No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Longship

2Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
15 USHAW ROAD HEBBURN, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE31 2YA
The Longship is a lively community pub with rooms in a convienient location, offering great value food. our en-suite bedrooms are clean and comfortable ensuring your stay is relaxing. All rooms come equppied with a shower, tea and coffee making facilities and a television

Close to the city of Newcastle, the Lonship offers weekend breaks and is an ideal centre from which to explore the many attractions of the area including the Metrocentre, the Team Valley Retail Park, the Angel of the North, Beamish Museum, Hadrians Wall and the Beautiful Northumberland coast. Hebburn itself is also steeped in history, the Longship is named after a local legend which claimed that a Viking Longboat lay preserved in the banks of the Tyne until early last century. We Are also in a great location for access to gateshead stadium and the coastal town of South Shields as well as being a great stopover for those traveling up and down the country as we are not far from the A19 and its crossing under the Tyne through the Tyne Tunnel.

Picture of The Longship, Newcastle Upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 27 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
75% recommended this accommodation to a friend 75% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good value
Booked a year in advance for the great north run and got it for a really good price. Room could do with a bit of a makeover but it was very comfortable and served its purposeq staff were friendly and the pub was good for food and drinks. Hopefully going to book again for next year.

Reviewed by
Julie S

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent stay
Nice staff. Good food . Cheap booze and good food. Will use again.

Reviewed by
nick j

From Sheerness, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I would recommend the longship to all my friends and family had a good nights sleep and the food was good as well. The staff are friendly and helpfull

Reviewed by
William Hamilon

From Bedworth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Longship
The hotel and room was clean and beds were comfy
The room itself needs a full upgrade with new furniture. Previous occupants were obviously smokers as parts of the room smelled of cigarrette smoke. The staff were friendly and helpful especially the ancillary staff.

Reviewed by
J Chapman

From Worcester, England
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Newcastle stop over
Can't fault this pub/ hotel
Very friend staff
Very clean
Definitely will return
Thank you

Reviewed by
E Canavan

From West Bromwich, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The longship very good resting place staff good beer good very clean food out of this world.

Reviewed by
W Hamilton

From Bedworth, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the longship Hebburn
The longship bar staff were fine... the bar manager was rude and didnt make any effort to make us welcome and we never even met the landlady.
As a pub for locals the longship is great but as a hotel... I wouldnt bother!
The walls of the bedrooms are paper thin so dont expect to get any sleep and as for the food be prepared to wait for at least an hour for your meal.
The weekend was for my birthday but I couldn't get out of the longship quick enough!

Reviewed by
c pennell

From Runcorn, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not the best experience
Rooms were upstairs of a bar. Shower was not functioning well. No shampoo nothing in the shower. Go prepared. It is very far from Newcastle. Do not stay there if you are planning a trip to Newcastle without a car.

Reviewed by
oguz erdogan

From istanbul, Turkey
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

not too bad
The room was clean and well presented. The bed was comfortable and I had a good nights sleep. The only real disappointment was the worlds worst shower. No hot pressure so I was left with a choice of a bitterly cold shower, or a warm trickle. I needed to be clean so I chose the prior. If they sort the shower I would stay again.

Reviewed by
C Roberts

From Stockton on Tees, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the room
The room is very dated and had an irritating smell similar to dirty water. If you stay here, wash before you come as the water pressure out of the shower is probably weaker than any shower i have used.
The water pipe to the toipet overflowed onto the floor at every flush. The room was cheap at £40 per night, but so not worth the money. Staff however were friendly.

Reviewed by
gordon baker

From Wrexham, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next