No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - New Inn Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
16 Northgate Street , Gloucester, GL1 1SF
The New Inn Hotel is situated in the heart of Gloucester and dates back to the 14th-century, it is considered to be the finest medieval galleried inn in Britain and has been beautifully restored and refurbished. There are 33 ensuite rooms featuring exposed beams & original features, TV and tea and coffee making facilities.

The Grill Restaurant serves a carvery and British menu in charming surroundings. There are 4 bars, including the award-winning Real Ale Bar, offering up to 12 cask ales. There is also a coffee shop serving homemade cakes and speciality teas.

This historical building was used by pilgrims visiting Gloucester Cathedral, which is just 300 metres away. East Gate Shopping Centre is just 2 minutes’ walk away, and Gloucester Railway Station is a 5-minute walk. Cheltenham is less than 10 miles away and Cotswold villages surround the area.

Picture of New Inn Hotel, Gloucester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 140 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
72% recommended this accommodation to a friend 73% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Awesome
Love it!! If we have to stay in Gloucester again The New inn it will be! Late room just needs to update parking details.

Reviewed by
Louise Moody

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent character inn
The room was in a very old inn of remarkable character. There is no on-site parking, but the character of the building more than made up for that.
Excellent breakfast.
Room full of old beams, but warm and comfortable.

Reviewed by
Andrew H

From Gaerwen, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fantastic stay
Me and my husband had a great time at the new inn hotel the room was great and the food was good if your going away for the weekend you don't even need to go off site as they have there own night club for over 25 but if you do go off site you have the high street that lights up at night with the clubs and pubs 😊

Reviewed by
P O'Shea

From Sutton Coldfield, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Quirky place
Been here before so knew what to expect. Extremely picturesque town centre inn with history.
The room we were in was a bit tired decoration wise with creaky floorboards but hey! Its hundreds of years old. The shower room was clean and modern plus the bed was comfy and clean.
We slept great even though it was a Saturday night with lots going on downstairs.
Breakfast buffet was not my cup of tea but that's just my personal taste, my better half had no complaints nor did many others.
All the staff in my humble opinion are a credit to the inn, they actually act like they give a damn unlike many places I have visited.
If driving be very careful not to park on top of the shopping centre as you will need to be there at 7am to pay for parking or be fined.
I wouldn't hesitate to return when next in the area.

Reviewed by
glynn sharkey

From Barrow upon Humber, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

October City Break
We had an excellent stay at the New Inn. Parking, which was a concern was not a problem at all. The staff were all very welcoming and our room lacked nothing. We tried the restaurant and had beautifully cooked meals. The bar was friendly and offered an alternative dining experience from the same kitchen. We wanted to stay in an historical coaching inn and we got exactly what we wanted. The New Inn is centrally located for those exploring Gloucester and handy for the tourist information centre just a few hundred yards away. We also found it easy to hop on a bus to Cheltenham for the day, the bus operating from next to the Bruton Way Car Park. Our decision to stay for three nights was perfect.

Reviewed by
G Proffitt

From Shrewsbury, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quaint honest place with charm, its old so dont expect moderrn perks
Delightful hotel have stayed here 3 times before ,this time under relatively new owners ,rooms charming although could do with looking at the cleaning regime ,could do with dusting and hoovering with a little more care ,rooms lovely and warm ,clean beds and towels ,plenty of hot water.
The only problem encountered was with the parking ,previously had used car park behind the New Inn but now its a different one (which in actual fact is only 5 mins away) but not nice to walk from car park to hotel after dropping luggage off on my own as a woman ,walking through streets with local youths on bikes drinking beer staring at you.
Breakfast ....not best have ever had ,slow to fill up hot items ,very sparse .not a lot of choice ..shame really .
But I will return next year as the location is perfect and is a good price ,staff friendly ,bar good .

Reviewed by
H SMITH

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Old and full of charactor
An ancient building in the centre of Gloucester. Don't visit if you only like straight walls. But if you enjoy wonky stairs and floors this is for you. A pleasant place to stay and good value.

Reviewed by
S Stoodley

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A hotel with character
The hotel was in the centre of the shopping area. The staff were very helpful and the breakfast was excellent. The whole hotel was full of character. Parking was off site but secure and you get a discount. I would recommend this hotel.

Reviewed by
michael gough

From mansfield, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This place needs attention
I don't know where some of the other reviewers stayed, but it doesn't sound like this place.
The bed was dire - springs sticking in me all night
Significant maintenance - urgent not expensive is needed to protect the building from the weather - some of the roof wood is already rotten.
Breakfast was poor and service also poor
On the positive side, the live band, which I was doubtful about were very good, and the beer well kept. More than one variety of sandwich in the bar would be a good idea, although maybe the rest had just been taken.
A little TLC and effort would solve most of the problems.

Reviewed by
Andrew F

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not the cleanest of accommodation

Reviewed by
P Auburn

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next