No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Gales of Llangollen

3Visit Wales Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
18 Bridge Street , , , Llangollen, LL20 8PF
Situated in one of the oldest streets in Llangollen and a few seconds from the high street, Gales has 15 en-suite bedrooms. All our rooms are individually decorated and sympathetically restored in keeping with the historic character of the buildings. Eight of the rooms are above the Wine Bar in a Georgian townhouse, with many original features. The remaining rooms are in a much older timber framed building across the driveway. These rooms have exposed beams, wattle and daub walls and all have original features. All our rooms are available as double or single occupancy, many can be used for twin or family occupancy. All our rooms have tea and coffe making facilities, hair-dryers, direct dial telephones, widescreen televisions and wifi access. The wood panelled Wine Bar is the award winning centre of the business. Its character is largely unchanged from the original 9 table experience back in the 70’s. It now boasts 20 tables but still works on the foundations of simple home cooked food using the best local ingredients and wine expertly picked to offer the best range and value. Gales owes its busy informal nature to the fact that it never takes a table booking and takes orders though a bar service of friendly, knowledgeable staff. Whenever you come though the door you know you will receive the same amiable welcome.
Picture of Gales of Llangollen, Llangollen at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 40 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Double Booking Sorted
We didn't stay at Gales because there was a double booking. They rang us the day before we were due to stay and apologised for the mix up. They arranged for us to stay at Hill Crest Guest House, also in Llangollen. When we arrived there, the landlord gave us a bottle of wine which had been sent over from Gales Winebar. I though Gales handled the situation really well and our stay at Hill Crest was great. I would book with Gales again, even though we got double booked this time.

Reviewed by
S Bearfoot

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay and food in wine bar was worth every penny

Reviewed by
a jones

From King's Lynn, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Gales of Llangollen
A really different experience. Delightful staff, antique furniture in all the bedrooms. The food we had was excellent and the wine bar also good. I'd certainly return.

Reviewed by
MIchael Pollitt

From Witney, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent room - great value for money - excellent staff. Only had breakfast, which was great as the food was a bit pricey in the evenings however lots of alternatives locally. A very nice hotel set in a lovely part of the country.

Reviewed by
S Daly

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good value
There was no-one to check us in properly so said we would return an hour later.Our room was large and comfortable with a big widescreen TV but had problems with using the remote.It didnt seem to be set up correctly .The bathroom was a little bit shabby and could have done with more toiletries as there was only a fixed soap dispenser over the wash basin.The beds were comfy and we had two double beds as a twin.Breakfast was nice and fresh and plenty of it.One tip ...be careful if you have a large car as the way into the car park is very narrow .Obviously not built for modern day vehicles.

Reviewed by
carol s

From Poulton le Fylde, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We'd go back in a heartbeat - great service and excellent food and wine
We felt extremely lucky to land at this charming inn and tavern / restaurant / wine bar, located centrally in this charming river town, on a street right out of a picture book. The owners - Mr Gale senior and Mr Gale junior - were super welcoming. The room was spacious and charming. And the food that night was truly excellent. Not to mention the wine, carefully and wisely selected by the owners, and the specially recommended port we enjoyed after dinner. Breakfast also stood out: it was the same type of fare as at each of the B&Bs on our mini-holiday, full Welsh / English breakfast stuff, but of the very best quality, and decidedly better than anywhere else we stayed. Definitely value for money, and if you love really good food and wine, this should be your spot.

Reviewed by
B Robinson

From USA
Who stayed in April 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An hotel with character
A relaxing stay, friendly staff with a large comfortable bedroom. Tasty breakfast and we would love to stay there again.

Reviewed by
Juliet H

From Port Talbot, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great place to stay
great location...great character building...freindly staff....all in all agreat place to stay and would stromgly recomend the place.

Reviewed by
Robin Cassell

From St Helens, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Welcoming accommodation
Had an excellent night at Gale's - room was lovely, bed was comfy and staff were really friendly

Reviewed by
Maria S

From Bury, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Totally Outstanding.
From our arrival to leaving a total joy. A warm welcome when we arrived. A complementary sampler bottle of port in our room, didn't last long. Room was warm and very comfortable. We couldn't recommend the Gales enough. We will be back.

Reviewed by
Nick D

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next