No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Penrhys Hotel

3Visit Wales Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
127 Cathedral Road , Cardiff, CF11 9PJ
A warm welcome awaits you at this friendly, bed and breakfast, situated in a conservation area offering cheap clean accommodation.
The Penrhys Hotel in Cardiff is a very cosy, well positioned, family run hotel. It is close to Cardiff city centre and all amenities including buses, trains, and coaches. Cardiff has a fine modern shopping precinct within walking distance of the hotel along with the millennium stadium Cardiff international arena, glamorgan cricket ground directly opposite the hotel. All rooms are en suite have complimentary tea & coffee lcd tv with freeview and we offer a full welsh breakfast for a small fee and prices are inclusive of vat. We have a large free car park
If paying by credit card a 4% charge will apply
Free wi fi

Picture of Penrhys Hotel, Cardiff at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 59 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
75% recommended this accommodation to a friend 78% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good
Good

Reviewed by
thomas parry

From Pencader, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

visiting Cardiff for the six nations 2014 my wife and I booked two nights at the Penrhys Hotel at an excessive £185 for bed and breakfast. On the positive side, the location of the hotel was excellent being 10 mins from city centre. the room was spacious and there was unrestricted parking on the front street. On the negative side, the car park at the rear appeared to have no rear access to the property leaving you with an 100 metre walk through an unlit rat infested alleyway (we saw them),
the room was dirty and tired, there was a piece of wire for the toilet flush, the small window in the bedroom wouldn't shut (which in February was a problem) and the main light in the room went off and on at will. there was only a 1 hour slot for breakfast (8am-9am) which was of poor quality. the glasses for orange juice were sticking to the counter as you lifted them and there were cleanliness issues throughout. additionally there was a 4% service charge for paying by credit or DEBIT card which was not advertised on the website. the accommodation staff offered no advice or information about the great city of Cardiff just a messy rack of leaflets in the dining area which, as earlier stated, was only open between 8am -9am and this clearly demonstrates the overall air of indifference from the staff. all in all very very poor.

Reviewed by
p illidge

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice and homely
Very nice stay. Very nice atmosphere.

Reviewed by
Luke W

From Biggleswade, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warm, friendly and convenient
I asked for a quiet room and was given a nice big one at the back, very quiet and warm. Breakfast was nicely cooked and the proprietor very helpful with all my queries. Easy parking and good value. Only criticism is that TV was very small and tinny and no wifi in room.

Reviewed by
Lyn W

From Brecon, England
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor Quality
Not worth £90 for 1 night, wouldn't have paid half that much.
Cups dirty. Only 1 large towel in room. Bath room mirror missing. Tiles around bath broken.
Room old fashioned needs updating.

Reviewed by
ian d

From Abertillery, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good BB Acc. Just short walk from Wales Institute of Sport - city centre and football/rugby grounds.
Welcoming and pleasant staff. Room more than adequate and heated. All facilities worked and were as described. Generous 'full breakfast' served promptly by friendly polite staff. Good value and acceptable and I recommend the Penrhys for short stay visit..

Reviewed by
D Davies

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Too many niggles
Room was shabby. Shower was poor, set over a half size bath tub with no taps. Parking was locked without warning therefore no use after dark. "Double" bed was only about 4 ft wide with a cheap and uncomfortable mattress.

Reviewed by
Rachel R

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

penrhys hotel
excellent except no hot water in shower at 8am in morning
some or stewed fresh fruit would have improved the otehrwise excellent breakfast

Reviewed by
clare p

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

City break
Adequate accommodation. Nothing a bit of re-decorating wouldn't put right.

Reviewed by
Steve S

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Good!
Having gone with a friend for a two night stay, i was pleasantly surprised at how good this hotel was. Firstly, we arrived at 12:15am due to unforeseen circumstances,and the lady at the hotel was only happy to help to make sure we checked in OK and got our room key to us! The room itself was a very good standard room, nothing to complain about there (although the shower and taps are a little weak in the room we had) Just a simple 10-15 minute walk into the city centre which was very handy to the places we wanted to visit. Overall, a very nice, friendly place to stay and rest your head! Thumbs up!

Reviewed by
A Barrett

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Group of men

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next