No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Close House

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Close House Estate, Heddon-on-the-Wall, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE15 0HT
Close House is set in stunning Northumberland countryside. Located less than 8 miles from Newcastle airport and from central Newcastle, Britain’s biggest shopping centre the Metro Centre, it’s the perfect venue for business, leisure and corporate guests.

There are also picture-perfect grounds to explore, plus a multitude of attractions on our doorstep, including Northumberland National Park, Alnwick Castle, and Hadrian’s Wall.

Our facilities include: complimentary high speed internet access, 16 rooms luxurious appointed bedrooms, dine in our contemporary No19 Restaurant, open daily from 7am to 9.00pm which has some of the best produce Northumberland has to offer.

In addition we also have two 18 hole golf courses, a state of the art driving range, golf academy and Lee Westwood as our attached Tour Professional.
Picture of Close House, Newcastle Upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 16 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Luxury
Lovely hotel. Fine furnishings, great food and service.
Will return.

Reviewed by
K Hall

From Darlington, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Already rebooked to stay again
We stayed on Friday night and have already rebooked to stay again 5⭐️

Reviewed by
Paul M

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A must for a quiet romantic night away
Absolute gem of a place. Stayed in the Courtyard. Wonderful room, on a par with any room ive ever stayed in. Big comfortable bed, two sofas, large TV, varying degrees of lighting, and the bathroom - wow!!! And the food in the restaurant was top class too, and value for money. Highly recommend Close House!!

Reviewed by
N Strike

From Gateshead, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel location and accommodation block absolutely stunning, rooms are large and luxurious very relaxing setting only a stones throw from Newcastle.
Only down side is the the bar menu is limited especially for vegetarians, the breakfast options were great. All the food was presented to a very high standard.
Also for a luxury hotel is would have been nice to have had slippers.
But the above were only very minor faults, would most definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Emma G

From Cambridge, England
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stayed one night for class reunion. Excellent room.Tranquill surroundings. no complaints.

Reviewed by
M Kokri

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very disappointed that the main house and restaurant was not available. Had to walk outside to get to the 19 to purchase very basic food.
The food was good and wholesome but not what we wanted to late to go any where else.
I wish they could have told us before hand.

Reviewed by
patricia e

From Barton upon Humber, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Fabulous Stay
Our room in the courtyard was exquisitely decorated and furnished. The bed was so luxurious we could have stayed there all day!! Melvin the concierge was so very helpful and good humoured when he showed us to our room after our long journey. The hotel is in a wonderful setting and the grounds are beautifully maintained. We only wish we had been able to stay longer but hope to make it back before too long.

Reviewed by
S Parker

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Close house
We were the only residents, everything was fine other than late for dinner in town as we couldn't get out if the car park. No response from hotel, apology or otherwise.
Everything else was very good.

Reviewed by
J Maclachlan

From Burton on Trent, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic rooms and great staff
One of the biggest and best hotel rooms I have stayed in. The staff at all levels were great but found dinner a bit expensive and only ok. All told a lovely country house hotel I would recommend to anyone.

Reviewed by
J McGhee

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It was hard to boil kettle and make a drink with position of plug. Think we should have asked for a synthetic duvet or it may have been hay fever allergy. Staff were very helpful at finding maps and footpath info.

Reviewed by
Ann W

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next