Reviews - Duke of Marlborough Hotel


Woodleys, ,, Woodstock, OX20 1HT

Price From 232.77 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (9)

78% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • a sanderson

  • August 2015

Duke of Marlborough Hotel

All the staff were very friendly and helpful during our stay and made us feel very welcome.

The room was spacious, clean and nice decor. The food was delicious, freshly cooked and homemade. We will definitely recommend this accommodation to our friends and would stay here again.

  • O Schlumpf

  • July 2015

Very comfortable lodging

I was initially doubtful when I saw the photos of the rooms as they looked dark and the windows were small.

I was pleasantly surprised when I saw the room. It was spacious and not dingy at all. Very comfortable indeed.

  • Emma L

  • June 2015


I stay away quite a lot with work and this was by far my favourite place to stay, so very welcoming, room was great, food was great, no faults at all!!!

  • Steve McCarley

  • February 2015

En route break

I didnt know much about the area and nothing of the hotel, we were en route to west sussex but we found the place clean, stylish and well stocked.

The hosts were excellent and we even had a chat about Sir Winston Churchill and the nearby Blenheim palace, His birthplace. Rooms were spacious, Wifi was free and the meals were plentiful.

  • R Thorne

  • August 2014

Selected at random but a good choice of hotel nonetheless

Excellent location out of town close to Woodstock.

Room in an annex behind the pub; basic accommodation but clean and comfortable. Breakfast fantastic. Staff very helpful and friendly.

  • jane h

  • August 2014

a good night

I read carefully the comment that said if you smoked in the room you would be charged.

On entering the room I noted it smelt of smoke. What was great was that the lady in charge was superb. She changed our room immediately and was really accommodating about the problem. We then had a very pleasant stay because of her. The food was great.


  • January 2014

Last minute pre-Christmas break in the Cotswolds

Staff in the pub were great.

Breakfast was good .Two welcoming real fires in the pub. It felt like a pub with annexed accommodation rather than a "hotel". Sorry but we felt it was overpriced and didn't represent good value for money. En-suite was extremely cold and basic. Leaking water poured out from a hole in the wood under the sink when you had a shower, This was disappointing. Work was going on in adjacent rooms so maybe the rooms were about to be updated. "Toiletries provided" were for communal use and not individually wrapped, even the cotton wool. Double bed was clean and comfortable.

  • Andrew M

  • November 2013

Wonderful pub on the main road

Great place to stay would definatley go again.

Its on the main road and its a pub, but its quiet, just a few people in the bar and the rooms are set back so no road noise. Great rooms, nicely decorated. Really big bathroom. Great.

  • P Walton

  • November 2013

Road noise meant interrupted sleep even though double glazed

Room lighting requires table lamp on desk

Walk way from rooms to restaurant is outside in weather!