No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Castle Hotel

3Visit Wales Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
The Parade , Neath, SA11 1RB
Historic Welsh Coaching Inn and birthplace of the Welsh Rugby Union, the Castle Hotel is family owned and run and situated in the heart of Neath, just off the M4 and 2 minutes from the mainline train station. Ideally located for visiting a host of local attractions including Afan Forest Park, Brecon Beacons National Park, dozens of historic monuments and castles and the stunning Swansea Bay and Gower coastlines. All this and yet only 40 minutes from Wales' vibrant capital city of Cardiff. The hotel boasts character and charm whilst offering all the modern conveniences such as flat screens, Sky, WIFI, feather duvets and pillows and tea/coffee making facilities. The restaurant, Green's, serves "Simply Good Welsh Food" and offers a daily blackboard featuring local specialities. There are two bars: the traditional, oak panelled Lounge Bar with its huge fireplace and "oh, so comfy" arm chairs and the contemporary Castle Bar with its big screens and upbeat, trendy atmosphere.
Picture of Castle Hotel, Neath at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 58 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
71% recommended this accommodation to a friend 75% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The bathroom door had a hole as if someone has kicked it will steel toe cap.
The central heating didnt work.
When asked at reception about heating then i was bein told there's aportable heater in the wardrobe.
Bathroom heater also wasn't functionin, and absolutely freezing temp all night and morning.
Will definitely not recommend a stay

Reviewed by
S Iqbal

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Got a electric shock!!
I got an electric shock in a room at this hotel, all staff did was move me to a different room, no care if i was ok!!
I think i should have some sort of refund!
Bar staff was nice

Reviewed by
Ben W

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Over priced and poorly maintained room - nasty oily breakfast, disappointing town
Seems as though maintaince is done on a tight budget - Wall paper hanging off ceilings - carpet rolled up at skirtings - light fittings hanging off rawl plugs in corridors - two double rooms with no hot water, unflushable toilet, very cheap shower fittings that are clogged in scale - tiny little tv's and broken doors with locks that don't work when inside.
Horrible little oily breakfast with mouldy white bread - deep fried everything and potatoes from last night - £85 for double room and breakfast for one - thinking this was £50 over priced!

Reviewed by
Paul H

From England
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First room I was given was very small, heating didnt work, full of cobwebs and the shower did not work

Reviewed by
Andrew P

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

death of family member
the rooms were small, we had 2. No where for wheelchair in room had to leave it downstairs.
no lift. Rooms could do with a face lift, bed soft thats good.
for the price breakfast could have being incl,

Reviewed by
E Byrne

From Dublin 24, Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in October 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bog standard
Bog standard small town hotel. Not as good as a travelodge. Clean, courteous staff, overpriced food.

Reviewed by
Darren A

From North Ferriby, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A bit Faulty Towers
Great location for business trip to Neath. Nice looking hotel with all the quirkiness of an old hotel. Friendly and helpfull staff. The room was a twin and a bit on the small side but comfortable enough. The windows open onto a service alley with other guest rooms about 1m away and all I'll say is sound travels. I heard every conversation the chap in the room next door had on his mobile as if he was in the room with me. Sound proofing is non existant. It is an old hotel and as long as you accept it's limitations it's a comfortable place to stay. It was perfectly adequate for a business trip and at the price I paid, good value for money.

Reviewed by
Jacquie F

From Pulborough, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

never again
From the outside it looks beautiful but once in the room it was very disappointing the room is in an undecorated state wallpaper comin of the ceilin in the bathroom.mould round the bath. The windows where covered in bird poo and we couldnt open the windows wide because of pigeons outside the window.drinks are expensive.

Reviewed by
michael ekland

From Neath, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent venue and good value too
We stayed at this hotel for one night and were blown away by the excellent level of service and the polite helpful staff. We would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone. As we were touring on motorcycles the provision of a secure lock up garage was a God send.

Reviewed by
T Simms

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Was generally ok, but some issues.
Generally a good hotel, the staff were excellent though and that goes a long way. The rooms were good sized, comfortable and the decor was good as well. The maid service were excellent as well. Our bathroom was massive. There are only 2 things that let the hotel down really, firstly our shower was hopeless. If we have a dehydrated camel spitting at us we would have got more water out of it, it was completely hopeless. We had 2 rooms and both showers in both rooms were exactly the same. Secondly the discount mentioned on here is complete rubbish as well. I checked at the desk on the way out and there is basically no discount, what they offer on here is there normal room rate.

Reviewed by
Leyton C

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next