Reviews - Plas Derwen

4

MONMOUTH ROAD, ABERGAVENNY, NP7 9SP

Price From 121.06 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (25)

88% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • S Warrell

  • January 2016

Looking a bit tired

We had a lovely stay, with excellent service.

The breakfast was great and everything was clean. Unfortunately, the whole place looked in need of a refurbishment. The seats in the bar were worn with fabric peeling off them. Paintwork was knocked and battered, our wardrobe had no doors.

  • R Simmonds

  • January 2016

Great Hotel with brilliant restaurant

Great stay good room and a great evening meals really adventurous and 5 Star quality

  • Timothy M

  • January 2016

Last minute stopover

Booked the day before we stayed.

Warm & friendly welcome, the room was spacious and spotlessly clean. Bed very comfortable. Our room was in the courtyard but it's only a tiny way from the entrance so it's no inconvenience even though it was raining. The advantage of it was we could park right outside so carrying luggage was easy. Our evening meal and breakfast were both excellent, a big plus on arrival was the beer that was available on tap in the bar - "The Reverend James" - lovely. Would definitely stay again.

  • Gareth D

  • December 2015

Lovely, atmospheric, characterful property.

Helpful, friendly staff. Very comfortable room. Great evening meal and breakfast.

  • John F

  • December 2015

An excellent experience

Arrived on dark wet evening and were delighted with appearance, ambience and warm welcome.

Our room was lovely and warm, spacious, and had every amenity we required. Easy parking close to our room. The breakfast was wonderful, - good selection of fruit and cereals, a superb choice of cooked food - beautifully cooked and presented. The staff were efficient and so pleasant. The breakfast area was welcoming and cheerful. We look forward to our next stay.

  • Michael Cotton

  • June 2015

The welcome on a hectic Father's Day for the hotel was warm and we found our room comfortable with a lovely mountain view

The breakfast was excellent and the manageress could not do enough for us.

  • Ceri S

  • June 2015

A birthday treat

We stayed here for one night as we had booked a restaurant nearby.

The room was very clean and the bed comfy. The breakfast was lovely and plenty of it. Their menu for lunch and evening meal looked very good and will definitely go back to try it.

  • James G

  • April 2015

We were very plesantly suprised by the big room which was tastefully decorated and very clean.

The staff were all very nice and friendly, good breakfast choices and great atmosphere in the bar.

  • Martin P

  • March 2015

Great place

We had a nice large and clean room.

The breakfast was very nice and the evening meal was excellent. Service was good and very friendly. Would definitely recommend.

  • S Williams

  • March 2015

Pleasant Stay

Nice enough place for a short stay.

All rooms appear to have external doors only, and no porches (which meant cold air entering the room on opening). The heating hadn't been switched on in our room prior to arrival, but it warmed up nicely as soon as we turned on the radiators. Also, the only window in our room (the cheapest one available probably) was a skylight, which made for a slightly odd ambiance. Smartly decorated, and very clean though. The only food we ate was the breakfast included in the room price - standard breakfast fayre really, although disappointingly no effort had been made to cater for the vegan diet we had requested. Is it really so difficult for hotels to purchase non-dairy milk for tea these days. Plus - top tip for hotel catering staff - Linda McCartney's sausages are vegan-friendly, so if you buy these as your 'regular' vegetarian breakfast sausages, you'll be able to cater for vegans too!