No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Travellers Inn

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
999 WOLVERHAMPTON ROAD , BIRMINGHAM, B69 4RJ
Recently built the Travellers Inn offers 76 comfortable rooms at sensible prices. Our rooms are modern and functional. All rooms have tea/coffee facilities,power showers,free Wifi, irons,hairdryers and flat screen TV's.

Onsite car parking is free as is use of our gym. We have our own on-site restaurant and conference room suitable for up to 60 delegates.

A choice of cooked and continental breakfasts are available at £5.50 or £3.00 per person.

Within a 5 minute walk there is a supermarket, two pubs and two restaurant. Langley train station is a mile away and Sandwell and Dudley train station is just over 2 miles away. The NEC and Birmingham airport are 23 miles away, approximately 40 minutes by car.
Birmingham City Centre is just over 5 miles away. Walsall and Wolverhampton are 8 miles away and Dudley 2 miles.

Payment is taken in full on arrival. All guests are welcome to pay by cash but will be required to leave a £50 deposit which is refundable on check out.
out
Picture of The Travellers Inn, BIRMINGHAM at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 146 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Travellers
I originally booked for two nights and arrived a little early but the room was ready. First of all I was told that the lift was out of order for the foreseeable future and I would have to carry my bags up to the 2nd floor and way back in the far corner of the hotel.
The hallways have lighting that turns on when you enter the area, so everything appears very dark few a second or two, I can understand that it is a cost cutting measure but think it also helps to cover up the filthy state of the corridor carpet runners - not wall to wall just loose carpet runners.
My room was small but adequate, however, the pillow case was marked by drool from a previous occupant and the duvet was dirty. There was also a foul mildew/mould smell in the bathroom. I went to reception where I was assisted by a very pleasant employee, Paul who changed my room. This room was larger but there was still the smell of mildew/mould. As it was by now getting too late to move on, I agreed to stay one night and cancelled the second night.
Dinner was in the World Buffet and with Indian cooks I thought I would be safe eating Indian food - wrong. The Lamb Rogan Josh was acceptable but the Chicken Tikka Masala was the most tasteless mush I have ever tasted, all I have spent many years in the Indian Ocean area, eating Indian food. A 14 pound charge for almost inedible food is ridiculous. Oh, and the buffet looks great all shiney and steaming, but the steam from the water baths under the serving trays is obviously not transmitted to the food which is luke warm at most.
To top it all off that night, there was a tribute show going on that the hotel forgot to mention, that went on right under my room and the patrons then retired to their rooms at about midnight amid much banging and slamming of doors.
Finally, next morning I ordered my pre-paid breakfast, thinking that no one could possibly ruin a simple cooked breakfast of sausage, bacon, fried egg, beans and mushroom with a hash brown. Wrong again, they overcooked it.
Never again, I will definitely avoid the Travellers Inn in future travels. I can only suggest anyone reading this reconsider too.

Reviewed by
D Griffin

From Buckley, USA
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Some minor maintence required in the rooms and the windows in the Inn could do with a clean
The Inn was located just off the m5 junction 2 with good links to the town centre, their where some minor cosmetic and cleanliness issues, glass not being cleaned and hovering under the beds would help! . Could do with a general all round update, as I said minor things :)

Reviewed by
A Martin

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect for overnight stay!
The hotel looks good on approach, the theme is carried inside, nice clean, modern interior and fixtures. The room was perfect for us, just an overnight stay, the gym was a total bonus as the three of us are gym buffs (one pro bodybuilder) so that saved us searching for a local gym. The room wasn't super fancy but had everything we needed, the shower was awesome! Love a good power shower!

Reviewed by
James C

From Hartlepool, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Whilst staying at the travellers inn Birmingham my van was broken into on the first evening I was there.
I went to reception to see if they would report this but they informed me that the local police would not treat this as a crime, I asked if they had cctv, the person on reception said he did not know how to copy to a flash drive but he would get it done and send on to me which I have not yet received. The items stolen from my van were power tools and I have checked with my insurance and as the vehicle was in a hotel carpark it was not covered by my insurance. So this trip was very expensive for me replacing tools etc and getting vehicle repaired as I have used this hotel before I would probably stay again but would choose a suitable alternative first.

Reviewed by
Chris K

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor maintenance
Very dissatisfied

Reviewed by
Ravi M

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Suitable
Can you get a better hotel?? Yes of course you can, however you cant beat value for money, and that's what the Travellers Inn really is. Every time I stay, I email directly to the hotel and they always have a room for me, or always fit me in somewhere, the beds are very cosy, the shower is hotel enough and the room has all of the amenities that you would desire. With its on site gym, you can also get rid of the days stress, and although its not the latest equipment, it is enough to see you through to your normal routine.
The buffet menu, although I did prefer the previous option, is ample enough and again although it lacks the top notch restaurant, it is value for money.
I would recommend this hotel for any business trip.

Reviewed by
Matt Fisher

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It's was so bad never stay here the pillow had cum on there this the worst hotel I've ever stayed
Never stay here it's is bad you will have nightmares

Reviewed by
Nuru P

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great City Stop

Reviewed by
K Morgan

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Food good, room not great, not even hand soap
No hand soap in the room, not overly clean. Good location, gym and Chinese restaurant.

Reviewed by
Ian B

From Gainsborough, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Upon arrival we were given a key card that looked like it had been trampled on as it was bent in half. The reception staff weren't presented well at all and looked scruffy. Not only this, but the service from them was very slow and sloppy. No customer service orientation in here. A lot down to the brand.

Reviewed by
daniel r

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next