The Travellers Inn

2

999 WOLVERHAMPTON ROAD, BIRMINGHAM, B69 4RJ

Price From 97.41 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (126)

53% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • D Campbell

  • May 2015

The Travellers Inn

Rooms are very clean, also customer service is brilliant.

  • Antonia Rebecca Kelly

  • April 2015

April 11th to 15th 2015

I have been staying at The Traveller's Inn from 2009 and am always walmly welcomed by the staff.

I always get given a comfortable room and I have seen how the hotel has changed and developed over the years. I was there when the back staircase was removed to make more room for Chille Buffet. I do recommend the Chille Buffet as it is only downstairs from the room. I do however miss Angie cooking my breakfast but the breakfasts that I did have were to my liking. Being so close to Asda enables me to purchase items that I forgot to pack.

  • M Birt

  • February 2015

ok....

It has potential, but needs a good clean, and the smell of the kitchens permeates the entire building in the cold light of day...

  • R V

  • February 2015

Disappointed

When we first arrived the receptionist had no idea that we were arriving...

He quickly rectified the problem and a twin room was provided as we had proof of our booking, however the late night receptionist on the Saturday night was extremely rude and discriminated against my friend who asked to book a room. He continued to be rude when speaking to me and I was disgusted in his manner.

  • Darren E

  • February 2015

Nice staff but needs a BIG clean

The hotel is pretty basic and the whole place could do with a really big clean up (room was quite grubby and hadn't been properly cleaned in yonks) and a lick of paint wouldn't go a miss but staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Rachel S

  • January 2015

Clean good value sleep over

I booked two twin rooms at the inn.Our first room allocation wasn't acceptable as it hadn't been cleared from the previous occupant.This was immediately rectified by another room allocation.

Minor repairs needed,but nothing major. Clean bedding, comfortable bed. One bath towel provided, toiletries, kettle,tea,coffee and milk in the room. A lift is available to the floors with the rooms on. The views from the window were nonexistent. It was too hot,but the radiator could be turned down. The main clients appeared to be business/work men. I suppose there is a smell of Asian food in the air from the restaurant below, but again I found this acceptable. If your looking for luxury and romance this wouldn't be a good choice. However it is good value and clean. Very close to the M5, near by Asda,Coop, and town centre. The breakfast is charged at an extra optional cost. I ate evening meal in the buffet restaurant and found the staff very helpful, and the food was good and a reasonable price.

  • C Brissett

  • January 2015

Hairs in the pillows

Lip gloss and marks on the sheets

Coke had a bad taste and they reported it's due to being draft

  • D Griffin

  • December 2014

Travellers

I originally booked for two nights and arrived a little early but the room was ready.

First of all I was told that the lift was out of order for the foreseeable future and I would have to carry my bags up to the 2nd floor and way back in the far corner of the hotel.

The hallways have lighting that turns on when you enter the area, so everything appears very dark few a second or two, I can understand that it is a cost cutting measure but think it also helps to cover up the filthy state of the corridor carpet runners - not wall to wall just loose carpet runners.

My room was small but adequate, however, the pillow case was marked by drool from a previous occupant and the duvet was dirty. There was also a foul mildew/mould smell in the bathroom. I went to reception where I was assisted by a very pleasant employee, Paul who changed my room. This room was larger but there was still the smell of mildew/mould. As it was by now getting too late to move on, I agreed to stay one night and cancelled the second night.

Dinner was in the World Buffet and with Indian cooks I thought I would be safe eating Indian food - wrong. The Lamb Rogan Josh was acceptable but the Chicken Tikka Masala was the most tasteless mush I have ever tasted, all I have spent many years in the Indian Ocean area, eating Indian food. A 14 pound charge for almost inedible food is ridiculous. Oh, and the buffet looks great all shiney and steaming, but the steam from the water baths under the serving trays is obviously not transmitted to the food which is luke warm at most.

To top it all off that night, there was a tribute show going on that the hotel forgot to mention, that went on right under my room and the patrons then retired to their rooms at about midnight amid much banging and slamming of doors. Finally, next morning I ordered my pre-paid breakfast, thinking that no one could possibly ruin a simple cooked breakfast of sausage, bacon, fried egg, beans and mushroom with a hash brown. Wrong again, they overcooked it. Never again, I will definitely avoid the Travellers Inn in future travels. I can only suggest anyone reading this reconsider too.

  • A Martin

  • December 2014

Some minor maintence required in the rooms and the windows in the Inn could do with a clean

The Inn was located just off the m5 junction 2 with good links to the town centre, their where some minor cosmetic and cleanliness issues, glass not being cleaned and hovering under the beds would help.

. Could do with a general all round update, as I said minor things :)

  • Chris K

  • November 2014

Whilst staying at the travellers inn Birmingham my van was broken into on the first evening I was there.

I went to reception to see if they would report this but they informed me that the local police would not treat this as a crime, I asked if they had cctv, the person on reception said he did not know how to copy to a flash drive but he would get it done and send on to me which I have not yet received. The items stolen from my van were power tools and I have checked with my insurance and as the vehicle was in a hotel carpark it was not covered by my insurance. So this trip was very expensive for me replacing tools etc and getting vehicle repaired as I have used this hotel before I would probably stay again but would choose a suitable alternative first.