No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - the star hotel

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
barnsley road cudworth, barnsley, S72 8BX
We are a family run business with a lively atmosphere.
We offer traditional English food using locally sourced produce.
Located in the heart of the busy South Yorkshire village of Cudworth.
Small car park to rear with disabled parking.Large car park across the road 50 meters away.

The Star Hotel is the ideal "out of the office" venue for meetings and business lunches.We offer fax,photo copying and internet access through Wi Fi.(own laptop required).
Picture of the star hotel, barnsley at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 25 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Using 'The Cloud' as wiFi provider is not a good idea. I think there should be a warning of this when booking.
I kept losing the signal and then I could get on line at all later on.
The Cloud is rubbish, 2 other places where I have stayed have also been The Cloud and I have had a poor signal if any at all.
The shower didn't work properly, I was offered another room but later it worked intermittently I didn't feel as though they believed me even when I know it didn't work the first morning.
No instructions in the room on how to use it either.
No shampoo
They separate the accommodation section from the pub so you can't get to speak to anyone in the morning or after 10:00 at night as the pub is closed and they did not have a reception arae.
No car park
I was not very impressed I wont stay there again

Reviewed by
Boyd Riddlesden

From Shipley, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very very fair price
Couldn't falt it. Fantastic room for the price and was silent on a Thursday night. Perfect.

Reviewed by
A Aldiwan

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Does the job.
Diane very helpful. Room clean and comfortable. Limited parking available: I parked in road next to the Star without problem. They do not provide breakfast but there are facilities for tea and coffee in the rooms. I obtained a couple of 'brekkie' sandwiches from the Co-op fifty yards up the road.the evening before. Worked for me.

Reviewed by
John W

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Busiest Village in the UK.
I stayed here for one night and it was as it should have been. I booked a last minute room at a very low budget price. Room was ok, clean and had all you required although the TV could have been a little larger and different bracket allowing it to swing out instead of flat on the wall but hey, no big deal really.
Busy pub, staff and locals friendly, decent selection of beers and good food menu at reasonable prices.
They do not serve breakfast but I knew of that before booking however the 'village' is more like a mini town with lots of shops and food outlets, so if you just walk up the road you will not go hungry.
Would recommend to anyone to stay here on a limited budget.

Reviewed by
SHAUN P

From Wisbech, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nn
no internet at hotel

Reviewed by
A Maliszewski

From 18-403, Lomza, Poland
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable Homely Hotel in Rural South Yorkshire Village
Staff Very Helpful. Hotel does not do food but local facilities in the village are very good (except on Sundays) wit a supermarket just up the road.

Reviewed by
Graham Purvis

From THIRSK, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I made this booking when i was informed by my company that i was working in the area at short notice. For the nightly cost of £29.95, i was very impressed by the quality and size of the room. Simon was friendly and helpful upon my arrival and the location was great as it is within a stones throw of many shops and food outlets. Would definately choose to stay here again when working in the area.

Reviewed by
keith p

From Brackley, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

staff could not be more helpfull, value for money excellent, food as good as many a resteraunt
Good off road parking if you get there early, good large rooms, plenty of tea and coffee facilitys, food excellent, value for money would be hard to beat. Thankyou to all the friendly staff who treat us like regular customers,will certainly be back again.

Reviewed by
Charles Elliot

From Barrow in Furness, England
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This is cheap and cheerful. Landlord Simeon and wife Dianne, very helpful indeed

Reviewed by
Jeremy Swinson

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Should be renamed The FIVE Star - A pub with real Northern Soul !
A warm welcome, attractive comfortable room, fantastic Sunday Carvery roast & beer at a price that's just right are all awaiting you at The Star.
Lively atmosphere with Djs & live bands in the evenings which was a great addition to my stay, then just when I thought it was all over for the night, the music kicked in again & we were all treated to some great old soul classics & late bar.
All this and a beautifully kept bar the Landlord should be proud of- well recommended if you're looking for a good time. Im relocating up north now thanks to this place, Cheers!

Reviewed by
justin w

From Portsmouth, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next