No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hotel Meurice

5 rue edmond roche , Calais, 62100
A forerunner in the luxury hotel business, the Hotel Meurice in Calais, the first of its name, exists since 1771.
Destroyed during the Second World War, the hotel was rebuilt in 1954-1955. Close to the train station, 5 minutes from the beach, the Hotel Meurice's friendly atmosphere and charm await you right in the heart of the city.

Well appointed salon for conferences, exclusive meals/banquets (up to 170 gusts), cocktail parties, family parties.

The gastronomic stop between Paris, London and Brussels, "La Diligence" welcomes you to its cosy and confortable decor, enchanced with oak panels.
Our "A la Carte" menu, worthy of the best restaurants, offers you a large choice of dishes. Our Chef, Alain, likes to unleash his own imagination. You will marvel at his inventive, sometimes amazing, cooking.
Our important "Carte des Vins" will allow you to harmonise the liaison between dish and wine.
Over better, why not open the door of "La Diligence" and enjoy the emotion of fine cooking.
A forerunner in the luxury business, the Hotel Meurice in Calais, the first of its name, exists since 1771.
First, the Royal Post House, "LE CHARIOT ROYAL", the owner, Charles-Augustin Meurice, had the brilliant idea to add an inn to provide luxury accomodation for English travellers.

His son, Louis-Augustin Meurice, founded in 1818, the Hotel Meurice, rue de Rivoli, today, the most famous palace in Paris
Picture of Hotel Meurice, Calais at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 9 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay
This was an hotel with Vintage style. Unlike anything I had stayed in before. The staff were very helpful and considerate. I will be looking forward to the next time I stay here.

Reviewed by
Mark B

From Loughborough, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing stay
A quirky hotel very much in need of a refurbishment. It is very tired and shabby and the cleanliness of the hotel left a lot to be desired. Disappointing.

Reviewed by
Beverly S

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

accommodation has deteriorated substantially since we were there last. we wouldn't stay again.

Reviewed by
M Doyle

From Chester le Street, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Booze cruise
Excellent hotel good food and service we were happily supprised, best hotel we have used for our regular trips to france and we will defenately use again.

Reviewed by
J Hall

From Sutton Coldfield, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent French Hotel
If you want an old fashioned very French hotel this is the place to stay. If you like modern bland international style hotels that are the same everywhere in the world do not go, leave the Meurice to us who appreciate older qualities. Very handy for town centre restaurants, a local street market on Saturday morning and the fish quay if you want really fresh fish. We didn't need to use the car park as plenty was available in the street outside. We have stayed before and will certainly stay again when we need somewhere in Calais.

Reviewed by
P Rogers

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overall summary
Lovely hotel in a quiet position in Calais. Charming French ambiance, secure garage for car, excellent breakfast and very good location for Calais restaurants, bars etc and of course, Ferry Port. Staff were on hand at all times and helped with any requests. Will definitely book Hotel Meurice again, having tried several other options in the past.

Reviewed by
Pam L

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Meurice
Helpful, Friendly staff.
Good size, clean room. Good shower.

Reviewed by
M Armstrong

From London, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great little hotel
The hotel is full of character and is very central. A good buy!

Reviewed by
Hoda Lacey

From Northwood, UK
Who stayed in November 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a Find!
Absolute charming Hotel. Call it olde worlde/shabby chic or whatever, it's just an absolute collectors item from a bygone era. If you're staying in Calais, stay here (but not if you like characterless/modern)... it would be a crying shame to lose places like this because of recession. Fantastic staff, rooms & atmosphere. They should be rammed busy all of the time. Also great restaurant recommended by lovely girl on reception; Au Vieux Fourneau, Rue Royale. Gastronomique delight, not cheap, but a damn site cheaper & better than anything we could find in Paris.

Reviewed by
G Whitaker

From Chesterfield, England
Who stayed in November 2012

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.