No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Novotel Cardiff Centre

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Schooner Way, Atlantic Wharf, CARDIFF, CF10 4RT

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

Book into the 4-star Novotel Cardiff Centre hotel, close to the Millennium Stadium. The hotel is also within walking distance of the shopping & entertainment of Cardiff Bay. The hotel's 138 contemporary rooms each have wireless internet & satellite TV. The Elements Restaurant & Bar offer a wide range of contemporary dishes, cocktails & hot drinks. The hotel has an indoor heated pool & fitness centre, and the 9 flexible meeting spaces can host up to 200 people. Free WiFi throughout the hotel
Picture of Novotel Cardiff Centre, CARDIFF at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 302 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A perfect stay as always

Reviewed by
Chris R

From Stonehouse, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Novotel stay
Cleanliness good but the hotel is beginning to show signs of ageing in places .Spa facilities are good and the beds clean and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent and the staff were attentive and in no hurry to move you on. Pay for breakfast at reception.

Reviewed by
Peter W

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short Break
Lovely hotel with good sized room & the food was excellent. The hotel was only 5 mins walk from the town centre. Will recommend to all my friends.

Reviewed by
Graham P

From Exeter, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Was very pleased with my stay, however the one thing that let them down was we asked about returning to the hotel next year, for an event in July but had a very blunt answer of " No you can't make a reservation and we don't even know the prices for next year". Kind of made you think well ok I'll go somewhere else next time! No idea why you can't book a hotel a year in advance, as when I searched on late rooms for that date other hotels were able to take bookings. So they have missed out on us returning next year on the basis they weren't even willing to book us in and contact us with the prices when they come out. I would stay again but wouldn't choose if I could find another hotel of same standard for same price.

Reviewed by
Liam M

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Grumpy Night Manager on arrival (at 4 in the afternoon) was not a good start
I do my best to avoid large hotel chains such as this but hoped to be pleasantly surprised. Unfortunately my first impression was what I hoped it wouldn't be. A disinterested, bordering on rude, Night Manager could barely summon the energy to be polite. He muttered information and I had to ask him to repeat what he said. I was asked to fill in some details and went to pick up a pen which was quickly snatched away. I was told I had to use the pen attached to the desk by a piece of string. There was no welcome, no 'enjoy your stay', no 'please call if you need anything'. Just a grumpy scowl.
The room was very small for a Family Room that slept 4. I would have been really cross if I had had to pay the rack rate which was over £300! There were 2 pillows between the 2 double beds and 1 set of towels in the bathroom. Presumably I could have phoned and asked for more but I was beginning to get the feeling the hotel did not trust its customers. The room was very clean and well presented otherwise.
During the night doors banged and early the next morning I could hear the toilet used in the next room.
When we checked out the lady on reception was lovely. As was every other person we encountered in Cardiff.

Reviewed by
Joanna W

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice hotel
This is a nice hotel, clean, parking (you have to pay for the car park), swimming pool, food about what you would expect for the price, x box 360 and computers in reception area (free to use).
We enjoyed the stay, for us a nice location, a short taxi ride or 15 min walk from Cardiff Bay, town centre etc.
The only thing I did not enjoy was one session in the swimming pool, when a stag party was left to intimate families, eg jumping over children's heads, pulling their pants down, we had to get out to complain, other times in the swimming pool were fine

Reviewed by
John and Karen Baker

From Winsford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Stay
Perfect

Reviewed by
Christopher R

From Stonehouse, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not impressed.
Staff were so rude to me and my boyfriend, tried accusing me of not pre-paying and my card being declined before when I had paid 4 weeks ago, had to get my bank statement up to prove him wrong, didn't even get an apology, lady on reception during our departure was really rude aswell. Not happy that the 'queen bed' is classed as 2 single beds pushed together, kept falling down the middle all night.

Reviewed by
E Taylor

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Although we got a good deal the cost to eat and drink at the hotel was ridiculously expensive hence why we didnt use these facilities. Even the water in the fridge in the room was expensive, this was not suited to a family budget. Very good stay otherwise, good location.

Reviewed by
J Mitchell

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice place to stay
Nice hotel parking is extra

Reviewed by
andrew light

From Monmouth, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next