No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Royal George Hotel

3Visit Scotland Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
The Royal George Hotel Tay Street, Perth, PH1 5LD
Idyllically located on the banks of the River Tay in the heart of Perth, the hotel has been attracting guests from around the world for over 200 years. Notable visitors include Empress Eugenie and Queen Victoria who visited in 1848.

The hotel offers 45 charmingly decorated bedrooms and feature rooms, all equipped with radio, television, telephone, trouser press and tea and coffee making facilities. Many of the rooms benefit from stunning views across the river and our award winning gardens. All of our bedrooms have ensuite bathrooms.

From the restaurant, the glorious views are as enjoyable as the Scottish cuisine, with a hand picked selection of traditional dishes readily available. A vast selection of world wines, fine beers and over 50 Scottish malts are available in the MacGregor Lounge Bar, and from the sun lounge, guests have another chance to take in the unspoilt views of Perth Bridge and the River Tay.

100 yards from Perth Museum and Horsecross concert and conference centre, and a short walk to the High Street.
Highly popular venue with fishing and golfing parties, with St Andrews, Gleneagles and Carnoustie only a short drive away.

Hotel rooms: 45 All ensuite. Family owned and run hotel. Free wifi and limited free parking available.
Picture of The Royal George Hotel, Perth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 46 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

There must be very different standards of rooms within the hotel. The last time I stayed the room was excellent, the room I was given this time was the complete opposite and very dated, shower pressure was very poor.

Reviewed by
M Parry

From Wallasey, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Place to Stay
Thoroughly enjoyed my stay - Would stay again - Reception staff where very friendly and helpful

Reviewed by
Mick w

From Hartlepool, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My stay a the Royal George
Only stayed one night, but was so impressed by the friendly staff, the hotel and the food. Fantastic and will be back.

Reviewed by
john sallens

From Ardrossan, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Excellent hotel, ideal for a city break. Rooms are large a spacious, clean and contains all that is required. The location is ideal, 15 minute walk from the station and just a few minutes from shops and restaurants. The hotel overlooks the river which is beautiful, there a main road outside the front of the hotel but the traffic noise was minimal and did not affect sleep. I did not eat in the restaurant so I cannot comment on the evening meal but the breakfast was gorgeous and extremely filling. Overall an excellent accommodation which I would definitely use again should I visit Perth in the future.

Reviewed by
B Richardson

From Stafford, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

short stay in perth
Nice old building well located in the centre of perth.

Reviewed by
A Bain

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Top Class Hotel With Perfect Situation
Stayed only one night. Staff always Helpful and pleasant. Single room adequate and clean.food first class and varied. Price fair. Will use again when in Perth.

Reviewed by
David R

From Gorebridge, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Hotel - Awful breakfast
This hotel is a bit of an enigma, on one hand the staff and rooms are superb (apart from the bar staff and the breakfast staff )
the room was spotless but there is little or no parking space even though it was advertised, we had to park in a disabled space on the street all night!
we asked for a river view and we were provided with one which was excellent
Now the breakfast was another matter - the tea was cold, the toast wasn't toasted and the berries were still frozen - the breakfast was disgraceful for a hotel of this level.
Finally the young lady on the reception was a shining light - whatever they are paying her is not enough!

Reviewed by
Alan R

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Value for Money
I was staying to attend a business function elsewhere in the town. The room was spacious, had a River Tay view and was clean. The breakfast was very hearty and tasty. All of the staff I met were helpful and pleasant. I would definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
Gavin P

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

bit of the old and the new at the royal george.
Had a excellent stay at the Royal George. From when we arrived the staff were very attentive and friendly. This is an old hotel that has plenty of character but also has a lot of modern touches that go with it.
The room was spotlessly clean with a lot of little extras. It had wonderful views looking onto the river Tay and Perth bridge.
The breakfast service was amazing and would definitely return to this hotel.
Good value for money and the bed was comfortable.

Reviewed by
james aire

From Bo'ness, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

perfect first impression of perth
I stayed in a very spacious,immaculately clean king sized room with a terrific view of the river tay. I only paid 35 pounds for the room which was excellent value. I ordered room service because I arrived after the restaurant had closed and the food was delivered very quickly and was delicious. All the staff I encountered were extremely friendly and helpful. I would definately stay here again and would recommend to friends.

Reviewed by
m williams

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next