No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Castle of Brecon Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
CASTLE SQUARE , BRECON, LD3 9DB
With 37 bedrooms the hotel is located at the heart of the Brecon Beacons National Park and with stunning mountain views, The Castle of Brecon Hotel is the ideal base for exploring a region rich in natural history and ancient ruins. This is the land of mountains, lakes, dragons, Celtic hill-forts and ruined castles. The monastic foundation of Llanthony Priory, Roman Caerleon, the book capital of Hay on Wye, the Dan-yr-Ogof caves, the majestic Black Mountains. All this and much more can be discovered within easy driving distance of Brecon.

Located in the heart of Brecon the hotel boasts an impressive five function rooms, ideal for intimate dinners, meetings, banquets, weddings, exhibitions and conferences.

35 private car parking spaces also available (subject to availability).



Picture of The Castle of Brecon Hotel, BRECON at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 20 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was small but well kitted out with nice antique furniture. Very clean. Bottled water gratis. Comfy bed. At back of hotel so quiet. No hairdrier. (apparently people steal them, but housekeeping should have spotted this when preparing for next guest.) The best laugh was a safe which was at the bottom of the wardrobe, that you could slide around, or if you were strong enough pick up and walk out with. Didn't eat in evening but it is a very popular eating place. Fantastic sun terrace. Great bar and staff. New management has breathed new life into this hotel and all the staff seem to be happy. All in all a lovely stay, and will return.

Reviewed by
Derek C

From Porth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Castle of Brecon Hotel
Very nice building and location. Accommodation was clean and the room well laid out and the staff were polite and friendly. However, the mattress we had seemed to be quite old and not very comfortable at all, leading to a very poor nights sleep for both of us. The shower was not very powerful and the sash window did not stay open by itself.

Reviewed by
Daniel J

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful town and hotel serves it well
Enjoyed our stay, room on first floor, no lift visible or offered. Room small but adequate . Staff very helpful. Food quality a little disappointing in restaurant, but staff very nice. Slept very well. Breakfast was very good.

Reviewed by
david d

From Rochford, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Much more that I expected of a country hotel
This was a small but very professionally operated hotel right in the centre of Brecon, literally built into the old castle walls. We called ahead to say we would be late arrivals - no problem. On arrival we were warmly welcomed, nothing was too much trouble. Apart from the wobbly floors the refurbished rooms in the older part of the building were comfortable an spacious - no significant traffic noise in spite of single glazed windows (it is a listed building) facing the street. Splendid buffet breakfast with cooked items to order. Thoroughly recommended even if it is a couple of pounds more expensive than other hotels in the town.

Reviewed by
James P

From Kenilworth, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

For £87 for the night our room was very dated, all the other rooms had key cards but the room we were given had okd fashion key, nice place but the room quality was not worth the money to be honest...

Reviewed by
Bradley Hilton

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful setting, lovely restaurant
Our room was small, dark and the decoration was quite grim. The room felt quite damp and got very cold during the night. I did not think the room was worth the money and would not wish to stay there again.

Reviewed by
Sara F

From Port Talbot, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel great location

Reviewed by
E Nash

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good
Excellent views and quiet location. Very good hotel.

Reviewed by
A Bush

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel was great but the staff were even better .
would definitely recommend

Reviewed by
Michael Wegner

From Bridgend, Wales
Who stayed in July 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing food, great staff well worth the money
We stayed for a night at the castle hotel, our room was not that big but ideal for what we were looking for . We stayed the next day for Sunday lunch, it was Father's Day so it was very busy but we never felt rushed as you do in some places !! Our waiter Roberto was amazing , he made us feel very welcome and tended to our every need .. We are defiantly going back !!!

Reviewed by
Sean G

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next