No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Royal Oak Inn

3Visit England Assessed Inn Ratings explained
Brantfell Road Bowness on Windermere, Windermere, LA23 3EG
The Royal Oak is a small, busy, family run Inn with a warm welcoming atmosphere for the walker, tourist and business visitor alike. Our traditional Inn is non-smoking throughout, and with no late residents bar last orders are at 11pm weekdays and 12pm weekends. We are long standing member of CAMRA with a minimum of five real ales at any one time.

Situated in the very heart of Bowness on Windermere, The Royal Oak is literally a stone's throw from the Bowness Bay piers, where you can take in the stunning views across Lake Windermere and perhaps board a steamship cruise. We are only a few minutes' walk from the many traditional craft and gift shops and only five minutes from The World of Beatrix Potter. Our Inn is proud to say it is the official finishing point of Alistair Wallace's 'The Dalesway Walk' and the starting point of his guide 'The Lake to Lake Walk'.

The Royal Oak has a variety of double rooms most en-suite with the exception of two which share a bathroom and for which bathrobes are provided. Each room has tea/coffee making facilities, radio alarm clock, TV and a hair dryer. Free Wi-Fi connection is available. Whilst our rooms vary in size, they are, without exception, extremely comfortable and are traditionally styled with a homely feel. We are widely renowned for our kind hearted hospitality and, of course, for 'The Royal Oak Full English' breakfast! Evening meals are offered and car parking is available. All our meals are prepared from the fresh, locally sourced, ingredients. Please ring in advance with any specific dietary requirements (015394 43970).

Picture of The Royal Oak Inn, Windermere at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 100 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place nice and friendly nice pub and food...already booked up again

Reviewed by
Jason bell

From Ferryhill, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay .staff friendly and helpful. received a free room upgrade on arrival. food and beer very good cant fault The Royal Oak Inn.

Reviewed by
S wild

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room 3
Small but comfortable room, nice outlook, small view of lake.

Reviewed by
W Cooper

From Crewe, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Valentines break
Me and my girlfriend had a loverly stay here. The staff were all very nice and helpful. We ate in the bar a couple of times and i have to say the food was loverly and reasonably priced. The whole place had a warm welcoming feel and would definatly recommend to friends and family.

Reviewed by
A Miller

From York, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Winter weekend
Probably great for the rest of the year but overwhelming impression on a col January night is of cold draughts in both public areas and bedroom

ManagementResponse

Dear Mr Shapton, Many thank for your comments. We have located the window concerned and re-newed the draft sealant. We hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards, Angie

Reviewed by
Jim S

From Chester, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Royal Oak Inn
Our room was very clean but very drafty the old sash windows are original I think but really do with secondary glazing . All the staff were brilliant and helpful , the breakfasts were spot we also ate of the bar menu the food was lovely .

Reviewed by
David tudor

From west bromwich, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent relaxing break
Me and my husband Stayed here for 2 nights for New Year's Eve. The B&B is lovely and clean. The staff are so warm and welcoming, and the food was excellent. We will definitely be coming back.

Reviewed by
M Froggatt

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Royal Oak Inn
Have stayed here before. It is a pub that is central, cosy, clean and has very friendly helpful staff. The food is good and we eat here when we stay. The beakfast that is included is substantial.

Reviewed by
sharon m

From Peterlee, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent find very friendly and lovely food and service
We booked this on a spur of a moment thing for the weekend with our son and future daughter in law.
We've stayed in the lakes for years in many hotels and paid a lot more and had worse rooms and food!! When we arrived we were immediately made welcome by the staff and shown to our rooms. Rooms were exceptionally clean and had fresh towels arranged on the bed. Room had also not long been painted too. We were not really expecting too much with the money we paid but what. Surprise breakfast was wonderfully cooked and their was plenty of choice for all from fruit and yoghurt to cereals and full English breakfast presented, lovely and plenty of coffee and toast too! We had a great weekend and ate in the restaurant, had the excellent christmas three course meal with all the trimmings food was lovely, presented well and cooked fresh. Bar was very welcoming and we had excellent staff especially Sinead who made the best "cheeky v's". Many thanks to all who made it a lovely trip we will definitely be returning!

Reviewed by
J Passey

From Halesowen, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal accommodation in the centre of Bowness
The people were very friendly, let us park our car well before checking in and after checking out. The room was very cosy but included everything we needed for one night. The room was clean and comfortable.

Reviewed by
David Cheetham

From Bollington, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next