Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > Central England > West Midlands > Solihull > Great Packington Hotels > Innkeeper’s Lodge Birmingham (NEC), Meriden
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Innkeeper’s Lodge Birmingham (NEC), Meriden

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Main Road Meriden, Coventry, CV7 7NN
Residing at the heart of the village known as the centre of England, Innkeeper’s Lodge Meriden truly is a perfect base for exploring the Midlands’ many treasures.

Here you have the best of both worlds on your doorstep, from beautifully serene countryside to the bustling hubs of Birmingham and Coventry. Also within a few miles are Solihull and Balsall Common, and look no further if you need accommodation near the NEC, the National Motorcycle Museum or Coventry’s Ricoh Arena.

As for the lodge, hotel rooms in Warwickshire don’t get much cosier. There are 13 of them in this carefully restored 17th century coaching inn, where you’ll also find real fires, real ales and fresh seasonal pub-food served all day.

Need a short break away from it all? Picturesque Meriden, with its rich medieval history and mythical intrigue, will have you hooked. Wander through the church founded by Lady Godiva, discover the legacy of Robin Hood in the 18th century Forest Hall or simply soak up the ample supply of peace and quiet.
Picture of Innkeeper’s Lodge Birmingham (NEC), Meriden  , Coventry at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 18 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Understaffed
Our room was clean a good size and everything you could need was available .
The restaurant was understaffed and we waited an hour and a half for our food and our starter arrived after our main , and only when we asked where our starter was .
Breakfast was limited we arrived at 8 am and only 1 croissant was left and not replenished . Only margarine was on offer no butter.
I would stay again as hopefully it was a one off

Reviewed by
Christine Swallow

From Ely, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal for NEC
Very nice staff, continental breakfast very acceptable, star rating seemed a little generous but nonetheless a pleasant well priced hotel very close to NEC/ airport.

Reviewed by
Ben Thorpe

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bargain for the NEC, beautiful food, but sleepless night!
My partner and I stayed two nights here, everything is as you would expect in terms of cleanliness etc and value for money was a bargain, £50 a night and literally a 10min drive from the NEC - Perfect! The evening food served was beautiful, highly recommend the scallops to start, the chicken and the butternut squash side dish. Breakfast was a standard continental, it would have been nice to have a little more choice on the cooked breakfast side (smoked salmon / poached as opposed to fried eggs) but the bacon and scrambled eggs was not a problem as the staff were very accommodating! The only qualm I have was I didn't sleep great. The window could only open to a certain point making the room sweltering hot when it was a warm night. We was also next to the road, so the traffic noise was a bit annoying. However, when I finally managed to drift off I was fine, the bed was comfy and there was plenty of room to turn over without having an armpit / backside in my face! I would stay here again but maybe have a room not on the main road!

Reviewed by
Kathryn W

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

April 2014 Our Stay in Meriden
We are repeat visitors to this pub and enjoyed our stay there. We had no compliants, the food was great and the staff very welcoming.

Reviewed by
Jane W

From Boston, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Impressed
What can I say, a 17th Century Inn, full of history, yet modern in attitude. The upstairs floors creaked with age, as you would hope, and expect, yet the main areas, the restaurant, and the rooms where clean and modern. And, yet in keeping with original building.
With breakfast thrown in, we decided to stay onsite for our evening meal. It was more expensive than we would normally pay, but this was a special occasion - the quality of the food was fabulous and the service good.
The only minor snag (and given it was for one night it was quite refreshing) the mobile phone signal was all but none existent – needing a short walk up the car park to get a text out. NOT the fault of the Hotel, and the stay was not majorly effected for that.
What I would say is, if you need Wireless access, arrange an account with O2 WiFi before you go – the wireless its self is a useful facility kindly supplied by the Hotel, but it needs a confirmation text if you are creating an account for the first time – and you may well struggle to receive it. That said, you do get 2 hours “temporary” access anyway – so good on them for that.
Seriously consider this location if you are visiting the Birmingham area (we were visiting the Gadget Show Live @ the NEC) – it has character, the staff are friendly and helpful and the food exceptional

Reviewed by
David S

From Scunthorpe, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal for NEC
Excellent accomodation, food top notch, disappointed in morning that staff were more interested in talking amongst themselves rather than offering any cooked options for breakfast. This aside would definately stay again.

Reviewed by
i macpherson

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The most friendly staff anywhere - highly recommended
We stayed here as a base for visiting the NEC, it is only a short drive so very suitable. From the moment we arrived to the time we left we were struck by the fact that the staff were the most friendly and helpful we have ever encountered. The room was large, clean and comfortable. We used the restaurant for evening meal which was very good, also the included continetal breakfast in the morning. Will we stay here again - most definitely!!

Reviewed by
Paul C

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rubbish-give it a wide berth!
Horrible rooms, things that go bump in the night, All night! Rubbish beer and average food. A customer collapsed heavily in the bar; the staff just looked on and did nothing! Fortunately I am a former Anaesthetic Practitioner and Paramedic so myself and a help customer assisted until an ambulance arrived. I had just started my meal so when I retuned to it it was cold. One member of staff did say thanks. Asked to speak to the manager the following morning, but was not interested in talking to me about their complete lack of customer care and lack of a designated First Aid person. I complained about the noise in the room above me on 2 consecutive nights. I was told there was no room above me. Looking at my room from the Car Park, there was a room above me and it was full of things running and jumping about all night. Unaccounted for guests, or guests from a very long time ago...??

Reviewed by
Charles Hughes

From Caerphilly, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Business trip
Rooms very clean and comfortable.
My colleague could not sleep due to being in the courtyard room which was noisy due to other guests until 12.30. Also pillows very hard.
The staff in the restaurant were fantastic and very accomodating, even peeling my king prawns!!!
Also the heating was on full blast in my room, which I like but other guests might find stifling.

Reviewed by
Jane C

From Ely, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Small inn - but don't overlook it
A really lovely coaching inn with characterful rooms, free wireless and great access to the NEC, Coventry, Warwickshire etc. So easy to overlook as it's not one of the big hotels. Beautifully prepared food too.

Reviewed by
T Foster

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next