No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Novotel Cardiff Centre

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
SCHOONER WAY , CARDIFF, CF10 4RT

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

Novotel Cardiff Centre is a New Generation Novotel so you'll enjoy a fresh new element of design during your stay. Located just a 10-minute walk from the train station, the hotel is within easy walking distance of the town's Victorian shopping arcades and also many leisure attractions including: Cardiff Bay, St David's and Capitol shopping centres, Cardiff Castle, Millennium Stadium, Cardiff Motorpoint Arena or the Wales millennium centre.

Although the building retains many of its Victorian features, public areas are stylish and contemporary, created from wood, stone and richly coloured furnishings. All bedrooms are furnished with double beds, a sofa-bed or armchair and a unique pivot desk for working or dining. Satellite TV, radio and pay movies are standard, as is FREE Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. Bathrooms in Executive rooms and Suite feature a bath with hand-held shower and a separate shower unit.

On-site paying car park is available and the hotel boasts a pool for that all important relaxation time.
Picture of Novotel Cardiff Centre, CARDIFF at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 335 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

poor room
room 220 - was not a 4 star room at best it would be a box room. It was not easy to move around the room without hitting the table. Despite the menu stating limited food available 24/7 - this was not the case so we had peanuts.

Reviewed by
t rumble

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel and superb location
We have stayed here several times and always enjoy our visit. The hotel has great facilities, superb breakfast and is only 10 minutes walk from the city centre.
This is the busiest we'd seen with families, and it has to be said the pool was slightly overwhelmed, as the changing cubicles etc are very limited. Apart from this (and we were informed the hotel was completely full) everything ran smoothly.
Will be staying again and would happily recommend to anyone wanting a quality stay in Cardiff.

Reviewed by
A Rogers

From Warwick, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Novotel Cardiff
Great hotel, very convenient for Cardiff shopping centre and the bay. Great price with pool, gym and parking too.

Reviewed by
wendy s

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

front of house welcome and helpfullness not the best
when arriving everything was as you would expect, we took the car into the bay area but had lost our parking ticket that you need to get out. the staff were not helpfull at all even demanding we pay an extra ten pounds to park even though we could not leave the car park, they knew we had already paid as car registration and charge for parking was on the booking form, it really spoilt the overall experience of our visit, but on the whole the room was ok, pool and steam rooms ok,

Reviewed by
D Luker

From Porth, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely staff, fantastic location.

Reviewed by
Natalie B

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Noisy room at night and woken up in the morning.
I can't moan too much the room was a good deal, was clean and the staff were polite. There was a mix up with my booking with late rooms but the staff sorted this out quick enough.
We stayed on the 3rd floor in the converted part. The room was clean but the downside was the noise..... At first I thought it was the AC but no it was the extractor fans outside which are on all day and night. It hummed all night now I slept through it once I got off but my partner said she was awake every 15 mins.
If you are staying ask for the newer part which is above the swimming pool area and away from the fans. Apart from that I was happy with the stay but would have been very mad if I had paid full price especially when the fire alarm went wrong and was going off for 10 mins, early in the morning again this can not be helped.

Reviewed by
M Luker

From Stroud, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

cardiff break
excellent in every way

Reviewed by
d morris

From Milford Haven, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We loved Vicky Clarke at the check in desk!
Fab welcome and free upgrade. We loved the hotel and the staff
Wish we had the time to use all the facilities!room was immaculate with toiletries, robes, slippers and an expresso machine and iPod Dock! My only slight niggle is the room service menu only had 2 items on it after 11pm. But it's understandable! We just ordered a pizza and got it delivered!

Reviewed by
S Moghaddam

From Neath, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First class place to stay, ideal location

Reviewed by
J Davies

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Novotel - a good hotel
The person who greeted us was not entirely friendly and seemed a bit stressed. When we got into the room there was still some rubbish in the bin and a few marks on the lamp and on the bed sheet. The hotel itself was nice, though the pool, even with one or two children in can begin to feel crowded.
The bar staff were excellent and very friendly - an asset to the hotel.

Reviewed by
K Perry

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next