No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Thoresby Hall Hotel & Spa (Half Board)

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Thoresby Park Nr Ollerton, Nottinghamshire, NG22 9WH
Thoresby Hall is as lush and ornate an example of a Victoriana as you can imagine. Magnificently restored by Warner Leisure Hotels in 1998, its turrets, balustrades, gabled tower and finely-wrought iron gates are perfect reminders of the exuberance of 19th century architecture. The interior of Thoresby Hall is a sheer delight. Entering beneath the stunning central tower, a wide staircase takes you to the Great Hall. Thoresby Hall has a huge range of things to do. With a croquet lawn, bowls, full Spa facilities (available at an extra cost), indoor heated pool, and many other indoor and outdoor activities; there’s always something to keep you busy if you want to be! We aim to do everything we can to help you relax, unwind and fully enjoy the fantastic facilities we have to offer. On a Warner Leisure Hotels short break there's live entertainment every night with breakfast, three course dinner and accommodation all included in the price. Please note all our breaks are for adults only. All members of the party must be over 21 years of age.

Picture of Thoresby Hall Hotel & Spa (Half Board), Nottinghamshire at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 11 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
81% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Expecting something a little different
I am not particularly a clean maniac, but when arriving in the room and finding hair in the bath tub I wouldn't add it to that category. I was expecting to be in the main hall rooms (especially for the price I've paid) and instead we were placed in another part of the hotel - which resembled much like your standard 3* hotel. Also - no WiFi in the room also came as a complete surprise, and the food was nothing to die for. It was simply not worth the huge amount of money spent on a weekend break... and also.... perhaps it was simply a coincidence but we were the only couple below the 65yrs old mark.... which this also came as a complete shock and completely unexpected. I would strongly advise the Hotel to mention this clearly somewhere in their website as a young couple could find themselves a little displaced (to be precise - I have nothing against the elderdy, actually I absolutely adore them but perhaps not on a romantic weekend break).
Many Thanks

Reviewed by
Alex B

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great customer service

Reviewed by
A Hurst

From Mansfield, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Walk like a man weekend
Stayed in an Historic Room which was first class. Lovely views over gardens and very quiet. Ate in the Blue room one night which was well worth the extra. "Walk like a Man" was the entertainment on the Saturday evening and they had the room swinging and singing aloud. A very enjoyable time was had by all. Can't fault Thoresby Hall Hotel with all their amenities. Well worth a visit.

Reviewed by
A Smith

From Melton Mowbray, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Entertainment team were excellent. Beautiful hotel.

Reviewed by
Pauline C

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It's like a cruise on dry land
I booked this hotel last minute as a birthday treat. When we arrived there was a long queue of people checking in so we had to wait a while. The receptionists service was very good although they couldn't find our booking and we had to wait about 20 mins to get sorted. We unpacked and went down to the pool and spa area. The pool and jacuzzi were colder than we would have expected and the steam room and sauna could only seat 6 people at a time. The clientele of this hotel were generally of retirement age so it did feel like we were on a cruise on dry land. The evening meal and breakfast were of an acceptable standard and the service was fairly good. The evening entertainment was certainly geared towards the older generation which we found funny. Had I known Warner hotels really cater for the more mature client I would have stayed elsewhere.

Reviewed by
Kathleen A

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb as always

Reviewed by
L Ward

From Skegness, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic break. Booked another whilst we were there .

Reviewed by
Paul M

From Oldham, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean and tidy
Ventilation poor only able to leave door to balcony open at night - not good esp on ground floor
Duvet net helpful when room stuffy at night as either on or off

Reviewed by
Peter M

From Wolverhampton, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

we were given one of the suites in the main house, room was large, very comfortable and traditionally furnished, attached sitting room was a nice addition

Reviewed by
a bailey

From nottingham, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyed it very much

Reviewed by
V Herdman

From Worksop, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next