No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Three Salmons Hotel

3Visit Wales Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Bridge Street , Usk, NP15 1RY
The Three Salmons Hotel is nestled in the beautiful market town of Usk, Monmouthshire. Exuding traditional old world charm whilst delivering friendly knowledgeable service, The Three Salmons Hotel has an excellent reputation locally for its food and has also been formally recognised by the AA.

The Three Salmons Hotel offers both a bar and a restaurant menu using only the freshest, locally sourced ingredients. The restaurant even bakes its own bread daily and uses as many vegetables grown on their own premises as possible. Its cleverly constructed culinary offerings are complemented by an extensive wine cellar of both old and new world wines

The Three Salmons Hotel is friendly enough to be welcoming for small groups and couples yet large enough to accommodate larger group and parties.
Picture of Three Salmons Hotel, Usk at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 21 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely character hotel . friendly and helpful staff

Reviewed by
J green

From newport, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Booked for a special occasion... Birthday
Being greeted on arrival and helped with luggage to our room was a lovely personal touch.
The room was a lovely big size, well presented and tastefully decorated. The bed was exceptionally comfortable and size of a super king, 2 single beds zipped and linked. We had booked in Usk as we were on a walking holiday, I liked the reviews of the food and customer service experience on this site and booked for this reason. The food was exceptional, all local produce. I had looked forward to eating local Welsh lamb for dinner, and I was appreciative of the presentation and how well it was cooked. Great selection for breakfast for continental and cooked too, attention to service was well worth paying the extra to feel like an occasion was had.

Reviewed by
Tim W

From Newton Abbot, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend break
Overall, good hotel and well located for exploring area .
The staff were very friendly and attentive . Dinner was very good.
In terms of improvements, more attention should be spent on changing rooms promptly including fresh trays of tea/coffee each day .
Also , in our group the showers were faulty and dangerously hot . Guests should also be warned of wedding receptions booked as these were very noisy until after midnight.

Reviewed by
Leonard S

From Wirral, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb!
All excellent, room spotless and beautiful! Food amazing... Well done, would definitely recommend..

Reviewed by
H WILLIAMS

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

last minute stay at he 3 salmons
staff welcoming and friendly .we were immediately upgraded to a superior room as hotel v quiet.
Efficient service, staff couldn't do enough for us.
Evening meal was rather pricey, had to send my lamb back as undercooked.
Breakfast was delicious.

Reviewed by
Angela Brook Lawson

From Loughborough, England
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tired but fabulous food
bedroom Ok but bathrooms desperate for updating. Accoustics appalling perhaps due to badly fitting doors to rooms. restaurant food amazing, some of the younger staff need to remember they are working in the service industry!!

Reviewed by
s dewhirst

From Oswestry, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect Stay with friendly, capable and helpful staff.
The Three Salmon Hotel, was my choice of over night stay before last weeks Tough Mudder race. I would have been more than happy with a simple no frills clean room - but upon arrival I was pleasantly surprised. I was greeted by smartly dressed reception staff, who showed me to my room. (Instead of direct) They explained what food was available in the bar or restaurant. (I was just going to get a take away, but decided to book a table - and was very glad I did.) I enjoyed a very tasty fish pie, at the reasonable price of £15. The room was fine, Wifi Internet was available although not strong, but good for Usk in Wales. The television did not work, but that did not bother me. In the Morning, I breakfasted at 8am, and two very happy upbeat men, who were serving greeted me and quickly showed me to a table. The table was well laid out, and the menu had many options. The full 'Welsh' was served again quickly and was very tasty. All were polite and the people made my stay a real pleasure. I would highly recommend The Three Salmon Hotel, and thank the staff for an enjoyable stay.

Reviewed by
M Ayre

From Bury St Edmunds, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent location
The hotel and rooms are excellent with friendly staff and excellent meals. Previously I have stayed in the hotel, but this time I was in an annexe across the road, where the road noise was loud, being on a busy junction. No other issues and I would stay here again.

Reviewed by
David Allan W

From High Wycombe, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good food and hospitality, friendly and approachable. Bed very comfortable. Would recommend .

Reviewed by
C Lewis

From Carmarthen, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The waiter at breakfast was excellent, as was the quality of the food served.

Reviewed by
Helen W

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next