Reviews - Penrhys Hotel


127 Cathedral Road, Cardiff, CF11 9PJ

Price From 129.18 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (36)

72% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Amanda Lowe

  • November 2014

Wi fi didn't work in bedroom and television signal was crap too and kept cutting out.

Shower not up to much and although there was a bath in the bathroom there were no taps!!. The bed was comfortable but the rest wasn't great.

  • s fallon

  • October 2014

Clean and tidy with a pleasant atmosphere. Very welcoming in a great location.


  • October 2014

I was delighted with the accommodation and the service from the proprietor - the hotel building was a magnificent example of the architecture of its time and my room was comfortable and clean [if a little too warm].

The hotel was near to my meeting venue and parking was not a problem. I would have liked a more sophisticated choice of cereal at breakfast and perhaps some yoghurt and honey - weetabix and shredded wheat I tend to associate with children. However, the breakfast did not in any way detract from the delightful surroundings at the hotel and I thoroughly enjoyed my stay.

I must take issue with late rooms .com though, as my husband made the booking on my behalf and I thought that no debit/credit card would be necessary on my arrival at the hotel. However, when I came to check out I had to find cash in order to pay for my room and breakfast and it was not possible to use the details given by my husband in advance. It also meant that I had to pay more for my accommodation than I had been advised by you. These anomalies need to be made clear to people booking with you in good faith.

  • E Griffiths

  • July 2014

Good location

Penrhys is situated in a good location for central Cardiff with out the noise and bustle of being in the city centre.

It's 15 mins to walk into town or you can take the slight more scenic rout through the near by park which is beautiful. Also close to some good restaurants and cafes and corner shop.

Decor was quite dated but my room was clean, bed was comfy and I got a good wifi signal in my room too.


  • June 2014

Didn't sleep a wink

I understand that when you book a 'budget' hotel you are not going to get a luxury bed but I do expect to get a bed with a decent mattress.

Not one that you can feel every spring through. Even sleeping on top of the covers was not enough. I literally watched the clock around. We were asked to pay cash as we booked in as card machine wasn't working . I would recommend seeing the room first before handing over any cash !. The room was small and dingy, there was a hole in the wall with a towel stuffed in it. The ceiling looked as if it was going to fall down. It was impossible to look in the mirror without kneeling on the toilet. It was too late in the day to find somewhere else to stay and my husband didn't want me to make a fuss. He just said we wouldn't use the Penrhys again. I was going to mention it to the lady when I checked out but there was no one on reception and we just left the keys on the counter with several others. It's a shame as it could be a lovely hotel. There are some lovely original features and the lady at reception was very pleasant. It needs the hotel inspector to call !!

  • Ian A

  • June 2014

Warm welcomes and very attentive at breakfast

  • Charles B

  • May 2014

Nice clean place - hotel at B & B prices

Liked the stained glass decor and wooden panelling - made the place seem grand.

Only stayed for 1 night but was pleasantly surprised by the friendly staff and decor. Would stay again in in Cardiff - Thanks.

  • R Noble

  • April 2014

Cheap and cheerful

No LED TV in room as stated.

Room dated. Close to centre. Decent sized room. Perfect for somewhere to lay your head after a night out.

  • S Gooch

  • March 2014

Very pleasant

On arrival checking in was very swift and hassle free.

No problems with wifi but had to go outside for phone signal. May have something to do with the walls being half a meter thick. The stay was beyondy expectations for the money. Definitely would stay again if on the area.


  • March 2014


Not bad for one night at a good price for what and where it was.