No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Smiths Hotel

2Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Smiths Hotel 963 Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow, G3 7TQ
Housed in an elegant Victorian terrace in Glasgow’s Sauchiehall Street, The Smiths Hotel in Glasgow is an independent, family-run establishment offering patrons comfortable bed and breakfast accommodation at budget rates in one of city’s most exclusive quarters. Guestrooms are available in various configurations ranging from single basic to family en-suite, each meeting accommodation requirements for business travellers, individuals, groups and families visiting Glasgow.
** FREE FIBRE OPTIC WI-FI NOW AVAILABLE IN ALL ROOMS **
Picture of Smiths Hotel, Glasgow at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 108 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
53% recommended this accommodation to a friend 58% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

room was a lot less than i expected
when i booked i was led to believe that i was saving well over 100 sterling
the room was very small,the bed supposedly a double would not have fitted 2 of me
the tv didn't work, the plug for the basin was missing, the toilets and showers were some distance away.
I thought I was getting a great deal, I was wrong.

Reviewed by
mark bloxham

From hereford, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Suited me perfectly.
Arrived late just for the one night. Lovely bloke on reception, very helpful and friendly. I saw nothing to warrant some of the negative comments on here. Decent sized room, hot shower, comfy bed, parking, and breakfast served from 7am. Ideal for a stop off if heading to the Highlands, or if in Glasgow for a night or two. Will definitely be back.

Reviewed by
Michael J

From London, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Small room with confortable beds
Room quite small but comfortable beds.
The window didn't close properly.
The room was a good price for the friday, but too expensive for the saturday so I spent only 1 night at smiths hotel.

Reviewed by
Mourrat Sophie

From tours, France
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money
Hotel is old fashioned and basic but value for money(£27p/n) and can't beat the location.

Reviewed by
Aimee M

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would be OK for Hobbits
Room and bed were very small, my wife and I are both 5'11" so to see what looked like a 3/4 size bed hard against the wall with only enough room to open the door we were very disappointed.
Thought we were in an ensuite room but was a communal bathroom but that may have been my fault on booking.
Staff were very nice all round but quality and size of room, along with the price paid spoiled our stay.
The bathroom was very nice and looked like it had been recently installed but they had left the old unpainted door still in place which spoiled it totally and wouldn't have taken much to get it up to the standard of the rest of the bathroom.
Breakfast was very nice and service was quick and efficient.

Reviewed by
Robert Millar

From Leven, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Needs TLC if you care about customers returning or recommendations!
I don't mind basic but I spent as little time as possible in this room. Toilet was out of room shared with others and I climbed over a guest sitting on floor in hall talking on a mobile, shower x 2 in another part of the floor shared with others. Net curtains in room crushed dirty grey with complimentary cigarette burns as was the valance on the bed and parts of the carpet. Sheets clean but the state of repair, dirty paint, decor, curtains, sink in room, chipped wood - If it was clean!- I did not feel clean and glad to get out of it in the morning. However I was loathing the thought of breakfast but glad I had a look! service was fairly decent and quick and the choice and quality of food was surprisingly good with staff working hard. As I said I don't mind basic as I paid for very basic £43!!! but make the rooms a little more pleasant to palate by replacing the disgusting old and burnt items and paint the place! On another positive Taxi was ordered and arrived within 10 mins!

Reviewed by
D Jones

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My room was horrible, when I made the booking it did not state shared bathroom. I had a shower room down one corridor and a toilet down the opposite corridor. My room was in the middle of two corridors so I had the door to these corridors banging constantly. The sink unit and its surroundings were tired and cracked. On the website it states that every room is equipped with a list of certain things as standard, I did not have some of the things on the list and when I asked about this the next morning the lady on reception said I need to ask for them, they are not automatically put into the room. I had a single, very basic room, which had marks on the walls, when I then looked on the website again the cost of this was £21, it did note state from this price or would be more at busy periods, I was charged £63! This is unacceptable. The lady on reception said it was because it was a busy time, I made her aware what it said on the website, she said that it was old and needed to be updated, this is not my problem. As I came to reception to complain there was also a man complaining so I was not the only one who felt this way. I am very unhappy.

Reviewed by
Sarah Cox

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic accommodation
On arriving at hotel front door was very dirty and sticky door handle fire alarm break glass in reception was taped. over ,room was very poor and basic ,decor poor everywhere, toilet had a high step to it about 12 inches dangerous ,shower cold could not control temp ,toilet poor flusher chatty old bedside table ,no lamps in wall lights didn't work were broken, the breakfast was basic, tables dirty cutlery was filthy side plates stuck to table, basically always read reviews of a hotel before booking and pay on arrival so you can check it out first

Reviewed by
R Brown

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location, adequate room for Commonwealth Games
Overall good value, did the job, staff helpful. My mattress was a bit knackered but slept well anyway. Mother India is a stone's throw away, very tasty!

Reviewed by
L Fisher

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It was horrific. £200 for a room with no toilet or shower. Terrible decor and walls dirty. horrible

Reviewed by
R Gates

From Kilmarnock, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next