No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Castle Hotel

3Visit Wales Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
The Parade , Neath, SA11 1RB
Historic Welsh Coaching Inn and birthplace of the Welsh Rugby Union, the Castle Hotel is family owned and run and situated in the heart of Neath, just off the M4 and 2 minutes from the mainline train station. Ideally located for visiting a host of local attractions including Afan Forest Park, Brecon Beacons National Park, dozens of historic monuments and castles and the stunning Swansea Bay and Gower coastlines. All this and yet only 40 minutes from Wales' vibrant capital city of Cardiff. The hotel boasts character and charm whilst offering all the modern conveniences such as flat screens, Sky, WIFI, feather duvets and pillows and tea/coffee making facilities. The restaurant, Green's, serves "Simply Good Welsh Food" and offers a daily blackboard featuring local specialities. There are two bars: the traditional, oak panelled Lounge Bar with its huge fireplace and "oh, so comfy" arm chairs and the contemporary Castle Bar with its big screens and upbeat, trendy atmosphere.
Picture of Castle Hotel, Neath at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 60 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
71% recommended this accommodation to a friend 75% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not quite what I expecting
Booked in a rush. Maybe if I'd had time I'd have done a little more research. Staff were exceptional. The hotel itself, in my opinion, was not. Some descriptions like "on-site parking" are a little optimistic. The small car park is about 75 yds down the road - and that's it unless you want to park on the street and have to move your vehicle before 8am.

Reviewed by
Chris P

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Felt like a King - almost!
The Castle hotel has a fine history being the birthplace of Welsh Rugby Union. The reception area is quite grand with wood panelling as are some of the meeting rooms. My bedroom was large and warm as was the bathroom. Unfortunately opaque glass was fitted to the windows as the views from them was not picture postcard lets say. The decor was ok and the bed was large and clean. Free toiletries and tea and biscuits were very welcome. My only reservation was that the shower was basically a dribble of variable temperature water. I was told all bathrooms are to be refurbished as they are well aware of the shower shortfall. The restaurant / bar area is pleasant. The food is good value and the staff are very nice.

Reviewed by
Christopher M

From Sutton Coldfield, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Woken up in the night
We stayed at the Castle after visiting a terminally ill member of the family, we had travelled down from Merseyside and it was all very last minute. We chose the Castle over another because it advertised sky tv in the rooms, after a very tiring day all we wanted to do was chill & watch tv as we were leaving very early the next morning, it didn't have sky. Their car park was full as well so we had to find a side street to park. Through the night we were woken up by voices & laughing, after about 10 mins I got up & rang reception, this was about 3.40am but there was no answer, I tried to ignore it but the walls are so thin it was impossible to ignore so I rang reception again, this time it was around 4am, again no answer, so we went back to bed & eventually they shut up long enough for us to go back to sleep before we were up at 7am. When we went down to check out I asked her if it was a bit 24 hour reception, she said it was so I went on to tell her about about all the noise through the night, she was very apologetic & said there would have been a manager on till 4am & a night porter. Very disappointed, we will need to stay in the area quite a lot but won't be staying there again.

Reviewed by
Helen H

From St Helens, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Peaceful
The rooms are warm and welcoming, the beds are comfortable, me And my partner Were lucky enough to have a room with a bath in the bathroom. It was So relaxing, it was Just Like Being in Your own home.

Reviewed by
emma p

From Llanelli, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good for Business overnight stays
@ £50.00 per night room only it is very good value for money.
The bedroom was quite small and if the chair was pulled out at the desk, you wouldn't be able to pass. The bathroom was large & clean & had shower gel, soap etc available to use. Room was clean & tidy. I ordered the venison for dinner & was surprised it arrived without any veg, just venison & chips. I would stay there again if down on business, but only if I could get it at the £50.00 room rate.

Reviewed by
Chris R

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great coach house
Very warm very friendly atmosphere. Lovely food. Great location and lovely warm rooms. really enjoyed my stay.

Reviewed by
Lawrence Lunn

From Alfreton, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fantatic
i stay at the castle on a regular basis its my home from home staff are very friendly and always very helpfull the rooms are very comfortable and cleaned to high standard. and the food is definately plentiful and 5 star.would recomend to anyone visiting the area

Reviewed by
p jones

From Llanon, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The bathroom door had a hole as if someone has kicked it will steel toe cap.
The central heating didnt work.
When asked at reception about heating then i was bein told there's aportable heater in the wardrobe.
Bathroom heater also wasn't functionin, and absolutely freezing temp all night and morning.
Will definitely not recommend a stay

Reviewed by
S Iqbal

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Got a electric shock!!
I got an electric shock in a room at this hotel, all staff did was move me to a different room, no care if i was ok!!
I think i should have some sort of refund!
Bar staff was nice

Reviewed by
Ben W

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Over priced and poorly maintained room - nasty oily breakfast, disappointing town
Seems as though maintaince is done on a tight budget - Wall paper hanging off ceilings - carpet rolled up at skirtings - light fittings hanging off rawl plugs in corridors - two double rooms with no hot water, unflushable toilet, very cheap shower fittings that are clogged in scale - tiny little tv's and broken doors with locks that don't work when inside.
Horrible little oily breakfast with mouldy white bread - deep fried everything and potatoes from last night - £85 for double room and breakfast for one - thinking this was £50 over priced!

Reviewed by
Paul H

From England
Who stayed in October 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next