No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - New Inn Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
16 Northgate Street , Gloucester, GL1 1SF
The New Inn Hotel is situated in the heart of Gloucester and dates back to the 14th-century, it is considered to be the finest medieval galleried inn in Britain and has been beautifully restored and refurbished. There are 33 ensuite rooms featuring exposed beams & original features, TV and tea and coffee making facilities.

The Grill Restaurant serves a carvery and British menu in charming surroundings. There are 4 bars, including the award-winning Real Ale Bar, offering up to 12 cask ales. There is also a coffee shop serving homemade cakes and speciality teas.

This historical building was used by pilgrims visiting Gloucester Cathedral, which is just 300 metres away. East Gate Shopping Centre is just 2 minutes’ walk away, and Gloucester Railway Station is a 5-minute walk. Cheltenham is less than 10 miles away and Cotswold villages surround the area.

Picture of New Inn Hotel, Gloucester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 138 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
72% recommended this accommodation to a friend 73% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quaint honest place with charm, its old so dont expect moderrn perks
Delightful hotel have stayed here 3 times before ,this time under relatively new owners ,rooms charming although could do with looking at the cleaning regime ,could do with dusting and hoovering with a little more care ,rooms lovely and warm ,clean beds and towels ,plenty of hot water.
The only problem encountered was with the parking ,previously had used car park behind the New Inn but now its a different one (which in actual fact is only 5 mins away) but not nice to walk from car park to hotel after dropping luggage off on my own as a woman ,walking through streets with local youths on bikes drinking beer staring at you.
Breakfast ....not best have ever had ,slow to fill up hot items ,very sparse .not a lot of choice ..shame really .
But I will return next year as the location is perfect and is a good price ,staff friendly ,bar good .

Reviewed by
H SMITH

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Old and full of charactor
An ancient building in the centre of Gloucester. Don't visit if you only like straight walls. But if you enjoy wonky stairs and floors this is for you. A pleasant place to stay and good value.

Reviewed by
S Stoodley

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A hotel with character
The hotel was in the centre of the shopping area. The staff were very helpful and the breakfast was excellent. The whole hotel was full of character. Parking was off site but secure and you get a discount. I would recommend this hotel.

Reviewed by
michael gough

From mansfield, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This place needs attention
I don't know where some of the other reviewers stayed, but it doesn't sound like this place.
The bed was dire - springs sticking in me all night
Significant maintenance - urgent not expensive is needed to protect the building from the weather - some of the roof wood is already rotten.
Breakfast was poor and service also poor
On the positive side, the live band, which I was doubtful about were very good, and the beer well kept. More than one variety of sandwich in the bar would be a good idea, although maybe the rest had just been taken.
A little TLC and effort would solve most of the problems.

Reviewed by
Andrew F

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not the cleanest of accommodation

Reviewed by
P Auburn

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very poor - do not intend to stay there again
The recommended car park is a good 10-15 minutes walk, the details said £2.50 for 24 hours and I was charged £10.20 for overnight, the room was next to the kitchen extractor fans and very noisy (there is a list at reception of noisy rooms - do not accept one of them), the bed was lumpy and uncomfortable, the shower attachment could not maintain water temperature, there was mould around the bath - and reception couldn't care less when I complained about the room.

Reviewed by
Ian M

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not recommended
Unless you are up for a very drunken, noisy party all night long evening, give this one a miss. Room was a good size but dirty, with used cosmetics left in the bathroom. Beds were not made up properly, no pillow slips or top sheets. Extremely noisy, lots of drunken potty mouth people all around. We won't be rushing back.

Reviewed by
S Brooks

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staying in a slice of history
It was a wonderful opportunity to stay in an almost 500 year old building. A charming experience and one to value.

Reviewed by
M Stewart

From Ryde, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A fantastic room in a lovely unique hotel. If only we didn't need to get up fairly early to be somewhere Sunday morning. I did know about the noise beforehand and would stay again but probably mid week. Staff were very helpful as we needed to get breakfast before it officially started and the evening meal was really nice and good value for money.

Reviewed by
P RICHARDS

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

M.J.Davies
finding a place to park to park to unload luggage not easy in a strange city and then to find the recommended car park

Reviewed by
Marcus D

From Midhurst, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next