Reviews - Castle Hotel


The Parade, Neath, SA11 1RB

Price From 102.16 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (35)

63% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • John J

  • October 2015


Dated hotel in areas.

Shower didn't work correctly. Room not very clean. Food good. Staff in bar area and serving food polite and friendly, hotel area staff not so friendly and approachable. Would not stay again but would use bar and food facilities.

  • Charlotte O

  • August 2015

Nice Place

Friendly staff, good sized room, clean.

All round pleasant stay

  • stephen w

  • August 2015

warm welcome excellent service from time we entered hotel

Highly recommend, excellent greeting, room extremely good value for money.

Clean tidy comfortable bed. Had a meal in restaurant waiter service excellent food wonderful. most enjoyable stay I would recommend

  • Nigel Waymark

  • July 2015

brilliant service

a lovely hotel with lovely happy and obliging staff, everyone seemed so friendly, I must single out "Mike" for some extra thanks, after arriving back late we found the car park locked, I asked what time the gates would be opened (as the traffic wardens are ready to book you at 8:01!) he said "no worries, I'll open them for you now" now at that time the rain was falling and it was a miscible night, but we trundled off appox 50 yards and my car was safe, room was lovely, (room 4) with a massive large bed, all clean and tidy, my only worry would be staying there on a weekend as it is in the middle of town and there are a few pubs right near.., on the whole a great stay and we will be back.

  • stuart Purvis

  • June 2015

Castle Hotel Neath Room Facilities

The room was comfortable, but had only one light switch by the door, which made it a small challenge when turning lights out before bed.

The bathroom was huge and could have had another double bed in there; however, the shower head was held in an immovable bracket that made the shower flow horizontal. Overall, a very comfortable and welcoming hotel and I would stay there again.

  • david s

  • April 2015

overpriced for under par accomodation

acomodation very poor wall paper peeling away, shower was a complete joke took 10 mins for hot water too reach it , then the pressure was diabolical quicker to wash in the sink.

  • Helen H

  • February 2015

Woken up in the night

We stayed at the Castle after visiting a terminally ill member of the family, we had travelled down from Merseyside and it was all very last minute.

We chose the Castle over another because it advertised sky tv in the rooms, after a very tiring day all we wanted to do was chill & watch tv as we were leaving very early the next morning, it didn't have sky. Their car park was full as well so we had to find a side street to park. Through the night we were woken up by voices & laughing, after about 10 mins I got up & rang reception, this was about 3.40am but there was no answer, I tried to ignore it but the walls are so thin it was impossible to ignore so I rang reception again, this time it was around 4am, again no answer, so we went back to bed & eventually they shut up long enough for us to go back to sleep before we were up at 7am. When we went down to check out I asked her if it was a bit 24 hour reception, she said it was so I went on to tell her about about all the noise through the night, she was very apologetic & said there would have been a manager on till 4am & a night porter. Very disappointed, we will need to stay in the area quite a lot but won't be staying there again.

  • Chris P

  • February 2015

Not quite what I expecting

Booked in a rush.

Maybe if I'd had time I'd have done a little more research. Staff were exceptional. The hotel itself, in my opinion, was not. Some descriptions like "on-site parking" are a little optimistic. The small car park is about 75 yds down the road - and that's it unless you want to park on the street and have to move your vehicle before 8am.

  • Christopher M

  • February 2015

Felt like a King - almost!

The Castle hotel has a fine history being the birthplace of Welsh Rugby Union.

The reception area is quite grand with wood panelling as are some of the meeting rooms. My bedroom was large and warm as was the bathroom. Unfortunately opaque glass was fitted to the windows as the views from them was not picture postcard lets say. The decor was ok and the bed was large and clean. Free toiletries and tea and biscuits were very welcome. My only reservation was that the shower was basically a dribble of variable temperature water. I was told all bathrooms are to be refurbished as they are well aware of the shower shortfall. The restaurant / bar area is pleasant. The food is good value and the staff are very nice.

  • emma p

  • February 2015


The rooms are warm and welcoming, the beds are comfortable, me And my partner Were lucky enough to have a room with a bath in the bathroom.

It was So relaxing, it was Just Like Being in Your own home.