No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Grainger Hotel

Not Classified  Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
1-3 Graingerville North,Westgate Road , Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE4 6UJ
Grainger Hotel is located less than a mile from the centre of Newcastle. The night life in the city is legendary, with pubs, clubs and bars liberally scattered among the many restaurants. You may want to enjoy a night of live performances at the Theatre Royal, Tyne Theatre or maybe your favourite band is performing at the City Hall or the Telewest Arena. Graingerville's central location is ideal for all these attractions. If shopping is your bag, then why not experience the Eldon Square shopping centre in the City Centre or the famous MetroCentre, the largest shopping and leisure centre in Europe! The Metro Centre is just 3 miles south west of Newcastle. If you enjoy football, St James' Park is just a short walk away. After a good football match the walk back is perhaps a little longer! If the countryside is your tonic, then use Grainger Hotel as your base. You can be in the beautiful North East Country side within a few minutes and there is plenty to see to, the Angel of the North, Alnwick Castle of Harry Potter Fame, and much much more than this web site can do credit to. See the many bridges over the Tyne and most recently the Millennium bridge with it's winking eye! Newcastle also has the remains of a castle, you can see the remains of the walls and the Keep still exists. And don't forget Hadrian's Wall - you can see the remains of Roman forts and the wall itself. Grainger Hotel can be your base while you enjoy the delights of Newcastle City and the beautiful North East countryside. ''''Continental Breakfast is available @ £2/Person/Day''''''' . Car parking is available on site @ £5.00 per night. WiFi Access available @ £2 charge ( Grainger Hotel Does not take any responsibility if your device fail's to connect with wireless or if not able to find signals inside the Rooms ). Better reserve your room! ***IMPORTANT*** There is a fix charge of £120.00 for smoking in the rooms. A 2% Transaction Fee is charged on all Credit/Debit Card payments.
Picture of Grainger Hotel, Newcastle Upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 146 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
63% recommended this accommodation to a friend 67% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Boys time
On arrival we were treated verry pleasant staff, room was not ready till 3pm. We were offered to put our bags in a room to drop off which wasn't ready,eventually in our room at 3pm and showered .
A lot of wasted time.
Their is no bar here and when we entered we had to pass the bins at the front door.

Reviewed by
Terry H

From Kirkcaldy, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good for what you need
Clean room with easy access to city centre, just what you need for a city break

Reviewed by
abbie s

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Does what it says on the tin!
A low budget hotel situated 10 minutes walk from Newcastle City Centre. Basic room, but everything working and staff friendly enough. Area very working class, but close to all amenities. An enjoyable stay which supported all my needs.

Reviewed by
John Thomson

From Dalkeith, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

staff friendly, and helpful. downside being in my room no wardrobe space.

Reviewed by
Jim Byrne

From glasgow, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Better than a hostel
Pros: Cheap accommodation. Staff were friendly, accommodating and helpful. 24 hour reception a definîte bonus. Close to centre and nice locals. Cons: Bed was way too bouncey - couldn't get any purchase. Bathroom door broke. Other guest slightly rowdy. Could be cleaner. Had good time though!

Reviewed by
D Hyde

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very poor

Reviewed by
Bradley Kemp

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely little hotel
We were visiting for my 21st birthday. The staff were all kind and accommodating. They helped us book a taxi and made us feel at ease. The room was very spacious and lovely and we had a beautiful large ensuite! Decor is a little dated but definitely great value for money! Will be booking again

Reviewed by
N Smith

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Don't stay here unless you must
I already had a feeling of foreboding when the taxi driver from the airport said I shouldn't be staying there. I will be very honest in my comments as I was taken aback by the place as I have stayed in many similarly priced hotels in my time.
I arrived to find heavily made up, scantily clad young women lounging around the shabby, run down "foyer" area. The person on night duty was friendly enough. After searching for my room down a warren of corridors, I opened the door onto the tiniest living space and bathroom I've ever seen. There was just enough space for the double bed, cupboard, table and chair. The bathroom was less than a metre wide and had a basin so minute you could barely wash your hands in it. Everything had a slightly mucky, botch job feel to it. A bar across the middle of the window to keep the unhinged curtains back was askew, the windows so unclean you could not see out. The walls were wafer thin which meant doors opening and closing at 3am and arguments going on next door could be heard as if in the same room. The foul language shouted out at random by passers by on the street gives an idea of the area. The only plus point was the provision of a kettle and tea facilities in the room.
I was grateful when I could leave this establishment the next morning. I will definitely not be back.

Reviewed by
Stella G

From Turkey
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

ridiculously expensive for a very rough run down hotel
Tired old room with no soundproofing on a main road - very noisy. Shower had a stained/damaged floor which didn't look very clean. Room very small with no freeview signal for freeview TV. At £144 per night is ridiculously overpriced for a hotel that is a fair way from the city centre. Had to get someone to unlock the breakfast room for us with a secret code! Would not stay here again at any price!

Reviewed by
Simon H

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Too hot and very noisy.
We were given 3 rooms in the attic which was about 100 degrees so we opened the windows to find we were on a main road so constant cars and buses until very late.
When we asked to be moved we were told no rooms available, when we asked for a discount we were told no. Shouldn't have paid on arrival but at end of stay.
Family in Newcastle told us this is one of the worst parts of the city so just be wary if you have to stay there.
Good points = a person is on Reception 24hrs, nice cafe across the road, bus stop outside hotel takes you directly into city, room was small but clean.

Reviewed by
Melanie D

From London, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next