No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Royal George Hotel

3Visit Scotland Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
The Royal George Hotel Tay Street, Perth, PH1 5LD
Idyllically located on the banks of the River Tay in the heart of Perth, the hotel has been attracting guests from around the world for over 200 years. Notable visitors include Empress Eugenie and Queen Victoria who visited in 1848.

The hotel offers 45 charmingly decorated bedrooms and feature rooms, all equipped with radio, television, telephone, trouser press and tea and coffee making facilities. Many of the rooms benefit from stunning views across the river and our award winning gardens. All of our bedrooms have ensuite bathrooms.

From the restaurant, the glorious views are as enjoyable as the Scottish cuisine, with a hand picked selection of traditional dishes readily available. A vast selection of world wines, fine beers and over 50 Scottish malts are available in the MacGregor Lounge Bar, and from the sun lounge, guests have another chance to take in the unspoilt views of Perth Bridge and the River Tay.

100 yards from Perth Museum and Horsecross concert and conference centre, and a short walk to the High Street.
Highly popular venue with fishing and golfing parties, with St Andrews, Gleneagles and Carnoustie only a short drive away.

Hotel rooms: 45 All ensuite. Family owned and run hotel. Free wifi and limited free parking available.
Picture of The Royal George Hotel, Perth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 45 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Hotel - Awful breakfast
This hotel is a bit of an enigma, on one hand the staff and rooms are superb (apart from the bar staff and the breakfast staff )
the room was spotless but there is little or no parking space even though it was advertised, we had to park in a disabled space on the street all night!
we asked for a river view and we were provided with one which was excellent
Now the breakfast was another matter - the tea was cold, the toast wasn't toasted and the berries were still frozen - the breakfast was disgraceful for a hotel of this level.
Finally the young lady on the reception was a shining light - whatever they are paying her is not enough!

Reviewed by
Alan R

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Value for Money
I was staying to attend a business function elsewhere in the town. The room was spacious, had a River Tay view and was clean. The breakfast was very hearty and tasty. All of the staff I met were helpful and pleasant. I would definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
Gavin P

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

bit of the old and the new at the royal george.
Had a excellent stay at the Royal George. From when we arrived the staff were very attentive and friendly. This is an old hotel that has plenty of character but also has a lot of modern touches that go with it.
The room was spotlessly clean with a lot of little extras. It had wonderful views looking onto the river Tay and Perth bridge.
The breakfast service was amazing and would definitely return to this hotel.
Good value for money and the bed was comfortable.

Reviewed by
james aire

From Bo'ness, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

perfect first impression of perth
I stayed in a very spacious,immaculately clean king sized room with a terrific view of the river tay. I only paid 35 pounds for the room which was excellent value. I ordered room service because I arrived after the restaurant had closed and the food was delivered very quickly and was delicious. All the staff I encountered were extremely friendly and helpful. I would definately stay here again and would recommend to friends.

Reviewed by
m williams

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fantastic
From booking in to checking out the staff were superb. Quality of room second to none , the best room we have stayed in. This hotel has a lot of charm and class deserves to be way more than 3 stars

Reviewed by
g mackay

From Lairg, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Had recently stayed in another hotel in Ayrshire for a family hotel,which only cost £10 more,but was much plusher. The Royal felt a bit dated&jaded in comparison. However,room was clean,staff extremely helpful&breakfast was lovely,so overall,happy travellers

Reviewed by
Lynn C

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Hotel and Location
Excellent. hotel

Reviewed by
Hamish K

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Extreme Disappointment
The hotel appears to have all of the correct things in place ..... However a very disappointing experience from start to finish !
Staff were never appearing to be where they should be, yes putting a now for may give an artificial look of professionalism but far from it!
Being woken up four times during the night by loud knocking on doors from rowdy guests is completely unacceptable. Complaining to staff and asking for a response from management and still two days later not hearing anything doesn't leave a god impression to say the least!!

Reviewed by
Sally W

From Crieff, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First stay in Perth
Found the Royal George Hotel to be very clean very friendly and very good value for money, would without a doubt recommend this Hotel to anyone that travels a lot or just needs a break.

Reviewed by
Terry Galloway

From Selby, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

OK for Perth
Standard old hotel. You can pick faults, but its £60 per night! I would rather stay in pubs with rooms which offer better value for money, however in Perth choices are limited.

Reviewed by
Dean C

From Spalding, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next