Reviews - Ye Olde Red Lion Hotel


97 Queen Victoria St, Gwent,, Tredegar, NP22 3PX

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (14)

43% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • D Lewis

  • August 2015

Ye olde title shouldn't reflect the rooms

I booked a double room and 3 hours later I arrived to be told that the room shouldn't have been able to be booked.

The lady on reception did her best to sort the room out and I was told it had been water logged due to an open sky light. Putting this issue aside the room was a twin. Not what I had ordered. The heater was dented and the walls had mould on them it was in a bad state of repair. The coffee and tea facility in the hall looked in a terrible state and I was reluctant to sample this.

The smell in the room was close to unbearable but I put this down to the water damage. The staff were friendly and I had a good night having a drink in the bar which as a guest was subsidised a little (bonus)

In the morning I was Awoken by a staff member coming into the room. Not a nice wake up call.

In all I have to say it wasn't the best experience.

  • Jade W

  • March 2015

Ye Olde Red Lion Hotel

Lovely stay, staff and owners really friendly, thought was cheap.

  • Ian Purkis

  • October 2014

A handy stop over but a lack of lighting in the pub !

More lighting needed in the pub !

  • J Edwards

  • September 2014

Not a bad hotel for the price we paid

Friendly staff, average price for hotel standard.

We got what we paid for. Room was somewhere to rest our head for the night, not for those who want luxury, but a basic accommodation

  • m jefferies

  • September 2014

one night stay

The room was dusty and the facilities were all in the corridor.

That was a new experience for

me and I didn't like it

  • G Nevett

  • September 2014

Smokers welcome

At £45 a night for a couple,ideal if you're passing through or as a touring base.You are within a one hour drive of all the industrial heritage sites and the Welsh Show Caves.We got an excellent reception from the owners and the regulars.Guests get discounted food and drinks(free pint if you order a curry).The food is excellent and the beers are well kept.Rooms are basic but clean with double glazing and good ventilation so no problem if you're a non-smoker.Key provided for alternate entrance when the main entrance is closed.Live band on Saturday and Karaoke Sunday and Monday.All in all,a very enjoyable week.

  • Anthony H

  • August 2014

Cheap and clean room in a run-down town

The room was clean and in a reasonable state of repair, although the pub itself looks shabby.

There was also karaoke in the bar till late, but my room was far enough down the corridor that it didn't bother me. I cannot comment on the food because I arrived too late to have dinner (last orders 7.30pm) and there was no breakfast in the morning - indeed the whole place was shut and I had to leave by a side door. The town itself (Tredegar) is very run down and was rowdy on Saturday night. I was afraid of what might happen to my car, though in fact it was not damaged. I would not want to recommend the hotel to anyone, not so much because of the room but because I didn't feel safe in the town, though I must say that nothing bad actually happened to me.

  • Helen L

  • August 2014

Good value and good location

A good value place to stay the night.

Rooms are perfectly adequate and the bar is very friendly. I wouldn't recommend the food though and wouldn't have liked to be staying there with young children.

  • S Wood-Antill

  • August 2014

Rough and ready

The hotel is generally in a poor state, everything is worn and dirty.

Beer not bad.

  • Alun H

  • June 2014

ye old red lion tredegar. Review

Excellent value for money.

Nice room. Good tv. Quiet. Rest of hotel could do with the facelift eg. Public toilets but the rooms are really fine. Coffee machine on landing noisy. Best to put refreshments in room.