Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > Wales > South Wales > Blaenau Gwent > Crickhowell Hotels > The Old Rectory Hotel and Golf Club
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Old Rectory Hotel and Golf Club

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
LLANGATTOCK , CRICKHOWELL, NP8 1PH
The Old Rectory Hotel and Golf Club is set in 13 acres with its own 9 hole par 3 golf course, and adjoining the Brecon to Pontypool canal.

Once the home of Henry Vaughan the poet,
now a hotel with a Wedding licence and a function room for 120.

A restaurant overlooking the golf course that seats 40 and has won an AA rosette.

All rooms recently refurbished to a high standard.
DBB and Breaks.
Picture of The Old Rectory Hotel and Golf Club, CRICKHOWELL at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 14 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money
We arrived on a Monday afternoon on a late deal (only £60 for the night) The service on arrival was terrible, with no one at reception or anyone available to book us in, until, on investigation we found a woman playing on her mobile that booked us in. we found our own way to our room, as we where given no tour. The room was small, but enough, with a nice bathroom, although the finish was a little scrappy, loose wire above mirror. the bed was small but comfortable. All that said the price on a late deal and the facilities still make it good value for money. The bar was nice, good selection of drinks but the menu was very expensive and options limited. The village offers better options for dining.

Reviewed by
Jo L

From Taunton, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tired and poorly staffed
Food excellent. No staff to sort out why our tv and heating in room didn't work. One girl seemed to be trying to do everything from reception to waiting on table.

Reviewed by
r wilder

From Tunbridge Wells, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely last minute stay
A very enjoyable stay at the Old Rectory. Booked last minute and the room definitely exceeded our expectations. The bar/restaurant was a little busy because of a wedding and so we took full advantage of room service. Food was average. I had ribs which came out a little charred - which couldn't be hidden by the sticky whisky sauce. The setting was beautiful and the staff polite - so overall a thumb's up!

Reviewed by
Clare G

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful surprise
Loved every second of my stay.... The staff make this place which is a treat in itself. No brainer when I find myself in the area again.

Reviewed by
S Grant

From Ruthin, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Welsh Hospitality!
We stayed just the one night before Green Man festival. The room we stayed in was a little old fashioned decor wise but it was spotlessly clean and comfortable which is all you really need, plus the hotel's location in the Brecons with all its wonderful views means it has charm a plenty. The staff were really friendly and even lent us towels for the festival when we realised we'd forgotten ours!
The food in the restaurant was excellent. We arrived quite late so ate dinner there and it was really tasty. We went for a mushroom and goats cheese risotto and a sea bass dish.
Breakfast was also really good (mushroom omelette in my case, a full Welsh for my husband). All in all, a highy recommended hotel!

Reviewed by
Victoria B

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our three night stay at the Old Rectory.
Really lovely hotel in the most beautiful situation in the Brecon beacons, just under the Craig Y Cilau limestone escarpment the largest in Wales. Everything was wonderful, apart from the fact the TV did not work & that was fine, except I am a fan of the Tour De France & it took me a long while to get the Sky television working! The receptionist did get it going for me on the first night. Apart from that it was wonderful, the staff were good. The food was really good.

Reviewed by
trevor pritchard

From Wellington, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First Impressions
Having booked a Standard Double, I was given keys to a twin room. On returning to the reception to request a double that I had booked, I was told that none were available other than the honeymoon suite. This they were reluctant to release because the cost was a lot higher but one of the young ladies did state that they should honour my booking. The main reason I make this comment is to highlight the attitude of the second young lady who was present as I checked in.
I do not appreciate being welcomed to a hotel which I am paying good money to stay at with sighs and under their breath comments. If the staff want to do this can I suggest that they ensure that the customer is clearly not present. I politely asked for what I had ordered and I don't believe their attitude belongs in the world of hospitality.
The hotel is fine and I'm sure that most of the staff are great. It does go to show that the behaviour of one member can turn you off. I probably won't return now.

Reviewed by
B Tudor-Owen

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great country retreat.
Very pleased with all aspects of our stay.

Reviewed by
B Allen

From Bridgend, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Stay
A very nice hotel. We stayed for one night on a bed and breakfast basis. Room great, breakfast very good, and found staff to be extremely helpful, especially the young pretty blonde lady who showed us to our room etc.

Reviewed by
Keith P

From Carshalton, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel
Gorgeous scenery, lovely hotel, peaceful and comfortable. Staff were friendly & helpful. Plenty of parking spaces. Breakfast was really enjoyable, chosen from a menu rather than buffet. Hotel bar was very pleasant too.

Reviewed by
Lisa F

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next