No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Royal Oak Inn

3Visit England Assessed Inn Ratings explained
Brantfell Road Bowness on Windermere, Windermere, LA23 3EG
The Royal Oak is a small, busy, family run Inn with a warm welcoming atmosphere for the walker, tourist and business visitor alike. Our traditional Inn is non-smoking throughout, and with no late residents bar last orders are at 11pm weekdays and 12pm weekends. We are long standing member of CAMRA with a minimum of five real ales at any one time.

Situated in the very heart of Bowness on Windermere, The Royal Oak is literally a stone's throw from the Bowness Bay piers, where you can take in the stunning views across Lake Windermere and perhaps board a steamship cruise. We are only a few minutes' walk from the many traditional craft and gift shops and only five minutes from The World of Beatrix Potter. Our Inn is proud to say it is the official finishing point of Alistair Wallace's 'The Dalesway Walk' and the starting point of his guide 'The Lake to Lake Walk'.

The Royal Oak has a variety of double rooms most en-suite with the exception of two which share a bathroom and for which bathrobes are provided. Each room has tea/coffee making facilities, radio alarm clock, TV and a hair dryer. Free Wi-Fi connection is available. Whilst our rooms vary in size, they are, without exception, extremely comfortable and are traditionally styled with a homely feel. We are widely renowned for our kind hearted hospitality and, of course, for 'The Royal Oak Full English' breakfast! Evening meals are offered and car parking is available. All our meals are prepared from the fresh, locally sourced, ingredients. Please ring in advance with any specific dietary requirements (015394 43970).

Picture of The Royal Oak Inn, Windermere at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 97 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Accommodation
Our room was very adequate for our needs but felt the bathroom was a bit small having to finish dressing in the room was a bit of a let down.

Reviewed by
J Haddow

From Kilwinning, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was very tiny and cramped. Staff were friendly and the food was good.
Limited parking on a very steep slope

Reviewed by
clare s

From Gillingham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

disappointed
I was a little disappointed with the accommodation. Our room was very small with very little room to move around. I thought it would be a little bigger. For £90 a night I did expect a more.

Reviewed by
Catherine Horton

From Kidderminster, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

2 Night Break
Nice and handy to get around town. Parking can be a bit if a problem though. Staff very friendly and helpful and breakfasts were excellent. Room 3 has a view over the rooftops to the lake. The shelf over the basin caused a few problems as it was difficult to bend down but other than that, the room was clean and was fine for what we wanted.

Reviewed by
Michael C

From Richmond, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

pleasant stay
stayed here for 2 nights very friendly helpful staff.The rooms and dining areas and bathrooms were kept spotlessly clean I would definatly stay again top marks to the staff

Reviewed by
e hall

From Sunderland, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxing
All staff were friendly and helpful. The food was good. The room itself is very pleasant and the bed comfortable. Only problem was shelf over sink made it tricky to wash face.
Location of royal oak is very good. Easy to find and close to shops and lake.

Reviewed by
Steve H

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best breakfast I've ever had in a b+b . Right in the middle for everything

Reviewed by
craig clayton

From Frodsham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Two nights in the Lakes
Found the Royal Oak a pleasant place to stay. Friendly and attentive staff. The car park was very tight but the situation on the Inn it couldn't be anything else. The bed in our room was a bit hard for our liking but we slept alright. Only had breakfast in house which was good and pleasantly served.
Location was great, within a few minutes walk of the lakeside activities

Reviewed by
David S

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Everything perfect.
Lovely, friendly hotel, immaculately clean room and ensuite. Good quality, comfortable bed, perfectly made every day. Excellent meals and very friendly and accommodating staff. Nothing too much trouble. Will definitely return and will recommend to all.

Reviewed by
Maggie N

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Faultless
My husband and I stayed here for our first anniversary. We noticed the cleanliness the moment we walked through the door. It was immaculate. The staff were friendly and couldn't be anymore helpful, nothing was a problem and you were attended to immediately. Although the room was small, it didn't bother us, again it was immaculate and there was ample tea, coffee, chocolates and biscuits. My husband called before our stay to see what they could offer for our anniversary and arranged for us to have a champagne breakfast in our room. We discovered I was pregnant before our stay so my husband rearranged this to flowers. The staff were very helpful with all if this. The breakfast was delicious, I was very impressed with the choice of cereal, fruit and yoghurt. To say the hotel was a smaller one, the standard of service we received for breakfast was outstanding. We were served immediately and our food was served the minute we were ready after our cereal. Altogether, we had a lovely stay at the royal oak and would definitely recommended it.

Reviewed by
L Sugden

From Bradford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next