No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Novotel Cardiff Centre

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
SCHOONER WAY , CARDIFF, CF10 4RT

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

Novotel Cardiff Centre is a New Generation Novotel so you'll enjoy a fresh new element of design during your stay. Located just a 10-minute walk from the train station, the hotel is within easy walking distance of the town's Victorian shopping arcades and also many leisure attractions including: Cardiff Bay, St David's and Capitol shopping centres, Cardiff Castle, Millennium Stadium, Cardiff Motorpoint Arena or the Wales millennium centre.

Although the building retains many of its Victorian features, public areas are stylish and contemporary, created from wood, stone and richly coloured furnishings. All bedrooms are furnished with double beds, a sofa-bed or armchair and a unique pivot desk for working or dining. Satellite TV, radio and pay movies are standard, as is FREE Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. Bathrooms in Executive rooms and Suite feature a bath with hand-held shower and a separate shower unit.

On-site paying car park is available and the hotel boasts a pool for that all important relaxation time.
Picture of Novotel Cardiff Centre, CARDIFF at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 319 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not impressed.
Staff were so rude to me and my boyfriend, tried accusing me of not pre-paying and my card being declined before when I had paid 4 weeks ago, had to get my bank statement up to prove him wrong, didn't even get an apology, lady on reception during our departure was really rude aswell. Not happy that the 'queen bed' is classed as 2 single beds pushed together, kept falling down the middle all night.

Reviewed by
E Taylor

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Although we got a good deal the cost to eat and drink at the hotel was ridiculously expensive hence why we didnt use these facilities. Even the water in the fridge in the room was expensive, this was not suited to a family budget. Very good stay otherwise, good location.

Reviewed by
J Mitchell

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice place to stay
Nice hotel parking is extra

Reviewed by
andrew light

From Monmouth, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Had a really relaxing time here. The staff were friendly and happy to help.

Reviewed by
john bolton

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent location to city centre
The Novotel was convenient place to stay as its walking distance of the shops and Cardiff bay . The hotel staff were all very helpful and friendly . We happened to stay on a night when there was a wedding so it was so noisy ( which I realise is not the hotels fault ) however all the fire doors were slamming,might I suggest some kind of silencers on them .Fortunately I had packed ear plugs !

Reviewed by
l thomas

From Milford Haven, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent value for money
Really impressed with the overall standard of this hotel. Only an overnight stay on our way to our next destination ( luxury manor house hotel) !! Wish I had continued my break at the novotel. Great location

Reviewed by
L Brown

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel
Very enjoyable stay - clean and friendly . Only down side - food and drink far too expensive .... 1 bottle of cider £5 ! Breakfast £17.00 ...... Would've been tempted to stay at hotel for food and drinks is prices were reasonable ( or better still competitive ) ...... Far too much emphasis on profit !

Reviewed by
K Tonkinson

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant city break.
We stayed here to visit Cardiff for a weekend. The pricing was keen for a 4 star with a good pool, sauna , steam and gym. Mostly very good, however, the seating and decor were a little tatty and dated. Also, restaurant cleanliness and service could be improved.

Reviewed by
C Quelch

From Sandhurst, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend Break
We stayed just one night (4 of us, with kids aged 5 and 9). The room was fine, although the kids had to share a pull-out double bed rather than having a bed each. Not sure if we could have had twin beds instead if we'd asked, which in hindsight would have been better.
The staff and other facilities were excellent. We sat up in the bar until late and felt very welcome with the kids, and the pool was great. Kids play area is small but they liked it.

Reviewed by
Jim Bell

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money good location
We enjoyed our stay. The hotel when we arrived gave a good overall impression, modern, clean, nice pool area, helpful staff. good location. Our only complaint would be of our room which was not brilliant, the whole carpet looked really dirty, was badly marked and made us not want to take our shoes off which as a first impression I feel is not good. Everything else was ok but if this is being rated as a four star it definitely would not have made the grade and we would have not been happy paying the full price rather than an offer price. Our room was 108. Maybe because we had a cheaper rate we got a cheaper room ? . In hindsight I think we should have complained. We would consider it again as apart from the room everything was ok and I would recommend it but I would say if the room was not up to standard then get it sorted.

Reviewed by
victor w

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with teenage children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next