No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Old Mill Hotel

3Self Classified Country House Hotel Ratings explained
TollBridge Road. Batheaston , Bath, BA1 7DE
Baths most beautifully located hotel, set on the banks of the River Avon with lovely gardens and stunning views over the surrounding country side.
The Old Mill Hotel and Lodge is located on a site that housed a flour mill until 1907. Since then it has been developed into an attractive hotel with lovely bedrooms, all en suite, banqueting suites, bar, lounge and an exquisite restaurant by the river with a unique waterwheel feature.
The bar, lounge and banqueting suites all fully air conditioned makes this the perfect place to stay whilst visiting the historic city of Bath and yet far enough and close enough to capture the real spirit of the country side and surrounding area.
Whether it be a romantic get away, a social gathering or business trip The Old Mill with its tranquil setting is the ideal resting place after a busy day either site seeing, shopping or business meeting.
Please note that the hotel has no lift and due to the nature of the building may not be suitable for some disabled people.
Picture of The Old Mill Hotel, Bath at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 30 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
64% recommended this accommodation to a friend 67% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a treat
A real find of a well appointed room with river views, excellant value for money.

Reviewed by
geoff p

From Newtown, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tired but friendly
A bit of a disappointment as we paid 240 pounds for two nights and although our view was gorgeous the room was tired and just a little bit weird. The carpet was a bit stained and the instructions on how to get hot water in the shower was at the reception desk! Not particularly helpful if you are standing under a torrent of freezing water. The furniture was lovely solid pine and the terrace was a nice touch, however we were sharing a table and chairs with the room next door and there was a full ashtray on the table. The bathroom was ill fitting and weirdly had two showers and a massage bath that was not working. There was even a sign on the door apologising just in case it didn't work! The food in the Italian restaurant was very nice and all the staff were attentive and helpful. Overall it was a nice stay but could do with a little more thought. With more small touches the hotel would be perfect.

Reviewed by
Adele B

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

expensive for what it is
The hotel looks like it's stuck in the 80s - particularly the communal areas. Room 102 is right by the entrance and also right by the road - with the ensuite bathroom basically in a cupboard in the room. The welcome on arrival was matter of fact, although the guy on reception did try to help when we asked for local directions. Went for breakfast just before the 'closing time' of 10.00am and this appeared to be a bit of a nuisance. Be prepared to pay extortionate rates for wifi too. All in all, it was a bit shabby and down at heel - particularly for £95 per night.

Reviewed by
Hannah B

From London, England
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short break
The setting of the hotel is lovely, the hotel itself has no atmosphere,staff knew nothing about the fishing , which it advertises,no bar available in the afternoon,and 99 0/0 of the customers seemed to eat in the pub across the road where there is some atmosphere

Reviewed by
S Gouldburn

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very picturesque
The room was very nice. Comfortable bed and view was lovely.
Breakfast was very nice and there was plenty of it. Staff were very nice also.

Reviewed by
D Howell

From Exmouth, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Birthday weekend
We booked this hotel for a group of friends on a birthday weekend.
The rooms were quite small they were clean and comfortable .
We did not spend much time at the hotel as hired a narrow boat on the sun all day .
It was a taxi ride to Bath but worked out £7 max .
The breakfast was great with plenty to eat and the hotel staff friendly .

Reviewed by
R Nunn

From Rushden, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

£5 for 2 hours internet, really...
Why in 2014 do hotels try and rip off guests with charging for internet... £5 for 2 hours and if memory serves me correct, £15 for 8 hours!!! What an absolute rip off! On that basis I would never use this hotel again.
That aside, the room was very clean and of a high standard although the shower didn't produce any hot water.

Reviewed by
Matthew Smith

From North Shields, England
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bath city break
Good value

Reviewed by
Alan G

From Christchurch, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Location
Beautiful looking building and rooms were of a good size. Location was fantastic and saved me having to attempt to get through London Road during rush hour. Shower was fantastic, bed was really comfy but sadly didn't have time to try the food as was there on business. Receptionist on booking in wasn't very helpful at all but this was more than made up by the evening receptionist who couldn't do enough for you.

Reviewed by
Charmaine S

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Customer service
When we first arrived at the hotel the member of staff on reception was helpful. However, in the morning the shower would not work. We went down to reception and the member of staff on that Sunday morning was NOT helpful. He said he would like to have a look at the shower, so of course we said yes. When he went up, the shower had started working, which is fine. However, rather than apologising or trying to resolve the situation and keep his customers happy, he then went on to tell us what WE should have done, and suggested that we had been using it wrong (even though we had had showers the night before.) We found this to be frustrating and slightly insulting. Therefore what had been a relatively pleasant, left us leaving on a sour note. Therefore, this does not compel us to go back!

Reviewed by
G Marchant

From England
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next