No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Orchid Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
34 GERVIS ROAD , Bournemouth, BH1 3DH
The Orchid Hotel, Bournemouth is one of the leading contemporary Bournemouth hotels and is located in the exclusive East Cliff area. This chic boutique hotel is situated close to the award winning Bournemouth Beach and five minutes walk to the cosmopolitan town centre, Bournemouth International Centre, Pavillion & picturesque Bournemouth Gardens.

Asian inspired Boutique hotel
34 Designer hotel bedrooms
Contemporary lounge bar
Excellent conference venue and business facilities
Bright, open plan, ground floor function rooms
Idyllic venue for weddings, christenings and private parties
The hotel provides a number of services including conference rooms for business meetings, and the perfect UK wedding venue for getting married in Bournemouth.

Would guests kindly note that parking is in a first come first served basis

Picture of The Orchid Hotel, Bournemouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 131 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The staff were very friendly. Great value for money & only a short walk to the front.

Reviewed by
C Odonnell

From Waltham Cross, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely and Relaxing
Nice and clean. Excellent service. Room very clean and comfortable, spacious. Excellent customer service and close to town for walking.

Reviewed by
C O'hara

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cost to town
My room was comfortable but the floorboards were very creaky. The location of this hotel was great as it was within walking distance of pub, restaurants and shops.

Reviewed by
Olivene D

From Luton, England
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

not boutique !
Lobby and bar area been updated, however rest of hotel needs to have some TLC ! no hot water on 2nd day of stay, chairs in dining room stained, air con not working, patio area needs attention..

Reviewed by
t wiskin

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very warm room no air con. Bathroom appeared dirty with spider webs on the window and dirt on the wals.the bed was double with a very worn out mattress .
Could not open the room window for some reason therefore unable to stay for long time in the room after a shower.
Could not sleep well at night because of the heat

Reviewed by
D Donev

From Darlington, England
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant stay, very nice staff.
The Orchid Hotel is about four minutes walk away from the cliff steps down to the sea front. It's in a leafy street and was pretty quiet. About fifteen minutes from the Town Hall and ten from the East Cliff hotels, so pretty convenient. They're having a bit of a refurb at the moment with temporary walls up and new air conditioning units in the breakfast room. That said, they are making an effort to keep hotel users informed of the work carried out. The room was fine despite a couple of cracked tiles in the bathroom but the shower was a bit poor (mixer tap from the bath). The decor was nice, not at all the generic dull decor that you find in hotels quite often.
The breakfast was pretty good, mushrooms were tinned(?). When we aked for the eggs benedict we were informed that there were no muffins but in fairness we were in the last thirty minutes of the breakfast time, maybe they just ran out. The staff were fantastic, pleasant and attentive without being pushy or cloying. The bar and lounge areas were well decorated and the courtyard was a very enjoyable area to sit with a drink in the early evening. There were still some (obviously wedding) decorations adorning one of the seating areas which were a bit ratty and should've been removed after the event that they went up for. All in all an enjoyable stay, we'd go there again.

Reviewed by
M Brown

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

House Hunting and Sightseeing Trip, April 2014
My fiancé and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Orchid - all the staff were friendly, professional and polite. There are some renovation works going on, hopefully to include upgrading the bedrooms to air conditioned as our bedroom was a bit warm - probably helped by the lovely weather we had, but we could easily overlook this as a minor detail. Breakfast was fresh, plentiful, fast and very well presented. Free parking and receiving a discount voucher towards our next stay were very welcome touches. Would definitely recommend and stay again next time we are in Bournemouth.

Reviewed by
Emma M

From Rugeley, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This was only a over nite stay the hotel was under some refurbishment so it was noisey , the room needed some updating getting a little bit tatty, however saying that it was good value for money and the bed was comfy and breakfast was good the staff was very helpful.

Reviewed by
B Nash

From Harlow, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

weekend ffor anniversary
we like this hotel the staff are friendly and attentive close to town and beach

Reviewed by
r hodgson-reed

From Devizes, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Exelent value for money
Enjoyed our stay, very clean hotel and room was very pleasant. Able to park out front which is a big bonus. Would certainly stay here again.

Reviewed by
G Marmion

From High Wycombe, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next