Reviews - Penrhys Hotel


127 Cathedral Road, Cardiff, CF11 9PJ

Price From 115 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (29)

79% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • Bryan K

  • November 2015

Penrhys Hotel review

I was pleasantly surprised to find this B&B, having walked passed it/and area many times.

The building is fantastic, and i quite liked the quirkiness of the feel. It is quite outdated, but still fine enough to relax. The hosts were very friendly and polite. Although the facilities were quite basic,which didn't really bother me, the fact that the bed was comfortable, the sheets and towels clean and the latter changed daily, was nice. Located close to Bute park which was ffantastic to see at this time of year, even if the weather wasn't!

  • Henry R

  • June 2015

Excellent overall

Dated decor, but very good value and excellent customer service.

I would stay here again.

  • dave r

  • June 2015

Lovely surprize

Just wanted to lay my weary head and to serve a good breakfast the following morning after seeing the Beach Boys.

Did exactly that and would have no hesitation in staying there again. Bus stop about 50 yards from hotel if travelling by Public Transport.

  • Chris C

  • May 2015

Nice hotel

A lovely old hotel and very homely.

Room was clean and comfortable. Electric shower in bathroom was a little weak (as they can be), but was hot enough. Staff very helpful and friendly. Didn't get a chance to try the breakfast as my plans were changed at the last minute - shame. I had a comfortable night's sleep. I would stay here again.

  • Rajeev S

  • April 2015

Excellent nothing more to say.

A perfect place to stay 👍

  • Jenny R

  • March 2015

A very comfortable stay

This was very comfortable accommodation, with a good breakfast and in a convenient location.

The hot water for the shower was a little erratic, but good once it got going. The hotel parking is round the back on a (very pot-hole-y) back lane - it would possibly be good to let customers know that in advance so they can park there straight away if there isn't space on Cathedral Road, because you're not allowed to park on the side streets.

  • Martin Barnett

  • December 2014

A pleasant stay

A brief overnight stay, nevertheless a nice old building, comfy bed, and a superb fried breakfast in the glorious dining room.

Great service..nothing was too much trouble.

  • Wendy E

  • December 2014

Comfortable excellent value

Stayed for one in a perfectly comfortable room and much more homely than a travelodge.

Very nice dining room and lovely breakfast and friendly hosts would certainly recommend for a good location to Cardiff Central

  • Jutta G

  • November 2014

The box room experience

A room without window and only a window in the roof taht couldn't be closed properly can become a challenge after 1 night.

This single room was next to a 3 bedroom one - even with earplugs it was difficult to get a good night sleep. I understand it is 'the norm' in a rugby weekend but on Monday night workmen were staying in that room too with loud TV on half the night. Pleasant enough for 1 night but not really enjoyable for a 3 night holiday break.

  • Andrew Thomas

  • November 2014


they do not have any shelves to put shower gel and shampoo