Smiths Hotel

2

Smiths Hotel 963 Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow, G3 7TQ

Price From 44.50 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (117)

50% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Lindsay D

  • April 2015

Clean bed, dirty room

I booked this for my friend & I as we had a gig at the Hydro and it's very close by.

For £40 it was only somewhere to get our heads down our expectations weren't too high. The bed & bedding were clean but the room was quite dirty, (no hair dryer!) Staff were helpful the food was fine but I don't think I would book again, sorry!

  • Laura C

  • April 2015

Smiths Hotel

Clean enough and close to SECC are about all this hotel has going for it.

Tiny room in the attic with poor quality mattress, creaking floorboards and lights that don't work. One hand towel and one very small bath towel between two of us and when another was requested was informed they had run out!. When eventually served breakfast it was edible but not really worth the wait.

  • Ian G

  • April 2015

Would not stay again

The room was very tired and to small for two beds, They supply soap but no shampoo???.

The shower was a disaster, it went from freezing to scalding all through my shower. My big pet hate

is mould in the grouting and there was mould in the grouting, I don't understand this as it is so easy to clean off. Breakfast was ok nice hot plates but more care could have been taken to clean the grease off the plate before bringing out of the kitchen,and the menu was grotty and needed washed.

  • M Alcorn

  • March 2015

Dirty, smelly, worn and tired.

This hotel was dingy and dirty.

Carpets were threadbare. We found a false fingernail in the bed - hopefully it was the maids, otherwise the sheets had not been changed. The shower cycled between 2 temperatures - freezing and boiling. Although breakfast was included I couldn't face eating off the dirty cutlery and greasy glasses. On the whole the place is a disgrace and the proprietor should be ashamed. Wish I hadn't booked it to be very honest.

  • Damith Aththanayaka

  • March 2015

Leo Removals

Second stay.clean room & quality foods.

  • Ross B

  • March 2015

N/A

N/A

  • L Little

  • March 2015

Great Hotel, room was small but very clean

Stayed here for 1 night - the room was ensuite double, and although very small it was more than adequate.

The bathroom was immaculate and the room fresh. Only downside was the room was very small you could barely pass one another beside the bed. However it was great value for money, he staff were pleasant especially when coming in at 3am asking for extra tea, coffee and sugar for the room. The breakfast room was really pleasant and the breakfast choice was excellent. The menu stated bacon, eggs or bacon, egg and beans and so on but we just asked for a full breakfast which wasn't listed on the menu and got some of everything plus toast and jam. There was a choice of fruit juices, cereal etc. to choose from too. I would recommend this hotel but would also mention that it is quite a distance away from the centre of everything if you are planning to walk in and out to the main drag of restaurants and bars/clubs in Glasgow. It would take a good 1/2 hour walk to get right into the centre of Glasgow although there is a bus stop adjacent to the hotel. The hotel staff were pleasant and there is a 24hr reception.

  • William Curley

  • March 2015

Celticas01

Good value for money, staff were polite and helpful.

Breakfast selection good. Great value for a city centre.

However, had to ask for towels, and room was in the loft necessitating a tiring climb with luggage. Would ask for a "lower" room in future.

  • R Turton

  • March 2015

Bargain for the money

For a bed and breakfast hotel it was ideal for what I needed

  • G Arends

  • March 2015

City Escape

Great hotel for a weekend break.