Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff > Butetown Hotels > The St David’s Hotel & Spa
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The St David’s Hotel & Spa

5AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Havannah Street , Cardiff, CF10 5SD
Cardiff’s most stylish and contemporary hotel, ideally situated on the waterfront of Cardiff Bay. The only AA rated five-star hotel in Cardiff, the St David’s Hotel & Spa makes a bold contemporary architectural statement with its dramatic, glass-fronted façade that creates a light, airy feel within the hotel interior.

A visit to the award-winning Marine Spa is a must to feel pampered and relaxed. Dine in our Tempus at Tides restaurant or take Afternoon Tea taking in the breathtaking views across the harbour. Conference facilities are available for meetings or banquets from 8 to 250 people

Coming for a break away, why not take in the historical views of Cardiff Castle or the infamous Millennium Stadium which is a 40 minute walk away, or try the home of the Welsh National Opera at the Wales Millennium Centre which is a 5 minute walk away.


Picture of The St David’s Hotel & Spa, Cardiff at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 354 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous views, great pool, good room, friendly staff, sadly let down by its welsh cooked breakfast
For £100 late booking for one night b&b, the view & the spa & the staff made it great value & I'd stay again. Lucky that the breakfast buffet was included though, because for £18 the "welsh cooked breakfast" was exactly what you get from Tesco cafe or a motorway services & an insult to welsh food - stick with the better continental items. Breakfast was 3* hotel standard, not 5*. Tides Restaurant is supposedly highly rated - I didn't dine for dinner - but after experiencing the cooked breakfast I would opt for one of the several other top eating places in Cardiff. Sorry to be negative but 5 stars brings expectations.

Reviewed by
Michael P

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I would return
I enjoyed the use of the facilities. The staff are efficient and friendly. The food was lovely. The spa pool and jacuzzi weren't dirty as such but you could see it had been used. In saying that it was Sunday evening when I used them so had probably been in use all weekend without a full thorough clean

Reviewed by
LAURA C

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

overpriced american hotel based chain
No mention anywhere when booking of car parking charges which are a staggering £15 per night for a hotel that charges £199 for a 2 person stay overnight. Complained and reception staff kindly did not charge u car parking fee. Why the hotel can not pay for the guests car parking beats me and finding it it an american based firm tells you everything.
I would advise when you book to book elsewhere, i checked booking online and found it to be £30 cheaper.

Reviewed by
geoff g

From newcastle-u-lyme, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review
Excellent in all respects

Reviewed by
Gordon Welford

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Everything perfect except breakfast
Everything perfect except breakfast cheap nasty bacon eggs an sausages such a let down!!

Reviewed by
J Gregory

From Penarth, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The St David’s Hotel & Spa
Great view over the bay.

Reviewed by
Philippa K

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value on a last minute deal
I booked in the morning of my stay and got an excellent rate.
Check in was efficient.
Room a good size with nice views over the bay.
Breakfast was very good.
All in all highly recommend.

Reviewed by
Kevin T

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not 5 *
I was disappointed with the accommodation and do not think this is a 5 * hotel. The windows were dirty and there were a few unsightly red stains on the carpet. The sauna and hydropool were out of service in the spa and as entry to the spa was part of the package that I booked this was very disappointing. I was not informed of this until after the cancellation policy had expired!!!
However, the spa staff upgraded the treatment that I booked......this went some way to ease the disappointment but I would have rather been informed at the start so that I had the option to choose another hotel.

Reviewed by
helen lewis

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Once again , a great stay!
Lovely stay at St David's hotel , it never disappoints . Although the Sanua and jacuzzi was out of order ( would of been nice to of known before booking ) it was still a nice night away .

Reviewed by
Jay S

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review
Spa facilities could do with an update and maybe a refurb
Hotel room was a little dated not a four star in my opinion but fair for the price we paid. Very nice views over cardiff bay.

Reviewed by
D Roche

From Newport, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next