No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Aachen Hotel

3Visit England Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
89 Mount Pleasant , Liverpool, L3 5TB
We are situated in the heart of the city centre, we are located within the university complex, and convenient for all major tourist attractions including the Echo arena, Cathedrals, Museums, Theatres and Restaurants Housed within a Grade 2 listed building, each room at the Aachen has every conceivable facility for the traveler: Flat Screen TV's with DVD player, direct dial telephone, tea & coffee making facilities, Trouser press.

Bar facilities are also available on the premises. We also offer free internet service. Your room rate will always include our Famous 'Eat As Much As You Like' Breakfast.

Awards: 1995 Merseyside Tourism Awards - Small Hotel of the year (Winner) 1996 North West Tourist Board - Hotel of the year (Winner) 1995 North West tourist board - Place to Stay (Silver) 2005 RAC Guest Accommodation Awards - Sparkling Diamond. 2005 Mersey Partnership - Outstanding Customer Service (Short listed) 2004 Mersey Partnership - Best Small hotel (Short listed) 2006 Green Tourism Award (Bronze), 2006 Mersey Partnership - Best Bed & Breakfast (Short listed) 2007 Mersey Partnership - Best Bed & Breakfast (Short listed).
Picture of Aachen Hotel, Liverpool at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 34 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

more than value for money
On arriving at the hotel after a walk up a small hill (i have decided i need to exercise more)we was greeted by a lady called Pauline who was very friendlyand explained all to us then showed us to our room we was pleasantly surprised the room was lovely very clean and fresh,when we had breakfast the next morning you could have a wide variety of choice cereals/yoghurts/cooked brekkie/toast/continental or all of it .this hotel is value for money and not far from lime street station and the city so in an ideal location,we will be returning.

Reviewed by
gary b

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ricks Pick
I have stayed at the Aachen several times and is always my first choice when I come to Liverpool.
The rooms are lovely, the staff are friendly with good advice about the city. The breakfast is wonderful especially the full English .

Reviewed by
richard lucas

From Auchterarder, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

University visit for prospective student
Spent one night in the Aachen which was a cheap gettaway. For £39 for a twin room including breakfast I can't complain! No ensuite, but the bathroom was just up the corridor and was pretty new. Fabulous shower! The room was basic, small but very clean with a sink. Location was close to where we needed to be and a ten minute walk from Lime Street Station and the shopping area. Breakfast was good, but the most impressive thing about this hotel was its staff. They were delightful. They couldn't do enough for us and, as a first time visitor to Liverpool, they proved the reputation correct in that the Liverpudlians are extremely friendly. We will be returning next year for a visit and would definitely stay at the Aachen.

Reviewed by
Carol-Anne F

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Welcoming and Comfortable
Had a good two night stay. Great cooked breakfast and very friendly helpful staff. Only slight criticism would be that the whole place was very overheated probably due in part to the unexpected and unseasonably mild weather. Also if looking for a quiet night avoid the street facing rooms as there is night long noise disturbance from revellers, traffic and sirens which is of course beyond the control of the proprietors. Given that the room was so hot I had no option to sleep with the windows open despite having turned the thermostat down a notch and thrown off my bed covers, so poor sleep on both nights due to the noise. Overall though a lovely place to stay and very conveniently located. I would return without hesitation.

Reviewed by
Lynn A

From Redditch, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice and Cosy
Nice small hotel with lovely, friendly staff. No frills accommodation. Comfortable beds, lovely and warm and one of the nicest breakfasts you'll ever have included in the price. My only issue would be no ensuite and having to use shared showers and toilets. Luckily I was there at a quiet time of the week so this wasn't an issue in the morning. The staff are fantastic.

Reviewed by
Stephen O

From Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice place
Really nice place, Pauline was so helpful and friendly. Clean room, hot shower, fab breakfast.

Reviewed by
jan c

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very helpful and friendly staff, slightly jaded decor and furniture . but not expensive.

Reviewed by
caron a

From London, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Handy for university, Staff were very attentive, breakfast excellent.
Stayed overnight with grandson who had a resit exam.
.Would have gained a 6 for room quality if drinking glasses had been provided.
There was only one plastic tumbler in bathroom, although to be fair if I had noticed earlier in the evening I would have requested same.

Reviewed by
G Esson

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice hotel,helpful staff,no problems to speak of

Reviewed by
john graham

From Whitehaven, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A nice hotel, let down by a lack of attention to basic food hygiene
We stayed in this hotel for 1 night in April 2014. The rooms were modern with nice lighting and comfortable beds. The bathroom was modern with a large shower with waterfall showerhead. There was a window in the bathroom that was not frosted and the office building next door had several windows that were able to see it the bathroom. I felt uncomfortable with that, especially had we been staying on a week day when the offices would have been in use.
The room was clean and we had a good nights sleep.
The breakfast in the morning was a real let down, the staff were really nice, but we were offered toast and the brown bread had mold all over it. We didn't eat it and it put us off the rest of the breakfast. We felt there was no need for the bread to be out of date as there is a tesco shop which is literally a two minute walk from the hotel.

Reviewed by
D Rees

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next