No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hilton Cardiff

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Kingsway , Cardiff, CF10 3HH
Refurbished in April 2014 The Hilton Cardiff hotel's location in the heart of the city is just five minutes drive from the railway station and 30 minutes from Cardiff International Airport. Offering the best in Welsh hospitality, this Cardiff hotel is directly opposite Cardiff Castle, and just minutes from the St David's 2 shopping experience. Relax with in the heated pool or treat yourself to a beauty treatment, work out in the gym, and explore attractions like the Millennium Centre and Millennium Stadium. Sample cuisine in our Razzi restaurant, or treat yourself to cocktail in our Metropole Lounge or specialty Coffee in Costa. Go shopping or visit Cardiff attractions like The National History Museum, Cardiff Bay, Techniquest and St Fagans.

Do business in the Executive Lounge or plan an event in one of seven meeting rooms and stunning ballroom for up to 350 people. All 197 bedrooms are fully air conditioned and have separate walk-in showers. From standard guest rooms to deluxe and family rooms, Junior Suites, stay in an Executive Room and gain access to the exclusive Executive Lounge, situated on the 7th floor with excellent views of the city.
Picture of Hilton Cardiff, Cardiff at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 90 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Hilton service and location but smelly room and poor breakfast
The service, facilities and location were what I have come to expect from Hilton (I stay with them once or twice a month) , but unfortunatley the room was a little jaded. This in isolation would not usually be a problem - everything ages and the cost of constant refurbishment is one I understand. However the room had a very unpleasant odour ingrained within it and the windows did not open. I did mention it on check out and asked if it had previously been a smoking room. Whilst i was told that it hadn't, it certainly had that smell about it and indeed my suits and other clothes had a slight, but noticable, odour about them after only one night hanging in the room. It was also a little disapointing to note the very poor quality of the food at breakfast. Economy sausages and bacon (really quite nasty) and very little choice in hot food- no tomatoes, mushrooms . There was also little choice in fresh fruit. it does seem a little petty to mention it, but given the charge for breakfast in Hilton Hotels, it was very disapointing to receive the sort of food you would complain about in a Blackpool B&B.

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, I am writing following your recent review of the Hilton Cardiff. I am very sorry to read your feedback regarding your stay in our hotel and may I offer you my most sincere apologies for any upset and inconvenience caused to you at the time. It was very disappointing to read your feedback regarding breakfast in our Razzi Restaurant as we normally receive such great comments regarding the quality and standard of our breakfast, mushrooms and tomatoes are cooked from fresh and available upon request and I am very sorry that you were not informed of this at the time. I do hope that despite your experience on this occasion we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back on a future occasion to restore your confidence and if I can assist in anyway please do not hesitate to contact me. Kind regards, Louisa

Reviewed by
Adam R

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

overpriced
Ive been to numerous events in Cardiff, its a great friendly city but I really hate the way hotels double there prices when there's an event on at the millennium stadium! ! The hotel was fine, only bug bearwas the price and finding a double bed in the room that couldn't be split, I had requested a twin room and my confirmation confirmed it was a twin room booking, luckily I was sharing with my brother.

Reviewed by
Joseph Garner

From Berkhamsted, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Was I being conned
Although the hotel was good and of Good quality I felt as though I was about to be conned. Prior to going I was sent an e.mail about complementary services a long list only included one with no charge that of changing your pillows to non -allergic. one of the offers was a £40 celebration champagne , strawberries and chocolate. I declined this but on arrival found them in a room with a congratulations card on my Anniversary, daring me to say I did not order it and pay the overpriced charge. I did decline but the placing of it there was a blatant deception. secondly wine was advertised as vintage 2010 but when served was 2012. with no alteration of price difference or quality difference. Finally the car parking fee was £20 again I declined as I had somewhere else to park my car, however the £20 fee appeared on my bill, were they hoping I would not notice ? once again deception seems the name of the game.

Reviewed by
Phillip Vickery

From Haverfordwest, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect
Great room, really sound enclosed private room with a massive king size bed with optional tv settings, blockbuster movies and many more, Internet access.
The hotel is very clean and minimalist with unique styling, I never usually say a place is perfect but this is the closest I've been to perfect stay and I will revisiting again 100%.
If you are thinking of staying in cardiff I'd recommend, worth every penny.

Reviewed by
N Latham

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great reception desk service

Reviewed by
Aggie B

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brill stay will come again.

Reviewed by
Jonathan Walters

From Tredegar, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well worth the little extra for an Executive room
Had a brief stay here for the first time. Very impressed overall. Staff very attentive without being pretentious. Decided to try out the Executive Room option as we had such a big discount anyway via Late Rooms that we were still paying about £20 less than the hotel's rate for a standard double.The actual room was very pleasant though not so different from a good standard 4 star hotel. The bed was king size and extremely comfortable. Bathroom was very good spec and spotless However the real benefit is access to the Executive lounge. There is a great view over Cardiff Castle from the window seats. There is continuous free tea/coffee machine, and newspapers. Then from 6-8 pm there was a free bar for bottled beers etc and wiine/spirits. Staff were on hand at all times. Also there were free hot and cold canapes which were absolutely delicious. Had we not been so determined to go to a restaurant we would have happily munched on them, supped the wine and skipped the meal!
This little lounge doubles up tor the breakfast room (continental) which I couldn't fault.
On the down side the hotel could do with a bit of a revamp to some of the wallpaper which looks like it's been there one winter too long in places, despite being very clean. We never got round to exploring the pool etc so can't comment there. We would happily recommend it and go there again.

Reviewed by
r davies

From Wales
Who stayed in February 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Loved it
A rely nice hotel it's rooms are lovely the staff very helpful the only thing was their gave me and my boyfreind twin beds pushed together didn't say anything cause still slept amazingly and will defo be staying again :D

Reviewed by
H Tickner

From Waltham Abbey, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very good hotel
An excellent hotel-centrally located with great staff

Reviewed by
M Rees

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We upgraded our room but the executive lounge tables were too small to eat off

Reviewed by
A Owen

From Merthyr Tydfil, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9