No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Hightae Inn

4Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
High Road, Hightae, Lockerbie, DG11 1JS
The Hightae Inn is situated in the charming village of Hightae close to the River Annan. Our cosy family-run local hotel offers stylish accommodation as well as good beers, fine wines and great home cooked evening meals.

Hightae is only 10 minutes from the M74 at Lockerbie and a bit of a hidden gem. The surrounding countryside offers an abundance of footpaths (with The Annandale Way newly opened), river walks and quiet country lanes and is great for cycling.
The hotel is proving a great hit for overnight stop-overs if you are either heading North or South on holiday, to break up your journey.
Picture of The Hightae Inn, Lockerbie at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 17 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
99% recommended this accommodation to a friend 99% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb in every way
Mark and Morag and their team are doing a tremendous job at the Hightae Inn. We only stayed one night (and wished we could have stayed for longer) but the welcome, accommodation, dinner that night and breakfast the following morning were faultless. The chef (Morag?) is doing an amazing job, the food really was truly delicious. Kevin and Pauline

Reviewed by
Kevin R

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The perfect stopover on the way home from a holiday in the Highlands
We were welcomed like old friends, having stayed here two years ago. And everyone else we met had also stayed previously. Mark is the perfect host: friendly without being intrusive. And Morag's cooking is fantastic. We'll be back!

Reviewed by
Chris D

From Helston, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great weekend
This is without doubt the best B&B we have stayed in.Good size room a warm welcome and great food.They do evening meals too,would advice booking as it popular locally.All the meals are cooked to order so expect to wait a while ,but its worth it .All in all the Hightae Inn is really great place to stay.

Reviewed by
michael brown

From Sunderland, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great place to stay
We have had a relaxing break with great hosts and the most amazing home cooked food .
So pleased we found this little gem and would recommend it highly. Best weekend break we have had in a long time.

Reviewed by
stephanie morrison

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We were made very welcome . Our bedroom was beautifully furnished and we were given fresh milk for our tea. The evening meal was lovely home cooked food as was the breakfast.I had smoked salmon and scrambled egg which was delicious.

Reviewed by
Rosemary Worrell

From Whitley Bay, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent place to stay
This was a stopover on our way back from holidaying in Mull. Mark and Morag were superb,friendly hosts. Food was excellent and we had a really good night at the Hightae Inn.

Reviewed by
David M

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

HighTae Great Experience!
A perfect stop when in the Lockerbie area - food, beverage, customer service and rooms A1.

Reviewed by
Alex E

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

High stay at High Tae
I cannot recommend Hae Tae highly enough. Quality accommodation, excellent food and drink (the beer from St. Mungo's brewery is very special) and above everything else, friendly service delivered with a personal touch. Mark and Morag are fantastic hosts and their attention to detail is really rather refreshing. Although this was a business visit (stop off from Grangemouth), I've promised my wife that I will treat her to a weekend in the near future,

Reviewed by
NICK D

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Faultless
Mark and Morag were so welcoming, we felt at home straight away.
Had a great night. It was a stopover on our way back from holidaying in the Highlands.
Recommended

Reviewed by
Bill H

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Welcoming and Relaxing
This was an ideal place for a stopover on route to Glasgow although a little off the beaten track it was well worth the drive. The welcome was warm and the pub is a very pleasant place to relax and eat. The food was excellent both dinner and breakfast. I think my only negative comments would be that although the room was nicely furnished, the bathroom was small (shower only, no bath). For a woman who wants to dry/straighten hair there was no socket located near a mirror so that was a little tricky. Also, I felt that the price for the room was a little high - I would expect a few extra special features for the £85 we paid. Having said all of that, I would recommend to other travellers and wish the lovely couple that are running this establishment every success - they both work very hard to make your stay a special one.

ManagementResponse

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review - we're glad you enjoyed your stay. It's such a shame re the en-suite thing as we actually do have a room with a bath in the hotel. We've just had a wee look at our listing as based on your comments we suddenly had a terrible feeling we were offering all of our en-suites with baths, however it's just the slightly smaller room which has the bath listed. We'll certainly take on board the socket/hair dryer/mirror issue and see what we can do.

Reviewed by
Kate H

From Scunthorpe, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next