No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Penrhys Hotel

3Visit Wales Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
127 Cathedral Road , Cardiff, CF11 9PJ
A warm welcome awaits you at this friendly, bed and breakfast, situated in a conservation area offering cheap clean accommodation.
The Penrhys Hotel in Cardiff is a very cosy, well positioned, family run hotel. It is close to Cardiff city centre and all amenities including buses, trains, and coaches. Cardiff has a fine modern shopping precinct within walking distance of the hotel along with the millennium stadium Cardiff international arena, glamorgan cricket ground directly opposite the hotel. All rooms are en suite have complimentary tea & coffee lcd tv with freeview and we offer a full welsh breakfast for a small fee and prices are inclusive of vat. We have a large free car park
If paying by credit card a 4% charge will apply
Free wi fi

Picture of Penrhys Hotel, Cardiff at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 60 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
76% recommended this accommodation to a friend 78% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean and tidy with a pleasant atmosphere. Very welcoming in a great location.

Reviewed by
s fallon

From Llandeilo, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I was delighted with the accommodation and the service from the proprietor - the hotel building was a magnificent example of the architecture of its time and my room was comfortable and clean [if a little too warm].
The hotel was near to my meeting venue and parking was not a problem.
I would have liked a more sophisticated choice of cereal at breakfast and perhaps some yoghurt and honey - weetabix and shredded wheat I tend to associate with children. However, the breakfast did not in any way detract from the delightful surroundings at the hotel and I thoroughly enjoyed my stay.
I must take issue with late rooms .com though, as my husband made the booking on my behalf and I thought that no debit/credit card would be necessary on my arrival at the hotel. However, when I came to check out I had to find cash in order to pay for my room and breakfast and it was not possible to use the details given by my husband in advance. It also meant that I had to pay more for my accommodation than I had been advised by you. These anomalies need to be made clear to people booking with you in good faith.

Reviewed by
JILL WATSON

From , UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location
Penrhys is situated in a good location for central Cardiff with out the noise and bustle of being in the city centre. It's 15 mins to walk into town or you can take the slight more scenic rout through the near by park which is beautiful. Also close to some good restaurants and cafes and corner shop.
Decor was quite dated but my room was clean, bed was comfy and I got a good wifi signal in my room too.

Reviewed by
E Griffiths

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Didn't sleep a wink
I understand that when you book a 'budget' hotel you are not going to get a luxury bed but I do expect to get a bed with a decent mattress. Not one that you can feel every spring through. Even sleeping on top of the covers was not enough. I literally watched the clock around. We were asked to pay cash as we booked in as card machine wasn't working ! I would recommend seeing the room first before handing over any cash !! The room was small and dingy, there was a hole in the wall with a towel stuffed in it. The ceiling looked as if it was going to fall down. It was impossible to look in the mirror without kneeling on the toilet. It was too late in the day to find somewhere else to stay and my husband didn't want me to make a fuss. He just said we wouldn't use the Penrhys again. I was going to mention it to the lady when I checked out but there was no one on reception and we just left the keys on the counter with several others. It's a shame as it could be a lovely hotel. There are some lovely original features and the lady at reception was very pleasant. It needs the hotel inspector to call !!

Reviewed by
IRENE S

From Haverfordwest, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warm welcomes and very attentive at breakfast

Reviewed by
Ian A

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice clean place - hotel at B & B prices
Liked the stained glass decor and wooden panelling - made the place seem grand. Only stayed for 1 night but was pleasantly surprised by the friendly staff and decor. Would stay again in in Cardiff - Thanks.

Reviewed by
Charles B

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap and cheerful
No LED TV in room as stated. Room dated. Close to centre. Decent sized room. Perfect for somewhere to lay your head after a night out.

Reviewed by
R Noble

From Ebbw Vale, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasant
On arrival checking in was very swift and hassle free. No problems with wifi but had to go outside for phone signal. May have something to do with the walls being half a meter thick? The stay was beyondy expectations for the money. Definitely would stay again if on the area.

Reviewed by
S Gooch

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Accomodation
Not bad for one night at a good price for what and where it was.

Reviewed by
L KETCHEN

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A pleasant stay
Staff & owners were really nice; the hotel was close enough to where I wanted to be, the room was fine - I have no complaints at all. If I had to add some constructive criticism I would say that a few little things which would cost nothing much would give them top marks - nicer soap in the bathroom, nicer coffee in the bedroom (it comes in those little individual paper packets) and how about a fridge in the breakfast room where guests could help themselves to a little jug of fresh milk rather than the UHT left in the rooms. Otherwise all was great.

Reviewed by
Gill H

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next