No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Gales of Llangollen

3Visit Wales Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
18 Bridge Street , , , Llangollen, LL20 8PF
Situated in one of the oldest streets in Llangollen and a few seconds from the high street, Gales has 15 en-suite bedrooms. All our rooms are individually decorated and sympathetically restored in keeping with the historic character of the buildings. Eight of the rooms are above the Wine Bar in a Georgian townhouse, with many original features. The remaining rooms are in a much older timber framed building across the driveway. These rooms have exposed beams, wattle and daub walls and all have original features. All our rooms are available as double or single occupancy, many can be used for twin or family occupancy. All our rooms have tea and coffe making facilities, hair-dryers, direct dial telephones, widescreen televisions and wifi access. The wood panelled Wine Bar is the award winning centre of the business. Its character is largely unchanged from the original 9 table experience back in the 70’s. It now boasts 20 tables but still works on the foundations of simple home cooked food using the best local ingredients and wine expertly picked to offer the best range and value. Gales owes its busy informal nature to the fact that it never takes a table booking and takes orders though a bar service of friendly, knowledgeable staff. Whenever you come though the door you know you will receive the same amiable welcome.
Picture of Gales of Llangollen, Llangollen at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 42 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Gales was a really pleasant surprise
Found the place reasonably easily without satnav. Parking was easy. Reception is a little unclear as not signed, (at least I didn't notice any!), and is actually the counter of the bistro, which when the place is busy, as it was, seems an unlikely spot for it. But the staff were very helpful, and swiftly sorted the keys and directed us to our room. The room was brilliant. Quality, homely furniture with a nice feel to it. Bathroom facilities good. Even a decanter of sherry and glasses to welcome you in. Superb. All in all a brilliant place to stay, and a real bargain. I've stayed in places not half as good as this for 3 times the cost.

Reviewed by
beverly fairbrother

From Swadlincote, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice full of character
On arrival we were offered a choice of three rooms which we inspected, all were full of character and had a good nights sleep. very popular, very welcoming in the Bistro and it was popular.

Reviewed by
Mike Rumbol

From Dorchester, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

new year break
A luxurious room ,comfortable bed,tastly b&b recommend to friends and friends, ,

Reviewed by
T Wrench

From crewe , UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lle braf ac anffurfiol i aros - bwyd ardderchog!

Reviewed by
Gwyn R

From Blaenau Ffestiniog, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel with character
An absolutely great hotel, packed with character, and made to feel very welcome for the duration of the stay. Highly recommended to anybody travelling to Llangollen. Breakfast was excellent, sadly I couldn't sample an evening meal due to other plans whilst in the area. I only regret staying there for two nights; would have enjoyed to spend longer - perhaps next time. Thank you to all the staff. I hope to be returning soon.

Reviewed by
C NESBITT

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Double Booking Sorted
We didn't stay at Gales because there was a double booking. They rang us the day before we were due to stay and apologised for the mix up. They arranged for us to stay at Hill Crest Guest House, also in Llangollen. When we arrived there, the landlord gave us a bottle of wine which had been sent over from Gales Winebar. I though Gales handled the situation really well and our stay at Hill Crest was great. I would book with Gales again, even though we got double booked this time.

Reviewed by
S Bearfoot

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay and food in wine bar was worth every penny

Reviewed by
a jones

From King's Lynn, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Gales of Llangollen
A really different experience. Delightful staff, antique furniture in all the bedrooms. The food we had was excellent and the wine bar also good. I'd certainly return.

Reviewed by
MIchael Pollitt

From Witney, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good value
There was no-one to check us in properly so said we would return an hour later.Our room was large and comfortable with a big widescreen TV but had problems with using the remote.It didnt seem to be set up correctly .The bathroom was a little bit shabby and could have done with more toiletries as there was only a fixed soap dispenser over the wash basin.The beds were comfy and we had two double beds as a twin.Breakfast was nice and fresh and plenty of it.One tip ...be careful if you have a large car as the way into the car park is very narrow .Obviously not built for modern day vehicles.

Reviewed by
carol s

From Poulton le Fylde, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent room - great value for money - excellent staff. Only had breakfast, which was great as the food was a bit pricey in the evenings however lots of alternatives locally. A very nice hotel set in a lovely part of the country.

Reviewed by
S Daly

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next