No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Plas Derwen

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
MONMOUTH ROAD , ABERGAVENNY, NP7 9SP
Here at Plas Derwen we pride ourselves on offering fantastic quality. From the standard of our food, to the atmosphere and seclusion of our wonderful gardens, and our contemporary boutique bedrooms. Situated on the foothills of the Brecon Beacons National Park, we are ideally located to take advantage of all the area has to offer, whether you're looking for good food, an afternoon with friends in the sun, or a short activity break.

We have 10 en suite guest bedrooms ranging from well appointed doubles and twins to larger family rooms that can sleep up to 4. Each room is fitted with a plasma screen TV, and other facilities including play stations, DVD players and tea and coffee making facilities. We have 4 bedrooms in our main building which have great views of the surrounding countryside and are named after the hills and mountains visable from the windows. The stables have 6 bedrooms all on one level with an adapted bedroom with extra facilities for wheelchair use.
Picture of Plas Derwen, ABERGAVENNY at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 31 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly staff and good food

Reviewed by
Colm O'Rourke

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Throughly Enjoyable.
I had booked the room sometime ago, I then changed it for my daughter to join me. Nothing was too much trouble. We had a family get together on the saturday night and that was great. Some of the family were staying over with us. My sister was a bit cramped with 4 of them in the room, but they managed.

Reviewed by
Sandra D

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Plas Derwen
Very good service and food.

Reviewed by
M Whitton

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very pleasant place to stay in a lovely location
The room was perfectly nice and the staff were beyond helpful due to our weird dietary requirements. It was in a lovely place and very close to the main town (like 10 minutes walk) but far enough for you to feel alone in the country. Lovely place.

Reviewed by
B Smith

From Wigan, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An Enjoyable Stay
Thoroughly enjoyable stay, very pleasant staff and atmosphere. Not too intrusive but always willing to help. Food was great and the beer was nice too. Good location for the local town and further afield, easy to find also.

Reviewed by
Paul Phillips

From Bilston, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Large comfortable rooms in a convenient location
Situated on A40 and within easy walking distance of railway station therefore easy to find. As the guest rooms tucked away behind pub/restaurant they are in a quiet location. Very large, clean stylish room with very comfortable king-sized bed and sofa. Good shower and bath. Two areas that I was not happy with = no net curtains so you have to close the curtains and have the lights on; and breakfast service does not start until 7.30am (although the receptionist kindly made me some toast and coffee and the cereal and fruit was ready a bit earlier than that). I would certainly stay here again.

Reviewed by
Mary G

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

experience
Grubby. In need of an update.

Reviewed by
E Allan

From Perth, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

comfortable nights stay
well located, large rooms, informal, food good but lacks presentation, reasonably priced

Reviewed by
Bruce G

From Chipping Campden, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An outstanding experience
Staff, rooms, everything were excellent. A good location to strike out for local tourist experiences of which there are many - as far as Stonehenge which we did easily in a day
Unreservedly recommend

Reviewed by
M Scott

From Bordon, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reasonable value, comfortable and friendly staff
Although on main road I had room at rear of hotel and not bothered by any noise. In fact very peaceful. Room good size although shower and bathroom little "dated" but all clean and comfortable.
Dinner reasonable for this level of hotel but beers and breakfast good.

Reviewed by
Norman M

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next