No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Vale Hotel Resort

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
HENSOL PARK , PONTYCLUN, CF72 8JY
The Vale Resort is located 15 minutes from the centre of Cardiff, set in 600 acres of outstanding countryside, largest spa in Wales, 5 time host to the Welsh PGA Professional Championships, Indoor Training Arena is the training base for The Welsh Rugby team, Football Association of Wales, Cardiff City FC & Cardiff Blues.

Every one of the Hotel's 143 guest rooms has been designed to maximise comfort and convenience, with most affording superb views over the golf course or surrounding countryside. All rooms have air-conditioning and luxurious en-suite facilities.Also available are a number of family rooms and rooms specially equipped for the disabled.

Consideration has been given to today's business needs in all of our rooms, especially the suites which are designed to provide executive accommodation and facilities.There are 5 eating venues on site - providing everything from light meals and snacks, to fine dining and local produce slow cooked to perfection in a wood-burning oven.

A member of Classic British Hotels.
Picture of Vale Hotel Resort, PONTYCLUN at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 54 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

30th Birthday Stay perfect.
Staff are very friendly, thanks to the nice receptionist allowing us a free birthday upgrade to an executive lodge suite. The room was excellent and the balcony had a lovely view over part of the golf course and lake. We took full advantage of the spa facilities and it is a bonus that you can continue using the facilities even before you have checked in and after you check out. Food delicious. Fillet steak and chips in the evening all cooled to perfection and full English buffet in the morning. Will definitely be returning, they made my partners 30th birthday very memorable. Many thanks.

Reviewed by
Andrew O

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great facilities
Great hotel with very good food and facilities

Reviewed by
Mark A

From Melton Mowbray, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Vale Hotel - Room Review
Stayed in the Vale Hotel (02/01/2015) and was thoroughly impressed with the service received, beginning to end. Will most definitely be staying in this hotel again and hopefully next time the weather will hold out for us to use their golfing facilities and grounds more extensively next time!

Reviewed by
R John

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not what we expected from a 4 star hotel
Not what you would expect from the leading hotel in South Wales. Lovely reception area, lovely staff. Room was lovely apart from some minor things. Bathroom needed some slight attention, seal around bath was coming away and mould. Screen around shower door was covered in mold.
Some moss and fens coming through the conservatory roof, which did not look well whilst sat there in a wedding, could have cleaned it first.
The prices at the bar are ridiculous, need a second mortgage for 4 drinks. £22 for 2 larges 1 wine and a double vodka. (£9) for double vodka.
Breakfast was a long wait as we had to queue for 45 minutes, but then it was not the best. For some ever that's prides it's self on its reputation and repeat custom. The bacon was nice, beans were in a messy tray/bowl, sausages were not the best tasting and repeated for 8 hours. I would have rather saved the £21 and gone to my local greasy spoon or wetherspoons for a breakfast for less than half the price, less time waiting and a nice breakfast at half the cost

Reviewed by
D Edwards

From Aberdare, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

short stay
Good experience communal areas a little boring but has good facilities gym, spa and golf etc..

Reviewed by
c weston

From Maidenhead, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb!! All aspects were brilliant.
Attended a wedding here and had a fantastic time. All the staff were brilliant, the room had a lovely view over the golf course and had breakfast in the room on the balcony.

Reviewed by
Helen Clarke

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent stay but
Could have done with a light over the bathroom vanity mirror for shaving.

Reviewed by
R M Richards

From Newport, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel
Grounds were beautiful and so was the hotel. Huge room complimentary tea and biscuits. Was a enjoyable stay! The only thing I was disappointed about was that it is the largest spa in Wales but the leisure part (swimming pool, jacuzzi etc) didn't have any charm. I think it could do with a revamp to make it a little more relaxing and better looking. But I did love the stay. Thankyou

Reviewed by
a williams

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay
Fabulous room and excellent value for money.

Reviewed by
Stephan P

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really lovely
Visited for an awards ceremony. The whole experience was great. We were warmly welcomed at reception and checked in smoothly. Our room on the top floor was great. The shower was amazing and really comfortable beds. Breakfast in the morning was plentiful with lots of choice. Highly recommended.

Reviewed by
Rachel W

From Chester, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next