Reviews - The Royal George Hotel


The Royal George Hotel Tay Street, Perth, PH1 5LD

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (30)

87% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • S Penny

  • October 2015

Lovely hotel with good service

We have stayed here several times over the years and note several modernisations tastefully done.

Always clean and staff are helpful. Breakfast was delicious and served on hot plates as it should be. Ten out of ten

  • Tom Morton

  • February 2015

riding on its reputation

Stayed here before.

Second stay. Can't help but feel this hotel would benefit from some investment in staff and room upgrades. Disappointment for me:

The bed matress is old and lumpy

The room still has that stale legacy of smoking

Biggest disappointment the dinner. Venison cooked perfectly then seriously let down by presentation and lack of finesse. No seasoning in sauce; old (chewy) mushrooms being used in sauce; restaurant staff just local well intentioned guys (students?) with no proper training. Breakfast poached eggs placed straight onto toast - nobody likes wet toast :) come on chef. The breakfast lady needs support, superb asset to the team but she's overwhelmed running back and forth and service suffers with only a handful of tables. For the money I shouldn't complain, but if the investment in quality is made then I would pay more.

  • peter c

  • February 2015

Great Perth views

Booked last minute on laterooms a standard double so was pleasantly surprised when arrived in room it was a suite.

With great views of the river. Only downside is be aware of very tight car park if you are bringing a car.

  • nicholas Barry

  • January 2015

Review of royal George hotel

always a pleasant hotel to stay in, when in Perth.

Comfortable and cosy room.

  • James C

  • December 2014

Royal george hotel

Very nice room ,lovely new bathroom , perfect views,of, and over river tay.

nice to sit at window for coffee. Cosy for winter, very good service in morning and excellent breakfast.

  • M Parry

  • November 2014

There must be very different standards of rooms within the hotel.

The last time I stayed the room was excellent, the room I was given this time was the complete opposite and very dated, shower pressure was very poor.

  • Mick w

  • November 2014

Great Place to Stay

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay - Would stay again - Reception staff where very friendly and helpful

  • B Richardson

  • November 2014


Excellent hotel, ideal for a city break.

Rooms are large a spacious, clean and contains all that is required. The location is ideal, 15 minute walk from the station and just a few minutes from shops and restaurants. The hotel overlooks the river which is beautiful, there a main road outside the front of the hotel but the traffic noise was minimal and did not affect sleep. I did not eat in the restaurant so I cannot comment on the evening meal but the breakfast was gorgeous and extremely filling. Overall an excellent accommodation which I would definitely use again should I visit Perth in the future.

  • john sallens

  • November 2014

My stay a the Royal George

Only stayed one night, but was so impressed by the friendly staff, the hotel and the food.

Fantastic and will be back.

  • A Bain

  • October 2014

short stay in perth

Nice old building well located in the centre of perth.