You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - The Light ApartHotel Manchester

4

20 Church Street, Manchester, M4 1PN

Price From 235.27 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (17)

76% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • A Hendry

  • June 2016

This was my third time staying at the light boutique and we weren't disappointed.

The staff accommodated an early checkin and even upgraded our penthouse!. Views of Manchester were spectacular, fantastic central location and staff very friendly. Highly recommend and will stay again when next in Manchester!

  • Matthew R

  • June 2016

The Light ApartHotel Manchester

Well presented but due a refurb, toilet bowl was cracked, TVs were archaic and no keys for windows but balcony was great and all rooms were well appointed and clean.

Overall a good experience and would go back!

  • Antigone G

  • June 2016

Not great.

Usually more expensive than it's sister aparthotel a little further from my work, I was initially pleased to book a studio at The Light.

That soon turned to disappointment. The person who checked me in could barely make eye contact with me, and was surly when I asked if a quiet room was available (including offering to pay an upgrade fee) - I was just told 'you're in apartment 3'. No conversation, no niceties, nothing. Apartment 3 is a 1st floor studio. It's a good size, and bright. It's also been heavily used and shows significant signs of wear and tear - the towel rail/hooks have fallen off the wall, the blinds were broken (fixed on request on the 2nd day, but obviously in need of replacement) and the bed both too hard and too soft at the same time (cheap, tired mattress on a too-hard base). The bedside lamp was missing a bulb, and there was a knot of someone else's hair lurking in the pile of 'clean' towels. The overwhelming character of the room was the NOISE. Traffic noise from the road outside was deafening - TV at a normal volume was drowned out by the near-constant roar of buses and taxis. At the time of writing, there's been a bit of a heatwave so I had to make the choice between sleeplessness because of near heat-suffocation, or stay cooler but still be awake because of the traffic noise.

On my return for the second, and last, evening of my stay, I was surprised to see that someone had clearly entered my room. In apartments, they're usually only serviced every 3-5 days, depending. The bed had been made and a dish washed and put away. Weirdly though, drinks I had purchased had been removed from the fridge and taken from the apartment. While these were replaced when I complained, there was no formal explanation about why someone had gone into the room at all when the apartment was not due for servicing, and I would not be at all comfortable leaving items of any value there if I were to stay again. The Front of House staff are operating under the illusion that they are working in a 'boutique' venue and haven't worked out that being approachable and helpful is actually far more 'high-end' than any number of pink velvet chairs artfully arranged in the reception area. Overall, the studio just about performed its function in that I had a room in which I could (just about) sleep, eat and shower, but it's vastly overpriced for what it is and is desperately in need of an overhaul, as are the staff. I won't risk staying there again when there is so much choice in the area.

Response from hotel

Dear Antigone,

Thank you for taking the time writing a review of your recent stay at The Light ApartHotel.

I would first like to apologise for any shortcomings you feel you encountered with regards to the check-in team, and cleanliness of the studio apartment. Please be assured this is not indicative of our usual standards and I have passed this onto the relevant Department Heads concerned to follow this up ensuring this does not reoccur.

With regards to your check-in we have spoken with the front of house team that was on duty and at no point can they recall any request for a quiet room or an option of upgrading the apartment throughout your check-in. You will see from many reviews we have nothing but high praise for our Reception Team, we try our very best to ensure our guests are happy. We’re sorry that the mattress wasn’t to your liking, they are by no means cheap all of our mattresses are made by Hypnos and are a medium firmness and have been recently replaced within the past year.

All of our Studio apartments are indeed located on the first floor above the reception, accessed by a flight of stairs overlooking the main road (Church St.) this information is made very clear when booking via the online booking site and is indicative of the low price compared with other serviced apartments offering studio apartments in the city centre.

Speaking with our Duty Manager who spent time with you on the 7th June, he is very disappointed with your review especially as you had expressed your satisfaction with the way in which your comments were received and dealt with, within 20 minutes of you informing the reception. Admittedly the blinds were broken by yourself, so aside from our error with servicing your apartment when it wasn’t due your review is not fair on the team or on the service given.

Once again thank you for taking the time to review us, we highly appreciate our guests’ comments as they help us to improve, ensuring that we deliver an experience in line with our guests’ expectations.

Antigone, we do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to restore your faith in us at The Light ApartHotel in the not too distant future.

  • Richard S

  • April 2016

Excellent

Just superb

  • Michael P

  • April 2016

Nice apartment, very nice staff

The rooms were very nice and comfy.

They had a good view looking over the city. The staff were very welcoming and chatty. I would definitely stay there again.

  • M Muldowney

  • March 2016

Room very cold and noisy

  • Vicky A

  • September 2015

Fresh place to stay

  • Alex B

  • March 2015

Average

The room was very clean but not quite spotless, in the 2 bed apartment one of the beds was broken which didn't matter as we only needed the 1 bed.

The finishing touches let the room down, laminate that had gaps and blinds that were torn on the edges. The were no problems but for the price, the finishing touches should have been better.

  • L Wakefield

  • March 2015

Excellent accommodation.

Worth booking.

Will stay again

  • Arthur C

  • March 2015

Location was perfect for everything we needed in the city centre.

Excellent reception service on arrival & departure. Being able to check in early was a bonus. Room was showing a bit of wear & tear in places & perhaps stains on the blinds in both bedrooms & on carpet in smaller bedroom should be addressed. Bathrooms & kitchen well kitted out. Overall, a good base for three of us who wanted more flexibility than in an hotel & I would have few qualms about staying again.