Reviews - The Cottage Inn


36 Stoneleigh road, Kenilworth, cv8 2gd

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (83)

73% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • S Stoker

  • October 2015

Good food but accommodation very basic

The Cottage Inn is a very popular local pub - very busy and with a good atmosphere.

We had dinner and breakfast at the pub and the food was good - not gourmet but popular home cooked meals. Service was friendly and good. Because the food was good we returned the next day and took two elderly aunts to lunch - again the pub was almost full so is well known locally for inexpensive food. When we went up to our room we were a bit disappointed - for the same price as a Travelodge or Premier Inn we had a very small double room and en suite bathroom. The bathroom was clean but the sink was tiny . The room was clean and the bed was comfortable but it was really small and the bathroom had seen better days. The friendliness of the staff and good food made it a place we would consider staying again - but the accommodation was disappointing.


  • September 2015

Handy for Stoneleigh events

Friendly affordable and convenient for any event at Stoneleigh as is a short 10 minute drive door to door.

  • Stephen R

  • August 2015

Budget accommodation at B&B prices.

It looked like a great pub stay on the site, but just your archetypal pub accommodation.

Think Acorn Antiques - and you would be along the right lines. Wouldnt take much to make it feel so much more welcoming. Room had signs of damp. Shower shoved in. the wardrobe. A floor that was so creaky I tried not to move around to avoid waking up the other guests. Almost raw bacon in the morning and coffee that was obviously cheap instant and undrinkable.

Honestly, a Traveldoge is only a few quid more, but streets ahead.

  • J Eames

  • July 2015

You get what you pay for

the pub and room are exactly as described.

Small room and facilities but exactly as we expected. Perfectly adequate for an overnight stop and very good value good served in pub.

  • K Buckland

  • July 2015

Our stay

Our welcome was very friendly and our evening meal was lovely, the room was comfortable and we both slept well, the breakfast was more than we are used to and was excellently prepared.

The lovely lady that served our breakfast was a mine of information about places we wished to see and very friendly. We enjoyed ourselves, much better than a travelodge!

  • Jo S

  • June 2015

Reminded me of staying at my Gran's

The staff were not welcoming.

The room had a musky smell, like damp dogs, and was dirty - hairs in the bed. Had one pint, thinking a pub would get that right, but tipped it away as it tasted like vinegar. Can't think of any redeeming features really - won't be going back.

  • Barry E

  • June 2015

Good Value

Ideal stay for a night, double room was compact.

£49.50 for two and excellent breakfast.

  • Marilyn K

  • May 2015

The Cottage Inn

it is a quaint historical building so as expected the floor boards creaked very badly and the floor slanted.

The room was quite small but adequately equipped. The toilet/shower had a very bad ordour continuously, and the shower head needed cleaning and only produced a trickle of water. The English breakfast however was superb.

  • K Cooper

  • April 2015

OK for one night

Friendly staff did everything they could to help with my stay, including sorting out the wifi access.

Tasty breakfast was quickly cooked to order. I was in room 1, which was OK for one person, but would be a bit tight for a couple (comfortable double bed hard up against one wall with not much room around it) - not sure if this room is classed as a single or double though. Main problem was a strange smell in the clothes cupboard. Couldn't see what was causing the smell, but I didn't put anything in the cupboard. I would consider staying here again since it was quiet and I got a good night's sleep.

  • Robert C

  • April 2015

Cottage Of Content

Being from the area originally we know The Cottage very well although we have never previously stayed there.

The accommodation was more than adequate for our short visit, it was clean and tidy and we found the staff very pleasant, friendly and welcoming. The food served at breakfast was first class and the menu through the day was quite comprehensive and well presented. Overall we were very pleased with our stay and would have no hesitation in recommending 'The Cottage' to the many visitors who are seeking accommodation in the Kenilworth area.