of a good standard, check in was terrible the guy at reception could get a part if they ever do a re-make of faulty towers hadnt a clue is putting it mildly.

big fault of this hotel is the bar didnt open until 5pm and when your are travelling at the weekend you expect to get service through the day. looking back at it now i have stayed in better b+b's . have stayed in newcastle loads of times and dont think i would stay in this area again as didnd feel safe walking and decided to get a taxi back from town at 11pm rather than risk the walk through the area.


  • June 2015


Stayed on business.

Room clean and modern. Food was good. Great value for money.

  • R Willis

  • September 2014

No surprises, as expected

The room was clean, the staff were friendly, no complaints.

  • L Jones

  • September 2014

Clean, bright, modern hotel with spacious bedroom and conveniently located for centre of Newcastle.

  • James T

  • July 2014

Loved It

Nice clean up to date room real friendly service good wi-fi reception and to top it great curry house as well best I've had in a long time thanks guys hope to you soon

  • Dale H

  • July 2014

great city hotel

  • David B

  • June 2014

Convenient for Arena

Recommend dinner in the restaurant.

Curry was one of the best we have had anywhere. Room was large and clean. Staff helpful and accommodating. Was a good 20 minute walk into the centre downhill. Didn't try the uphill walk back - took a taxi each time for about £7.

  • K Cox

  • May 2014

We were very pleased with the size of the room and the cleanliness.

The only thing we were not pleased with were the old wooden windows that let in a lot of noise, especially as our room was at the front overlooking the main road we had a disturbed nights sleep with road traffic and sirens going past in the middle of the night. It is about a 10min walk straight into the town centre but it was not a problem for us and it was only £5 in a taxi to come back late at night. Other than the noise everything was fine.

  • Ella G

  • April 2014

Poor Service

Despite contacting this hotel prior to our visit, they still failed to provide us with 2 rooms on the same floor.

When questioned about the situation, the receptionist failed to give any suitable alternatives, therefore ruining our weekend experience.

  • Simon B

  • January 2014

Reasonable hotel