No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Three Salmons Hotel

3Visit Wales Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Bridge Street , Usk, NP15 1RY
The Three Salmons Hotel is nestled in the beautiful market town of Usk, Monmouthshire. Exuding traditional old world charm whilst delivering friendly knowledgeable service, The Three Salmons Hotel has an excellent reputation locally for its food and has also been formally recognised by the AA.

The Three Salmons Hotel offers both a bar and a restaurant menu using only the freshest, locally sourced ingredients. The restaurant even bakes its own bread daily and uses as many vegetables grown on their own premises as possible. Its cleverly constructed culinary offerings are complemented by an extensive wine cellar of both old and new world wines

The Three Salmons Hotel is friendly enough to be welcoming for small groups and couples yet large enough to accommodate larger group and parties.
Picture of Three Salmons Hotel, Usk at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 19 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We won't be returning!
Booked this hotel after confirmation of a Hot Air Balloon flight in Usk and after trawling through hotels on Tripadvisor, found this to be the best overall, unfortunately I was wrong! The room we were given was opposite the actual hotel and in desperate need of refurbishment and maintenance...the only positive I can give is that the staff were good, although they let themselves down at breakfast...after waiting for a cleared table, I had to ask for a bowl after a further 20 minute wait, which returned with no cutlery, so resorted to using the serving spoons....I could go on, but I think you get the message!?

Reviewed by
I Bowen

From Llandrindod Wells, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The service gven to my disabled parents was excellent - nothing was too much trouble.

Reviewed by
j walker

From Lydney, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really good place - the food was lovely but small portions meant I felt a bit 'done' - so much so that on my second night I found a really great pub in the square and felt I got better value for money. Breakfast was great though.
The general carpeting was a bit old and dark and gave the place a shabby feel.

Reviewed by
Steve Ripley

From Carnforth, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Sunny Weekend Break
Having noticed that our usual 5 day sunny summer coincided with a weekend this year, we decided to spend it in Usk. It has a derelict, but charming castle; a few quiet pubs and a wide river. Sufficient. I consider to entertain for us for the weekend if one appreciates that The Three Salmons can provide a very good evening meal to finish off a relaxing day. The rooms are basic but clean. The beer garden, on a warm night, is a delight but check for birds in the branches overhead as thay are careless.

Reviewed by
M Lawton

From Stone, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Service
Very friendly with excellent service and good food. room very clean and comfortable.

Reviewed by
Lynda L

From Leighton Buzzard, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

4 poster?
The site showed a four poster bed in superior room that week booked. It was not there!
I asked for a dry martini from the barman in the hotel bar and then had to show him how to make it. I asked for an olive and he placed one in my drink even though it was coated in olive oil and herbs!! The tables in the bar were very sticky.

Reviewed by
Gary Warren

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful food, excellent accommodation. Fantastic value for money.

Reviewed by
B Pearce

From Merthyr Tydfil, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent place to stay would recommend thoroughly

Reviewed by
Liam a

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay

Reviewed by
David Allan W

From High Wycombe, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2