Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Llanfor Hotels > Cysgod y Coed Bed and Breakfast
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Cysgod y Coed Bed and Breakfast

4Visit Wales Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
CYSGOD Y COED LLANFOR, BALA, LL23 7DU
Cysgod y Coed is set in beautiful surroundings within walking distance of Bala town. It is an ideal location for a peaceful break, a base for touring or for activities such as cycling, walking, fishing, canoeing and white water rafting. We have a double en suite and a twin/double with private bathroom in the house. We also have Cysgod Bach next door which can provide you with refreshingly different self catering accommodation for 2.

The stylish and contemporary rooms are decorated and furnished with your comfort and relaxation in mind. Cysgod Bach is ideal for a short break or longer to celebrate any occasion or just to escape!

Our breakfasts are made with local produce and are tailored to your choice – setting you up for the day. Croeso/Welcome!
Picture of Cysgod y Coed Bed and Breakfast, BALA at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since June 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 8 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hosts, great place to stay. We were very well looked after and would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Paul A

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A warm welcome, Mel is a perfect host, super breakfast and homemade preserves. Room good size with all facilities and nice decor. Highly recommend. Fabulous house too.

Reviewed by
R Anderson

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A warm welsh welcome
Mel was truly a wonderful host. The room was delightful, comfortable well appointed and very clean we wanted for nothing. As for the breakfast you were treated to a feast of local.produce that was out of this world. Its a beautiful location from which to go out and about to discover the sights and, your hosts are more than happy to give you recommendations if needed. Certainly somewhere we would stay again, they also have two self catering cottages to try. Xxx

Reviewed by
Annie Baines

From Braintree, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic location with brilliant hosts
The B&B was only 10/15 minute walk from the local village and extremely easy to get to. situated next to some farming fields with a lovely view. Breakfast was fantastic with all locally sourced produce and they will cook whatever you fancy and were more than accommodating for various dietary requirements (girlfriends is a veggie).
Both Melanie and Mark were very warm and welcoming and the room was very well kept and clean and even had its own personal kettle with coffee and tea.
would thoroughly recommend for couples particularly. Was also very close to the national rafting center and the lake has a load of different activities such as windsurfing, kayaking and canoeing.

Reviewed by
J Hughes

From Clevedon, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Absolutely brilliant from start to finish
From the booking till checkout everything was great. I had communication directly from the owner to advise that there was no card machine so it had to be cash or cheque, no problem in advance. I was able to check in earlier than the usual 4pm.
The hot tub is great, even in the rain.
The room was clean and everything that we requried.
The breakfast was delicious, filling and all locally sourced.
Friendly and accommodating all the way through. I would certainly stay here again

Reviewed by
M Dale

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing!
We arrived at Mel and Mick's B&B after a 6 hour motorcycle ride from London (and being soaked in the last hour of riding) and were offered a nice cup of tea on arrival. My room was very clean with ensuite bathroom and view on the front of the house. Mel gave us some general info about the local pubs and restaurants and things to do in the area. She's one of the loveliest and most patient people I have met.
The breakfast was delicious all made by Mick who only uses local produce. We were offered full Free range English breakfast, locally sourced yoghurts, cereal, selection of jams, fresh orange juice and tea /coffee and fruit. I would stay at their place again just for their breakfast.
Bala is a nice little town with some decent bars and a couple of good places to eat. If you are planning to visit Snowdonia then it is the perfect place to stay.
Overall I really enjoyed my stay and I believe they offer excellent value for money.

Reviewed by
o laudus

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just wonderful!
My partner and I spent spent 3 nights at Cysgod y Coed in the cottage and it was just wonderful! Mel and Mick gave us a lovely warm welcome and as soon as we arrived I was over the moon with the accomodation. The cottage is small and cosy but done to a very high standard with solid oak floors, a well equipped kitchen and fantastic rain fall shower. You have your own private garden which got the sun all day. I really didn't want to leave this place and go back to reallity; it was like a secret hideaway cottage :) I can't recommend this accomodation highly enough, and have done to all my friends and family. Thank you Mick and Mel for providing such a lovely home from home and hopefully we'll visit you again in the future.

Reviewed by
Nicola Parkinson

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay at Cysgod y Coed
Our weekend spent at Cysgod y Coed was excellent. The owners were very friendly and welcomed us warmly with tea and home-made cakes upon our arrival. They were very accommodating and let us check in early due to an event we were due to attend in the afternoon. The rooms/bathrooms were spacious and clean. We really enjoyed the english breakfast in the morning with local produce from the region as well as the calm green setting. We would highly recommend friends and family to stay at Cysgod y Coed and would gladly stay there again.

Reviewed by
Emma L

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.