Reviews - New Inn Hotel


16 Northgate Street, Gloucester, GL1 1SF

Price From 89.30 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (84)

73% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Annette L

  • November 2015


What a fantastic experience.

From the moment we turned off the high street into the medieval courtyard we were spell bound, I felt like I had walked onto a film set. Had not even checked in and booked again for the following weekend. The accommodation was quirky, not a level floor or upright wall, clean functional room, breakfast was a cold & hot buffet which was plentiful and hearty.

The bar and evening entertainment mixing with all the 'locals' was memorable.

  • Lesley R

  • October 2015

beautiful old hotel

The building is beautiful...has to be seen.

right in the middle of town. lovely room, great shower, big comfy bed. Lovely breakfast, helpful staff. i would highly recommend it. only downside was a machine of some sort presumably a fan for the kitchen or something, coming on at 6.30 am

  • Richard M

  • October 2015

Medieval wonder

Amazing place to stay and know people have been doing so for 600 years....Handy for the city....good food.

  • P williams

  • August 2015

Brilliant Weekend

A little apprehensive when read comments about the noise from the karaoke late at night.

We stayed in Room 220 which was spacious, clean and peaceful. The gulls were there, but their serenading became a background noise very quickly - it was a sunny day and we had the window open. Gloucester is a lovely city to walk around. The New Inn is central to all you would wish to see. The shops, the cafes & restaurants and the heritage sites. The karaoke and the "characters" in the courtyard were so entertaining that we stayed "out" till gone 01:00. Please breakfast was served until 10:00 - food balanced choice and very good.

  • Steve B

  • June 2015

15th Century Inn

Historically interesting and friendly staff.

Best described as an eclectic experience

  • Dominic m

  • May 2015

Great location

Only minus was car parking was 5-7 min walk from hotel.

Pub food was great, hotel room and bathroom was big and both warm.

  • Paul Hilton

  • April 2015

Tudor jem

We was blown away with the fabulous room and the shower, the history of the new inn and the mixture of the pub and the club together was brilliant, very friendly atmosphere, the only drawback as I'm sure plenty of other people may have commented on is that you can't park there , buts a small price to pay for such a lovely hotel

  • Jeanette Fletcher

  • April 2015


Decor is dated and a bit tatty

  • Karan C

  • April 2015

Town centre stay

We stayed overnight and found the accommodation suited this requirement.

Food was excellent and good value for money, breakfast was a help yourself buffet so could have as much as you wanted. For anyone needing a central stopover who doesn't mind a bit of late night noise then this is ideal. Parking is not easy with being a good 10 minute walk away and paying £3.50 just to park overnight is a bit steep. Accommodation itself was good as long as you remember this is a very old building. Overall we were happy but not likely to stay again as we like to stay in quieter locations but for a last minute booking this was a good choice and would recommend for an overnight stay in Gloucester.

  • V Ward

  • April 2015

Excellent facilities. Problematic if disabled due to distance from car park. Not troubled by music.