No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Penrhys Hotel

3Visit Wales 已评估 Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
127 Cathedral Road , Cardiff, CF11 9PJ
A warm welcome awaits you at this friendly, bed and breakfast, situated in a conservation area offering cheap clean accommodation.
The Penrhys Hotel in Cardiff is a very cosy, well positioned, family run hotel. It is close to Cardiff city centre and all amenities including buses, trains, and coaches. Cardiff has a fine modern shopping precinct within walking distance of the hotel along with the millennium stadium Cardiff international arena, glamorgan cricket ground directly opposite the hotel. All rooms are en suite have complimentary tea & coffee lcd tv with freeview and we offer a full welsh breakfast for a small fee and prices are inclusive of vat. We have a large free car park
If paying by credit card a 4% charge will apply
Free wi fi

Picture of Penrhys Hotel, Cardiff at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 59 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
76% recommended this accommodation to a friend 78% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

clean and tidy small hotel
ideal hotel for short breaks

Reviewed by
g thomas

From Carmarthen, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not a bad word
Everything was top notch, not a single complaint

Reviewed by
Stevie P

From UK
Who stayed in January 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

post christmas break
people at hotel were very welcoming and very friendly during our stay. Room was clean, comfortable and warm. Breakfast was really good. If visiting Cardiff again would definately use this hotel again. Hope the weather is better next time.

Reviewed by
B ASTON

From Nottingham, England
Who stayed in December 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value for money
Was overall very pleased with the Penrhys Hotel. The building has plenty of Victorian character in its building and decor. The owners are friendly and was greeted with a welcoming smile. Its about a 15 minute walk to the centre of cardiff, so handy if you are intending a night out or shopping, with convenient parking at the rear of the hotel. The room was adequate with a four poster bed, tea & coffee making facilities, tv etc. We pre ordered breakfast which was very good, a decent cooked breakfast with the options of cereal, juice, tea, coffee etc. The only thing I would say is, make sure you lock your door in the morning as the chambermaid walked straight in without knocking - my and my partner narrowly avoided an awkward moment!! Overall I would recommend this hotel and would happily stay in it again.

Reviewed by
F Yeomans

From Aberystwyth, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent location for visiting Cardiff. Nice area and pleasant walk in to the city centre. Clean

Reviewed by
robert m

From Sandbach, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great characters friendly and helpful would definately stay there again

Reviewed by
Trevor H

From Dagenham, UK
Who stayed in November 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

You get what you pay for
Unable to spend a lot but not wanting a boring chain-type hotel we decided to try one of the hotels on Cathedral Road. Most were fully booked due to Rugby Internationals and this was the only one left. But they promised a Victorian style room with four poster. We got this, but the whole hotel is a bit shabby round the edges and the rooms very small and far too hot. However we couldnt spend a lot and we got what we paid for. Its ok if you dont mind the above.

Reviewed by
Jo B

From Pembroke, Wales
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very average
Clean rooms but the decor very tired. The TV in the room i was staying in turns itself on in the middle of the night. Ended up having to unplug it at 3am....
Food was Ok

Reviewed by
J MacEwan

From Edinburgh, Scotland
Who stayed in November 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My Stay
As I was visiting my daughter at university, the hotel provided me a place to sleep nearby. It was clean and good value for money.

Reviewed by
A Stant

From England
Who stayed in November 2012

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6