No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Hollies Guest House

4Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
Kenilworth Road , Solihull, B92 0LW
Welcome to The Hollies, a friendly Guest House providing lovely B&B accommodation very near the NEC, Birmingham International Airport and Birmingham International Train Station (close to junction 6 of the M42). It is ideal for visitors, exhibitors and contractors at the NEC and the perfect place to stay before you fly from Birmingham International Airport.
Also close by are The lake at Barston, West Midlands Golf Club, Stonebridge Golf Club, Forest of Arden, Birmingham Business Park and Solihull Town Centre - making it an excellent base for business or pleasure.
All rooms are en-suite with TV and Tea/Coffee facilities, rates include a full English breakfast and wifi is provided free of charge. There is a guest lounge for your comfort and private parking.
Picture of The Hollies Guest House, Solihull at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 69 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value accomodation for NEC or airport, will use again
Really great value place, and friendly reception from Paul.
I needed somewhere for a couple of nights near the NEC, and this fitted the bill perfectly.
Positives: reasonable price (inc full breakfast made to order), clean, and quiet, en-suite bathroom, everything you need.
Negatives: a little tricky to find (if you miss the turning you have to do quite a significant u-turn) so a map on the website and clear signposting would have been helpful - luckily I emailed first for more precise directions. There were a couple of issues with the wifi, but these were sorted when the proprietor re-started the router.
Good food was found nearby at the Bull's Head (nice village pub), and the takeaway (Bengal Brasserie) down the road was good too.
I would definitely come back here, thanks!

Reviewed by
Daniel L

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the only minor problem was the TV reception was very bad

Reviewed by
Colin Nash

From Ludlow, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great little hotel fantastic breakfast
The hardest part is finding this hotel as you need to do a mile or so you turn
Great welcome from the owner who works so hard alone to make sure
your stay is comfortable. The room was very cosy and very well
decored. Breakfast was fast arriving and perfectly cooked.
Only small issues were the tap water takes a few minutes to get warm
and could do with more tea and milk in room
but otherwise perfect.

Reviewed by
Michael Johnson

From Newport, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent host. Very clean room. Good value for money.

Reviewed by
Patrick M

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good for a one night stay
The food and bed were good. We had a really good night's sleep and a good breakfast before a busy day. The shower didn't work so well and the WiFi connection wasn't so good. Overall, suitable for the price and for staying at for one night

Reviewed by
S Simakani

From Worcester Park, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

visit the cycle show at the NEC.
Very welcoming and helpful owner, good parking, quiet location, does exactly what is says on the tin, good value for money :-)

Reviewed by
M Newton

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was an attic conversion and so had a sloping roof which was quite low in places and the stairs quite steep so not for someone with mobility problems. The room was clean and although the bathroom was small it had a window and a good sized shower. Paul the owner was helpful with locations for meals out

Reviewed by
s baker

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dampness
Thank you for your customer service whilst we stayed with you, I'm just sorry I didn't have enough time to tell you that the dampness in our room really is awful. Although my colleagues experienced little to no problems with their room my travelling companion and I thought the damp shower room from ceiling to external window was unacceptable. It made for an uncomfortable night stay in our room and made our clothing smell.
The breakfast was acceptable as was the general cleanliness of the property. I do feel that you should explore accepting credit cards as this did cause some issues my end - even with your kind email of warning.

Reviewed by
Robert L

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent B&B highly recommended
I was intending staying 2 night but unfortunately had to cut it to only one. what a shame because the Hollies are a credit to B&B's. Excellent welcome, room was immaculate and breakfast was delicious. It goes without saying it was also tremendous value for money. Will Definately come back to Solihull with my wife and stay at the Hollies again.

Reviewed by
Dave Medley

From Westbury, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap & Convenient
Great customer service.

Reviewed by
Mark J

From Stockton on Tees, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next