No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - County Hotel

2Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Townwall Street , Dover, CT16 1SZ
Set in a great location in the centre of Dover The County Hotel is within a few minutes walk into the main town centre and 5 minute walk to the Eastern/Western docks or Dover Priory train Station. The County Hotel offers a wide range of spacious en suite rooms consisting of double, twin, triple and quad, an indoor heated swimming pool and a well equipped gymnasium. All rooms feature TV, tea and coffee facilities, work and seating area and room services 24hrs to make your stay as comfortable as possible. After a tiring day unwind in our indoor heated swimming pool or for those of us that like to keep fit our gymnasium. Why not start the day with a full English/Continental Breakfast in Christo restaurant or take advantage of room service with a continental breakfast in bed, Join us in the evening choosing from our ala carte menu or season special board and enjoy the panoramic sea views. Louelles Bar with a large screen TV offers a wide selection of drinks, snacks and light meals.

With a great location and all the facilities you will require the County Hotel is a great ideal place to stay.

Picture of County Hotel, Dover at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 117 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
37% recommended this accommodation to a friend 40% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

brill
the hotel was very good, reception staff was very very helpfull , very clean rooms but they was hot, really enjoyed the stay i would stay there again

Reviewed by
s monks

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

County Hotel
Hotel itself tired looking but room clean and comfortable bag in at £40' staff very friendly, very handy for the ferry, thank you.

Reviewed by
s bray

From watlington, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

stay to visit family
I booked the hotel at short notice to have a base while visiting family in the area. I know Dover since I was born not far away and so already knew this hotel from sight. Although not very appealing from outside I was pleasantly surprised by the inside, the service I received and my room. Although travelling alone I was able to book a family room with no extra supplement. The room was cleaned daily and I made use of the pool which was free for guests. I will certainly use this hotel again.

Reviewed by
Sharon R

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Grim
I use the word grim, because I can't use others.
Receptionist was in helpful. Restaurant non operational ,
Room full of cobwebs, I waited 20 min at the bar ( no staff )
Breakfast, tho advertised was an extra charge, I waited in the restaurant for 30 min watching staff mooch about, not one acknowledged me .
All in all, the service I recived in a £2 a night lodging in Manilla was immeasurably better.
I'm told by locals that the county is to be demolished, the best outcome I could hope for

Reviewed by
Rob Bruce

From Milton Keynes, England
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very bad
I would never go back to this hotel as I arrived there was no person checking people into the hotel there was 3 guests trying to check in at this point the barman arrived from behind the bar and checked everybody in to the hotel in between serving at the bar. When I arrived into the room it was very run down and the bathroom was a disgrace.

Reviewed by
G Clapperton

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

calais day trip
very helpful staff

Reviewed by
richard kell

From abingdon, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel is in a scruffy area, clearly ripe for renovation. Despite first appearances, it is actually quite acceptable and conveniently located.
The car parking is limited but I found a space OK.
Breakfast service was a wee bit slow and the choice mundane but about what I expected.

Reviewed by
Philip H

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Awful !
Hotel looked so bad and in an awful, unsafe area, we didn't even go in, found a much more suitable hotel near Deal. £50 wasted :-(

Reviewed by
joy l

From Eastbourne, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Never Again
Website and pics of hotel look lovely, when we arrived it was a totally different story..!
The building looks like an abandoned office block, there was no parking and that was just the start.
Our room smelt awful, the bath was dirty and we couldn't even get extra pillows as they had "run out."
The bed was so uncomfortable that we couldn't sleep, we tried watching TV to help us pass-out due to our early morning start but that wasn't working properly either. So despite our 2 x nights booked originally, we checked out at 1am on the first night and stayed at a lovely Premier Inn instead.
This is a 2 star hotel and to be honest in our eyes it didn't even justify that...

Reviewed by
Ronnie Browning

From Woodford Green, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Immigrants holding pen !!
Hotel only has 7 parking spots for the whole hotel (100+ rooms), the corridor and lift area stank of stale cigarettes, the room was quite clean, however the 2 double beds had collapsed in the middle, which meant that the cleaner must have seen it but not bothered to report it to the management or they didn't care!! Some people we met told us that the hotel was due for demolition 10 years ago but was kept to house the influx of immigrants flooding into England while they were processed. You have been warned !!!

Reviewed by
mark r

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next