Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > Scotland > Central Scotland > Fife > St Andrews Hotels > Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa

5AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Old Station Road , St Andrews, KY16 9SP
Bordering the renowned 17th ‘Road Hole’ of the Old Course in the Home of Golf, the Old Course Hotel enjoys a spectacular location overlooking the famous links courses, the West Sands beach and the beautiful Scottish coastline.

This iconic resort has been lavishly refurbished to feature luxurious suites and bedrooms with Kohler bathroom products, a majority with private balconies and views of the world-famous Old Course and the sea.

The Old Course Hotel offers an exceptional choice of bars and restaurants from the chic informality of the Sands Grill specialising in steak and seafood to an exquisite gourmet experience in the acclaimed Road Hole Restaurant (3 AA rosettes). In addition, the hotel’s traditional pub The Jigger Inn serves fine home cooked food and The Duke’s Bar & Grill offers a traditional Scottish golfers’ menu. Enjoy stunning views across the Old Course to the North Sea in the award-winning Road Hole Bar offering Scotland’s finest whiskies from over 260 distilleries.

Kohler Waters Spa is rated amongst the top UK Spas and provides an outstanding spa experience, including a thermal suite featuring a hydrotherapy pool, plunge pool, Japanese steam room and light therapy sauna as well as a 20-metre indoor swimming pool with waterfall, fitness suite and a rooftop hot tub.

In addition, The Duke’s offers championship heathland golf to complement the nearby links courses. Voted a Top 100 Golf Course in the UK by Golf World magazine, The Duke’s has magnificent greens, beautiful fairways, five tees on every hole and fleet of electric buggies.

The resort has a range of conference and banqueting facilities including executive boardrooms, an elegant Ballroom, and a self-contained conference centre providing a flexible, modern space supported by user-friendly technology. Purpose built ‘break-out’ rooms and a dedicated entrance to the centre make it an ideal venue for any event with chauffeur driven car and helicopter services also available.

With its world-class accommodation, decadent dining, Kohler Waters Spa, own heathland golf course and the utmost attention to detail, this award-winning five red-star resort is the ultimate hotel experience.

**Our spa facilities and gym are going to be closed from the 3rd to 7th February 2014 inclusive for essential maintenance work. Spa treatments will still be available during these dates**
Picture of Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa, St Andrews at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 42 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

20th anniversary old course hotel
Wonderful stay from start to finish. Bi comfortable bed and plenty of soft pillows. Lovely touch from the hotel delivering canapés and prosecco with a hand written anniversary card. We will definitely be back.

Reviewed by
John L

From Dunfermline, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Wonderful Old Course Hotel
Absolutely excellent. Fantastic service from the moment we arrived til we left.
Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, who were so courteous and very accommodating.
Quality of the room simply wonderful. Highly recommended for a relaxing break

Reviewed by
Frances S

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay
Got a great deal and the room was huge. Well worth a visit and the spa is great.

Reviewed by
s young

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A fantastic hotel
An amazing hotel with fantastic staff.

Reviewed by
Kevin Crawford

From Selkirk, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

St Andrews Day
Excellent hotel and surrounding area. Staff were very attentive and helpful. Would visit again.

Reviewed by
R Williams

From Caernarfon, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Don't be tempted by Alice's bottle!
The quality of customer service is excellent, with friendly, charming staff throughout. A welcome glass of prosecco on arrival was a delight. The deepest bath I've ever seen and a selection of Arran Aromatics toiletries in the spacious bathroom. Wonderously comfortable beds and a splendid spread at breakfast.
A good selection of teas in the room and beside them a bottle of French red wine with a collar that said 'Drink me'. It wasn't priced on the mini bar tariff and we assumed it was another complementary. On check-out we discovered this was not the case: £28 had been added to our bill for 'private dinings'.I retrieved the bottle from my bag. The receptionist said it was a recent addition to the mini bar and clearly misleading although she pointed out the £28 in miniscule writing at the bottom of the collar. She said she would raise it with her superior. All handled with ease and grace, It did nothing to detract from our lovely stay.

Reviewed by
Kathleen H

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very enjoyable treat
We were upgraded to a suite as this was a birthday treat. Fabulous room, tasty breakfast and very high level of service. Only comment I would make it that the spa was a bit disappointing - expected more for a hotel of the calibre - a party seemed to be ongoing in the outside hot-tub so we could not use it.

Reviewed by
Allison P

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First Class Hotel & Service
stayed here for only one night but wished i stayed for more, rooms are most excellent with all facilities staff very friendly and helpful and no need to drag your luggage behind you as when checking in its already in your room :)
The food and wine were also most excellent as well as the 5 star breakfast with the best coffee ever :)

Reviewed by
Alan Murphy

From Inverness, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful Hotel on the Famous St Andrews 17th Hole

Reviewed by
R Lindsay

From Castle Douglas, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice weekend break
Nice hotel & view,s & walking distance from town

Reviewed by
Alistair Murray

From Peterhead, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next