No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hedgefield House

4Visit England Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
Hedgefield House, Stella Road Ryton, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE21 4LR
Welcome to Hedgefield House, a stunning Georgian mansion set in four acres of beautiful award- winning gardens, on the edge of the Northumbrian countryside. The house has a colourful history, prior to being converted into guest accommodation. Dating back to 1804, we have documented evidence that Hedgefield House was the first home in Britain to have a telephone installed. In 1877, the inventor of the telephone, Alexander Graham Bell, made the first experimental phone call from the drawing room to the local coal mine. We are ideally situated only 10 minutes from the city centre and Gateshead Metro shopping complex and 10 minutes walk to historic Ryton village, with its numerous cafes and restaurants. We are also only a short distance from the River Tyne and the Hadrian’s Wall walk. Its location makes it perfect for hikers, bikers and city visitors. All en-suite rooms are decorated and furnished in lavish French Louis style and are well equipped, maintaining many original features. A continental breakfast is also included. We have great leisure facilities for our guests to use, including a sauna, gym and relaxation area. Free parking is available for guests.
Picture of Hedgefield House, Newcastle Upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 36 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A hidden treasure in newcastle
An absolutely beautiful tranquil place, the owner David was very accommodating and obliging, some very unusual furniture, fixtures and fittings, a really unusual and quirky place. The grounds are beautifully manicured and kitted out with some unusual but fabulous wind sculptures, we didn't get up in time for breakfast because of our late arrival back at the house (we stayed New Year's Eve!!!') however the breakfast room looked splendid full of period fittings, will definitely be back and would highly recommend. Fabulous place.

Reviewed by
Barry H

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hedgefield House
Friendly staff, lovely grounds, nice area, only let down was the continental breakfast, apart from that our stay was lovely.

Reviewed by
Stephen L

From Morpeth, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

1 night stay
The room was a touch small for £69 a night but was very clean and quiet. The shared bathrooms were very nicely decorated but the shower was as weak as a kitten and getting the temperature right was a bit of an art form. The host was very nice when we saw him and gave clear instructions on what key was for what etc. I would stay again but I do like a good power shower in the morning to blow off the cobwebs

Reviewed by
Aaron T

From Bacup, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beats staying at bland hotel chains nearby
Ever since we ditched staying at chains, our nights have got better! This hotel was lovely, festive and offered a great sized room with a brilliant continental breakfast at around 30% less than nearby hotels. The service was personable, free parking was on offer and it was less than a mile from where I needed to be. This place will surprise you - it is lovely! Even perfect for leisure and dare I say it, ... romantic weekends away! :)

Reviewed by
S SHARMA

From Loughborough, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What A Find...!
Brilliant breakfast. Ultra clean bed linen. Lovely House.
Recommend to anyone.

Reviewed by
Joe Murphy

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very interesting place to stay
Lovely old house, close to all the amenities. Didn't have time to sample the breakfast, but if it was anything like the quality of the room, it must be special.

Reviewed by
Ian Deumayne-Jones

From Bridgnorth, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

quaint and comfortable
It was clean and tidy and decorated nicely. However the walls are quite thin between the rooms;the neighbours were fairly chatty.

Reviewed by
Emily B

From London, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb
A very clean well presented room, lovely place will be back !

Reviewed by
Elaine A

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quaint and comfortable
Lovely hotel away from the hustle and bustle of the city of Newcastle. The room and shared bathrooms were done to an exceptionally high standard. The only thing I would say (and this is a matter of personal choice!) is that I would have preferred a larger duvet for the bed as my boyfriend hogged the duvet! The continental breakfast was enjoyable and the staff were pleasant and welcoming. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would certainly stay there again.

Reviewed by
Jessica B

From Tarporley, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hedgefield House
Would recommend this hotel to anyone. A real find.
Staff are really helpful and friendly. Great breakfast in the morning
Good pub nearby for the an evening meal and a really nice Italian Restaurant nearby

Reviewed by
Tom K

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next