No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Novotel Cardiff Centre

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
SCHOONER WAY , CARDIFF, CF10 4RT

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

Novotel Cardiff Centre is a New Generation Novotel so you'll enjoy a fresh new element of design during your stay. Located just a 10-minute walk from the train station, the hotel is within easy walking distance of the town's Victorian shopping arcades and also many leisure attractions including: Cardiff Bay, St David's and Capitol shopping centres, Cardiff Castle, Millennium Stadium, Cardiff Motorpoint Arena or the Wales millennium centre.

Although the building retains many of its Victorian features, public areas are stylish and contemporary, created from wood, stone and richly coloured furnishings. All bedrooms are furnished with double beds, a sofa-bed or armchair and a unique pivot desk for working or dining. Satellite TV, radio and pay movies are standard, as is FREE Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. Bathrooms in Executive rooms and Suite feature a bath with hand-held shower and a separate shower unit.

On-site paying car park is available and the hotel boasts a pool for that all important relaxation time.
Picture of Novotel Cardiff Centre, CARDIFF at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 307 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic as always
Upgraded to an executive room as it was my husbands 30th and it was well worth it, absolutely stunning room. Service is always great, staff really make you feel valued and are very accommodating to your needs. Breakfast is outstanding and the leisure facilities are superb. Only a short walk into town or to the water front. The weekends was a lovely relaxing treat for the family, my children (4 and 8 years old) love this hotel and always ask to go back!

Reviewed by
Kristy W

From Llanelli, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We found the hotel child friendly, clean and well organised. Rooms were clean tidy and neat. Wardrobe space could be greater, but a stand alone shower made up for the lack of clothing hanging space. Staff were keen, friendly, polite and helpful. Meals were nice but pricey . Kids loved the pool. The location was perfect for both Cardiff and Cardiff Bay.

Reviewed by
Malcolm T

From Wales
Who stayed in February 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Family friendly hotel
The staff were friendly and helpful. I had 2 children aged 5 and 4 with me and the room was clean and spacious for us to stay in. All slept well. The pool was a big hit with the children, they loved it. The changing rooms were clean and easy to use with towels given to each of use to use. The breakfast was well presented with plenty of choice of hot breakfast, toast, cereals, fruit, cheese, ham etc. The children helped themselves and enjoyed their meal. Staff were really friendly and as it was the 5 year old birthday she was given a card and little gifts which she loved. Easy walk into Cardiff centre for shopping, dinning etc. The hotel was good value for money especially the breakfast and I will happily return soon for another trip with or without children.

Reviewed by
Marlene B

From Llanelli, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value
Couldn't fault anything really, apart from the parking at £9 per night. Otherwise friendly and helpful staff, more than accommodating. Will stay again! Boys loved the swimming pool too!

Reviewed by
C Macphee

From Narberth, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

russel howard at the cia
this hotel is in a perfect location for both the city center with all its shops eateries and entertainment and cardiff bay with its boat trips waterfront cafes and history...just a 5 min walk to the cia. excellent value for money booked through late rooms..the pool looked lovely but we had no time to use it with our 1 night stay.

Reviewed by
andrea n

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money
Great hotel in great location!

Reviewed by
D Owen

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay great leisure facilities and breakfast outstanding staff were friendly

Reviewed by
John D

From Aberystwyth, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

modern city break with a young family
Hotel has lots of parking (£9 for 24 hours and validated until 6pm on the day we checked out which was great as enabled us to go back into Cardiff for the whole day without finding new parking). Pool and spa area lovely but children only allowed to 7pm which was a shame, but towels are provided. Really lovely breakfast worth paying for the night before as they have an offer on if booked before hand (£10 instead of £13.95). I love the glass lifts and the little chill area for kids. Great central location, 5 min walk to John Lewis. Our room was a little smaller this time than the one we had before and was a real crush when the sofa bed was down, and my key card kept not working. Take your own water as they charge £2.50 for a small bottle left in a fridge in your room, also barely any coffee, milk etc left out

Reviewed by
Lindsay W

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent pool and good location in Cardiff City Centre
Very good quality, room, with very comfortable bed. This hotel was chosen partly because of reviews mentioning the pool and steam room which were indeed both excellent. I did find I noticed the traffic noise a bit, even though we were on the 5th floor but my partner said she did not notice it at all so this probably would not bother most people. We would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay again.

Reviewed by
Greg D

From Narberth, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Single Parent - two kids. Lovely staff

The staff were very welcoming and helpful,
Bu next staff on desk did ignor my complaint that the fridge smelt bad and didn't appear to work!
I felt £9 steep for parking especially if one is eating in the hotel.
Restrante is expensive
Kids area limited but fun
Pool and area was nice.not for serious swimmers but great for a dip and chill in the sauna/steam & jacuzzi I did not use the gym but it looked well equiped.
Room was just fine. & quiet for a good night sleep.

Reviewed by
Ruth H

From London, England
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.