No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Alexander

4AA Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
3 Sketty Rd, Uplands, Swansea , Swansea, SA2 0EU
The Guest House is situated on the edge of Uplands where a good range of local amenities are at hand including take-away outlets, restaurants, hair and beauty salons, a launderette, bars - everything you could possibly need for a comfortable stay. The Alexander is on the bus route to the Gower Peninsular and offer a frequent service to the city centre just 1 mile away. A prompt and reliable taxi service operates in the area and can be ordered in advance by our staff. We are within walking distance of the University, Singleton hospital, Wales' National swimming pool, Sketty Hall and Swansea Bay. There is a non-smoking policy in operation throughout the building and a small licensed lounge bar for guests.
Picture of The Alexander, Swansea at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 31 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
97% recommended this accommodation to a friend 97% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was spacious and clean. The staff were friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
A Turner

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I had a wonderful stay at the Alexander. It took around 5 minutes to get there by taxi from the train station. The lady who answered the door was very polite and welcoming and gave me all the information I needed about my stay. I paid for a single room with a private bathroom (with a bath tub and shower that was very clean) just outside the door. The size of the room reminds me of a university accommodation but it was really clean and cozy and the design of the room was very nice. There is a window that overlooks the main road but it doesn't let a lot of noise in so you can definitely have a good night sleep. Room was equipped with TV, tea-making facilities, a sink, wardrobe, hairdryer, bathrobe. There is internet available but the signal seems to be a bit weak in my room (works best in the breakfast room). The breakfast served was of very high quality and there isn't anything at all to complain about. I had a traditional grilled breakfast which was served by the owner and he was very helpful, welcoming, and it was a pleasure having a little chat with him. I had a lovely stay at the hotel and would definitely stay again if I had to come back to Swansea in the future. I highly recommend this hotel!

Reviewed by
R Tirados

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly and helpful. Good location as well.
The room we had was just a bit small, but manageable.

Reviewed by
M Wong

From Netherlands
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very warm host
Room was very claustrophobic. Tiny room and very humid with no opening windows.

Reviewed by
Ian Love

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic accommodation
In an age where customer services seem to be absolutely poor but still as important as ever, The Alexander triumphs with this. I stayed there for the Swansea Half Marathon, and the location is convenient and away from the immediate noise of the city centre, the premises were spot on, the facilities were great. But more important than anything was the really warm greeting that you can struggle to get at a lot of other places, which is the winner for The Alexander and is definitely a huge factor.

Reviewed by
Dan H

From Aberystwyth, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Swansea Reunion
Booked 3 rooms but needed to cancel one at very short notice, this was not a problem and the owners helped me out so I didn't incur a heavy late cancelation fee. Rooms were very welcoming, neat, tidy and comfortable, breakfast was great with a full cooked plus fresh fruit, cereals, juice and loads of tea and coffee. Very good value for money & a very helpful husband and wife team. I've stayed in big hotel chains at more cost and received a lot less. Don't be put off by the main road location. Very happy - would go back.

Reviewed by
Pete F

From Farham, England
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely
I had a short notice visit to Swansea and was desperately looking for a room. I found this on late rooms. Read the other review and I have to agree, it is a really lovely guest house, very friendly and clean and a 15 minute walk to the city centre. Great value for money and I would recommend it and I will be staying again when I am back in Swansea.

Reviewed by
John B

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideally situated , good value, good standard accommodation
Stayed here whilst attending a course. Very helpful, polite,friendly owner . Good standard , clean room. Plentiful breakfast choices. Overall would recommend and have re booked for further course dates. Ideally situated with shops, takeaways and restaurants nearby.

Reviewed by
S Schofield

From pontefract, England
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very friendly service

Reviewed by
R Bakhai

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stay in Swansea
Pleasant accommodation close to the university. Friendly hosts.

Reviewed by
C V H

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next