The Castle of Brecon Hotel

3

CASTLE SQUARE, BRECON, LD3 9DB

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (9)

89% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Derek C

  • August 2014

The room was small but well kitted out with nice antique furniture.

Very clean. Bottled water gratis. Comfy bed. At back of hotel so quiet. No hairdrier. (apparently people steal them, but housekeeping should have spotted this when preparing for next guest.) The best laugh was a safe which was at the bottom of the wardrobe, that you could slide around, or if you were strong enough pick up and walk out with. Didn't eat in evening but it is a very popular eating place. Fantastic sun terrace. Great bar and staff. New management has breathed new life into this hotel and all the staff seem to be happy. All in all a lovely stay, and will return.

  • Daniel J

  • January 2014

Castle of Brecon Hotel

Very nice building and location.

Accommodation was clean and the room well laid out and the staff were polite and friendly. However, the mattress we had seemed to be quite old and not very comfortable at all, leading to a very poor nights sleep for both of us. The shower was not very powerful and the sash window did not stay open by itself.

  • david d

  • November 2013

Beautiful town and hotel serves it well

Enjoyed our stay, room on first floor, no lift visible or offered.

Room small but adequate . Staff very helpful. Food quality a little disappointing in restaurant, but staff very nice. Slept very well. Breakfast was very good.

  • James P

  • October 2013

Much more that I expected of a country hotel

This was a small but very professionally operated hotel right in the centre of Brecon, literally built into the old castle walls.

We called ahead to say we would be late arrivals - no problem. On arrival we were warmly welcomed, nothing was too much trouble. Apart from the wobbly floors the refurbished rooms in the older part of the building were comfortable an spacious - no significant traffic noise in spite of single glazed windows (it is a listed building) facing the street. Splendid buffet breakfast with cooked items to order. Thoroughly recommended even if it is a couple of pounds more expensive than other hotels in the town.

  • Bradley Hilton

  • September 2013

For £87 for the night our room was very dated, all the other rooms had key cards but the room we were given had okd fashion key, nice place but the room quality was not worth the money to be honest...

  • Sara F

  • August 2013

Beautiful setting, lovely restaurant

Our room was small, dark and the decoration was quite grim.

The room felt quite damp and got very cold during the night. I did not think the room was worth the money and would not wish to stay there again.

  • E Nash

  • August 2013

Great hotel great location

  • A Bush

  • August 2013

good

Excellent views and quiet location.

Very good hotel.

  • Michael Wegner

  • July 2013

The hotel was great but the staff were even better .

would definitely recommend