No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Light ApartHotel Manchester

4Visit England Assessed Serviced Apartments Ratings explained
20 Church Street , Manchester, M4 1PN
The Light ApartHotel is the first true serviced apartment hotel in Manchester, occupying a prime city centre location on the fringe of the trendy Northern Quarter.

Our guests enjoy the flexibility of serviced apartment living with hotel-style accommodation, appealing to both the business and leisure traveller, The Light ApartHotel consists of 60 fully equipped and beautifully furnished studio, one and two bedroom apartments and a range of penthouse suites.

The Light ApartHotel is a true alternative to top-end hotels and gives flexibility for families whose kids aren't quite independent, but too old to share a room.

Once you've tried it, we know you'll come back for more.
Picture of The Light ApartHotel Manchester, Manchester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 79 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Living space was very nice, however some of the facilities were quite worn, (torn cushion on settee, missing leg on settee, dangerous to sit on)
Apparently the workmen appeared several times and couldnt find the fault, despite an explanation given three times downstairs.
No fresh towels, or room cleaning for our duration, told they only appear on the 4th day of your stay, we were there for three. Would it have hurt to empty the bin, and drop of a couple of towels?

Reviewed by
Trevor Watson

From London, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good stuff
Went for my birthday. Had a good time. Staff lent us a DVD player for the room to watch DVDs.

Reviewed by
Mathew S

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Manchester Skyline
Felt like Tokyo,and views were stunning.Staff brilliant,just be careful manoeuvring near pillars in the gated car park.Would definitely stay there again.

Reviewed by
Amanda O

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel from Hell.
After looking at various hotels to stay at in Manchester I decided that the lightapart hotel looked ideal.. Looks can be deceiving.. From the moment I pulled up I knew it was going to be a nightmare. They offer guest parking underneath the hotel, unless you are turning up on a scooter I suggest you use one of Manchesters multicar park. It's the worst car park in the world with absolutely no room whatsoever to get in.
Then we go to check-in and we are told we need to put a £200 maintenance deposit down, which will be put back in my bank the next day.. £200 is not exactly ideal to be shedding out when you have planned on shopping in town. The next day I go to the reception and they say it could take a couple of days to go back in my bank, depending on which bank it is.. That's great, now I can't even go shopping on the Monday. After leaving it 2 days and not having the money back in my bank I phone the hotel and the manager says it can take up to 7-10 days to go back in my bank.. What an absolute joke!!!.
Now we go to the room, I was staying on floor 13 room 86.. The room was absolutely red hot, the bedroom was desperate to the living space and one of the walls was next to where the lift comes up.. The walls are thin and you could hear people above you, below you and everyone throughout the hotel. The living room was dirty and the chairs on the balcony were filthy. Decent for £95 a night eh?!..
After going out on the night and coming back to the room at 10:30pm, the people next door had decided to get into a domestic and sounded like they were killing each other.. I phoned the reception and told them and without thinking they asked ME to move room.. What a joke. The room they moved me to was even worse, it was about 100 degrees and the handle on the sliding door to the bedroom was broke.. I slept about two hours all night. Ideal when you go away for a decent nights sleep.. NOT.
1. I went away to celebrate me and my girlfriend getting engaged, Manchester was great but the hotel completely ruined what was meant to be a special time for us.
2. How can you charge people a £200 maintenance deposit when you clearly don't maintain the rooms?!.
3. I was waiting for a receptionist for 20 minutes because she had decided to go and play candy crush in the toilet instead of serving the back LOG of customers waiting.
4. If someone is causing havoc in one of your rooms why move the people who aren't doing anything wrong?!.
5. Maybe remind your staff to tell your customers it can take 7-10 days for the money to go back in their bank. The reason they don't is because people would probably find somewhere else to stay, I know I would of straight away.
And 6.. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone, not even my worst enemy, I've stayed at premier inns that were 100x better than this. You ruined my weekend and I think you really need to stop advertising it as "luxury apartments" because it clearly isn't.
Thanks again, not.

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, I have reviewed your comments and feel the need to reply despite several conversations taking place with us at the hotel and after you checked out. Whilst I know the car park is of a limited space, it is manoeuvrable and is not fit for only scooters, we can accommodate 4x4's minibus' and vans down there without issue, so I am sorry that you felt the space was not negotiable for you. Upon check in a card was asked for pre authorisation in case of any extras or incidentals, you did not question at this time that you were not aware of this procedure and gave your card willingly and after conducting the relevant procedure where you inputted your pin to verify the amount, you were advised of the time scales for the release of said funds. Upon checking into your apartment you rang down to ask if we had an apartment with an external window to the bedroom, we advised that the room type you had booked did not but that the balcony door and balcony were usable to have air circulation. At no point during this conversation did you make any of the team aware that you felt the apartment dirty and this has only been mentioned in this fabricated review. Upon returning after your night you rang down to complain about noise, the Duty Manager aware of your preference of having an external window and now a noise complaint, offered as a good will gesture to complimentary give you a two bedroom apartment and to which you moved too. When checking out the next morning, you complained that there was no air conditioning, something we never advertised, you insisted that I had not told you re the pre authorisation and timeframes but I had, you complained that we had done the pre authorisation on checkin and claimed you were not aware but it is clearly visible on Laterooms site. The balcony door to the lounge was not broken and the statement of a member of the team being in the toilet playing Candy Crush is false (and I don't know how you can possibly confirm that) All in all after giving a good will gesture of 30% off your bill upon leaving, as the hotel did not want any bad feeling for the things that you misunderstood, I find the attack on us totally unjustified and wanted other bookers to review exactly what did happen. Regards, Steven Frodsham, Hotel Manager

Reviewed by
Lee W

From Billingham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overpriced
The room was very overpriced and although booked late, I would have expected a much better room for £119. The biggest problem was that there was no hot water. I would not stay here again.

Reviewed by
N Farrell

From Salford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent. We were given a free upgrade on arrival. Beautiful room with everything needed. We forgot a charger and reception provided one. Friendly staff.

Reviewed by
A Lonsdale

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best place I have ever stayed for business
Everything was genuinely amazing. Best place I have ever stayed for work. I was running a busy national conference and was able to get all the work I needed done in complete comfort in the living area (luxury) with fast wifi. I slept like a log in a super comfortable bedroom and didn't want to leave. Staff lovely. Completely converted to apart hotels and will try to stay in this chain again whenever I am away.

Reviewed by
Emma D

From Brighton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The rooms was lovely, well equipped and spacious. Great to have 2 bathrooms. Location great

Reviewed by
c schofield

From Burnley, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place
Great place quality would stay here again , thanks

Reviewed by
P Allen

From Wakefield, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Website pictures portray better than real life.

Reviewed by
tina s

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next