Reviews - Grainger Hotel

1-3 Graingerville North,Westgate Road, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE4 6UJ

Price From 104.25 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (94)

60% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Lesley C

  • November 2015


  • beth t

  • October 2015

Had a fantastic stay

Would definitely recommend this hotel as it was nice and quite and clean, friendly.

  • Blair Kilpatrick

  • October 2015

Small hotel ideal access to St James's Park.

  • Hannah Longstaff

  • October 2015

Lovely little hotel!

We stayed here for 2 nights, we arrived late and very tired but the hotel staff was very accommodating and friendly.

The room was very clean and homely. Lovey little room with a nice powerful shower, the signal in the television went off and wouldn't work so they even offered to move us to a different room. There service was lovely and all the staff was so friendly and helpful. I would defiantly stay here again and recommend this hotel to anyone. Also they do a continental breakfast for £2. BARGIN!.

  • c forrester

  • August 2015

Nice room, clean and good price

This ticked most of the boxes for us, Nice room, clean and good price.

About 20mins walk into Newcastle.

  • Chris S

  • June 2015

Many positives but some negatives

We stayed in this hotel for one night in room 211 at the front of the property and firstly the positives: Room rate was reasonable at £49 for a double ensuite room Breakfast was good for £2 per person buffet style so you can eat as much as you like Room was well presented and the hotel looks as though it has had a revamp recently Areas to improve: Despite being summer the heating appeared to be on with no way to turn it off The bed was more like a 4ft rather 4ft 6 so a little snug for 2 people There is no wardrobe but a there is a hanger unit in the room In order to alleviate the heat during the night we opened the windows but the hotel is on a main road and the noise was loud from outside during the night The ensuite was nice but limited space to put down toiletries etc There is a charge of £5 per night for secure parking The hotel is about 10 minutes drive out of town so about £5 in a taxi.

The hotel seem to have made upgrades to improve the overall interior and this has worked but if you have a room at the front you cannot have the windows open due to the noise and there was no air conditioning in the room

Room Tip: Room at rear of property

  • N Reed

  • May 2015

You get what you pay for

The hotel is too far away from the centre.

What we saved in our night's stay we paid in taxi fares. The room had recently been refurbished, but it was very small. The bed was comfortable but no room for a shelf or bedside table

Breakfast was very poor

  • david d

  • April 2015

the game that never was .

Good weekend despite no football.don't buy the breakfast.only toast .cereal and fruit.better value across the very comfortable.shower facilities excellent

  • Darren J

  • April 2015

grainger hotel

Spotless room with all you need for a nights stay on business

  • Tracey R

  • April 2015

family visit.

The Hotel was good overall.

The price reflected the experience. The room was small but functional. No wardrobe, which I would have liked. Bathroom was very small. Did not have free access to Dining Room for breakfast, had to request the code each day to open the combination lock on the door before breakfast. The Management were very nice polite and professional.