No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - YE OLDE RED LION HOTEL

2Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
97 QUEEN VICTORIA ST, TREDEGAR, NP22 3PX
A small hotel run by the same family for over ten years. All bedrooms are en-suite and have air conditioning. Good choice of hot drinks available, Hair dryer and TV as standard. Our double room also offers corner jacuzzi bath. Our restaurant offers a selection of all your favourite food including sausage and mash, lasagne, currys, fish, steaks and our very own homemade chili con carne, pies and bolagnaise. We pride ourselves in making your stay as stress free and enjoyable as possible as we understand it can be difficult staying away from family and friends for any period of time. This why you can always find things to do at the hotel from accessing the internet using wifi, watching premiership and champions league football or giving a song on the karaoke. We hope you give us a try and we look forward to seeing you.
Picture of YE OLDE RED LION HOTEL, TREDEGAR at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 24 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
40% recommended this accommodation to a friend 46% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

one night stay
The room was dusty and the facilities were all in the corridor. That was a new experience for
me and I didn't like it

Reviewed by
m jefferies

From nuneaton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Smokers welcome
At £45 a night for a couple,ideal if you're passing through or as a touring base.You are within a one hour drive of all the industrial heritage sites and the Welsh Show Caves.We got an excellent reception from the owners and the regulars.Guests get discounted food and drinks(free pint if you order a curry).The food is excellent and the beers are well kept.Rooms are basic but clean with double glazing and good ventilation so no problem if you're a non-smoker.Key provided for alternate entrance when the main entrance is closed.Live band on Saturday and Karaoke Sunday and Monday.All in all,a very enjoyable week.

Reviewed by
G Nevett

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap and clean room in a run-down town
The room was clean and in a reasonable state of repair, although the pub itself looks shabby. There was also karaoke in the bar till late, but my room was far enough down the corridor that it didn't bother me.
I cannot comment on the food because I arrived too late to have dinner (last orders 7.30pm) and there was no breakfast in the morning - indeed the whole place was shut and I had to leave by a side door.
The town itself (Tredegar) is very run down and was rowdy on Saturday night. I was afraid of what might happen to my car, though in fact it was not damaged. I would not want to recommend the hotel to anyone, not so much because of the room but because I didn't feel safe in the town, though I must say that nothing bad actually happened to me.

Reviewed by
Anthony H

From Oxford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value and good location
A good value place to stay the night. Rooms are perfectly adequate and the bar is very friendly. I wouldn't recommend the food though and wouldn't have liked to be staying there with young children.

Reviewed by
Helen L

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rough and ready
The hotel is generally in a poor state, everything is worn and dirty.
Beer not bad.

Reviewed by
S Wood-Antill

From Loughborough, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not a bad hotel for the price we paid
Friendly staff, average price for hotel standard. We got what we paid for. Room was somewhere to rest our head for the night, not for those who want luxury, but a basic accommodation

Reviewed by
J Edwards

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A handy stop over but a lack of lighting in the pub !
More lighting needed in the pub !

Reviewed by
Ian Purkis

From LOUGHBOROUGH, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ineed of a lick of paint
Dirty looking pub ,room needs a coat of paint ,
Drink machine in corridor
Breakfast to late at 9am
Noise from bar
Glass in fire door cracked and wedged open.

Reviewed by
I Hamilton

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

ye old red lion tredegar. Review
Excellent value for money. Nice room. Good tv. Quiet. Rest of hotel could do with the facelift eg. Public toilets but the rooms are really fine. Coffee machine on landing noisy. Best to put refreshments in room.

Reviewed by
Alun H

From Ilford, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

For 30 pound anight it was worth it .However a lick of paint and a kettle in the room and breakfast would easily double the price if not more . Friendly staff nice bar down stairs . The coffee machine on the landing was noisy especially first thing in morning . Over all value for money and would stay again ...

Reviewed by
Neil B

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next