No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Novotel Cardiff Centre

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
SCHOONER WAY , CARDIFF, CF10 4RT

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

Novotel Cardiff Centre is a New Generation Novotel so you'll enjoy a fresh new element of design during your stay. Located just a 10-minute walk from the train station, the hotel is within easy walking distance of the town's Victorian shopping arcades and also many leisure attractions including: Cardiff Bay, St David's and Capitol shopping centres, Cardiff Castle, Millennium Stadium, Cardiff Motorpoint Arena or the Wales millennium centre.

Although the building retains many of its Victorian features, public areas are stylish and contemporary, created from wood, stone and richly coloured furnishings. All bedrooms are furnished with double beds, a sofa-bed or armchair and a unique pivot desk for working or dining. Satellite TV, radio and pay movies are standard, as is FREE Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. Bathrooms in Executive rooms and Suite feature a bath with hand-held shower and a separate shower unit.

On-site paying car park is available and the hotel boasts a pool for that all important relaxation time.
Picture of Novotel Cardiff Centre, CARDIFF at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 328 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Birthday Break with the Kids..
Had a fabulous time and the staff were very helpful and accomodating - I asked if there was a change ot an updgrade to my room seeing as it was my Birthday on checking, and we were given a fabulous executive suite along with a free drinks voucher for the entire family! - we are all very grateful and thank you for making it so special for us.

Reviewed by
Richard H

From Leamington Spa, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great family break
A great hotel to stay for a short family break. There food is fantastic and great value for families. The kids menus are superb and great value. The hotel location is great for walking into the centre (5 minutes) or going over to Cardiff Bay (5 minutes in car). Room was fine although with the room we had, a family of four would be sleeping in two double beds - which may not be ideal.

Reviewed by
g davies

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant Service
Customer service, room service, cleanliness, pool all brilliant we all really enjoyed it and felt most welcome, will def be back

Reviewed by
C Hargreaves

From Welwyn garden city, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cardiff Novotel experience
Overall, I was surprised by the mediocre quality of room we experienced and the fact it was noisy and not as family friendly as we imagined. For example, the room was small and overlooked a busy main road. We were constantly disturbed at night by people arriving and the breakfasts were £10 per adult when the Novotel in Bristol was £7.95 and had a better quality of food and variety. The swimming pool was heated and the Sauna rooms were alright. However, without a person responsible in the swimming area, my husband was dismayed to see a number of parents taking young children into the sauna rooms! Surely, this should not be allowed.

Reviewed by
Julie D

From Bodmin, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Stay
Being a Hotel General Manager myself i would like to put some feedback for use of the hotel.
Firstly warm welcome, and we were aloud an early check in which i was very grateful for as i was traveling with my 6 year old. I wasn't offered the chance to purchase breakfast for myself though and had to come down and ask as i had heard other guests being offered this option.The facilities in the hotel were wonderful for children and the use of the pool and xbox made my son really happy and the facilities were very clean and user friendly. We ate in the Bar on the first night and the staff were very helpful and friendly the food was all nice and well presented and the childrens 3 course options fantastic and made diner hastle free. Would have to say that food was very reasonably priced for a hotel and my only issue was that my cutlery was cleared after my starter and no-one brought me cutlery for my main course. Breakfast is so difficult to get right on mass but i will have to say, brilliant choice for adults and children, well organised and again hastle free. The hot buffet was kept regularly topped up and everything was hot and fresh, and again the staff were very helpful and attentive. All in all a very nice stay and would recommend the hotel especially to families with young children. Well done to Novotel Cardiff and my son has already asked when we are staying again.

Reviewed by
Daniel Wood

From Stroud, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic food and service
Although the rooms seemed a little tired, especially for a 4*, the overall facilities are excellent and the staff, service and quality of the food were really good and surpassed expectation. The bar is an excellent place to relax and Joe the barman provides a professional yet very friendly service, certainly beyond my usual experiences with hotel chain bars. We dined one night in the restaurant choosing the seasonal menu and this was really fantastic. The food was superb and our Thai waitress was exceptional. I consider myself to be a bit of a foodie and the restaurant was a real surprise and I would recommend it to anyone looking for fine dining.

Reviewed by
G Catterson

From Bishop Auckland, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel. Clean and tidy. The gym and pool were handy to have. Food was good. The £9 a night parking charge lifts the overal cost of the stay at the hotel

Reviewed by
Peter T

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very satisfactory stay
Good location nice hotel. £94 was an excellent deal and we had free use of pool and sauna too!

Reviewed by
Leigh F

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value
easy to locate in bay area(well signposted). friendly helpful staff. clean room. poor choice of room service food choice after 11pm. taxi to centre around £4 but walking 10 to 15 mins.Pool looked great and would bring our children here next time.

Reviewed by
d isaac

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent, 5 stars!
Friendly and professional staff! Clean and spacious room! Will be going again soon!

Reviewed by
R Ibrahim

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.