No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Jug and Bottle

4Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Mount Avenue, Heswall, CH60 4RH

Centrally located in Heswall, The Jug and Bottle is a country-style pub and guest house with six en-suite modern and comfortable bedrooms, ample FREE parking and WIFI throughout. Set in secluded surroundings The Jug offers a friendly and relaxing retreat in the heart of the busy town of Heswall. The local shops, restaurants and amenities are only a few minutes away. It is
also within a 25 minute drive to Chester and Liverpool and has easy access to the M53 and M56 motorways.

Bedrooms include: a flat screen TV, free WIFI,
tea/coffee making facilities, hair dryer, complimentary toiletries and enjoy lovely views over our green gardens, to the skyline of Liverpool or the picturesque hills of North Wales. Continental and English breakfast is
included in all room tariffs.

The gastro pub and dining room offer a
delicious homemade, locally sourced fresh menu seven days a week including a fantastic Sunday lunch. The bar has a fine selection of real ales along with a delicious selection of world wines and Italian coffees. The Jug and Bottle
offers the perfect stay in the perfect location, including a great resting point for those who wish to come and explore the stunning Wirral Way and Wirral Coast.
Picture of The Jug and Bottle, Heswall at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 17 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
96% recommended this accommodation to a friend 96% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good hotel
when am in the area again I'll be staying here again .

Reviewed by
alan b

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel
Lovely hotel, brilliant and helpful staff, a great breakfast with incredible scrambled eggs.

Reviewed by
Adam T

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic stay with fantastic service
Stayed here for two nights while attending a wedding. Staff made me feel so welcome. Room was lovely and spacious and had a great power shower. Breakfast was amazing - i'm a vegetarian and they even had a full veggie breakfast, which was delicious. The pub is set on a side road just a stone's throw away from all the shops including a giant Tesco. Really nice vibe in Heswall. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here and would definately recommend this for others.

Reviewed by
S Jaswal

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money.
From the moment we arrived everything from our reception from the staff to our room, to our breakfast, exceeded our high expectations of the Jug and Bottle.

Reviewed by
Debbie Harris

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good accommodation but restaurant menu lacked choice
The staff were welcoming and our room was clean, bright and well equipped. Bed was very comfortable. The restaurant's "gastro pub" menu was disappointing and lacked any traditional fare. I wanted a steak but the waitress advised me that they would only serve it rare or medium rare. Not being lovers of undercooked food we left the restaurant and walked 200 yards into the nearby town where we found more choice.

Reviewed by
J Holland

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

After the Open 2014
Enjoyed our mid-week break. The Coronation Chicken sandwich I had at tea time was such a lovely surprise. Not what I expected. The resaurant is obviously a popular place as we waited quite a while for our evening meal on our first night there but it did not deter us for a second go. Perhaps we needed to dinbe a little earlier.

Reviewed by
Alison M

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Outstanidiing service and value
I had a wonderful stay - a lovely room, very comfortable, immaculately clean, and a great cooked breakfast! Very friendly staff and a really nice atmosphere, and very good value for money. Highly recommended

Reviewed by
Phillip Stiles

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best welcome for a long time
Excellent customer service from the start. Staff were second to none.always cheerful and ready with advice re amenities. Restaurant food was excellent and a varied menu. Picnic basket for the open was to die for and full value for money. Fully recommend to all I know.

Reviewed by
Neil D

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value great accomodation
The Jug and Bottle looks great and has various rooms all of high standard. With the included breakfast which is so tasty, you cannot make a mistake staying here for a night or 2

Reviewed by
david keelan

From Bootle, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A real gem of a hotel
A beautiful setting overlooking the River Dee and over to North Wales.
The room was immaculate.
The bed linen was exceptional.
The food was excellent and the staff only to happy to help.
We were so impressed that we cancelled our trip to the Lake District in April and instead booked into the Jug for the same period.
Please do not stay here. There are only 7 rooms and I want to be able to book and stay again later in the year!!

Reviewed by
paula holmes

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next