Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff > Butetown Hotels > The St David’s Hotel & Spa
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The St David’s Hotel & Spa

5AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Havannah Street , Cardiff, CF10 5SD

Simply The Guest Awards Winner

Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

Cardiff’s most stylish and contemporary hotel, ideally situated on the waterfront of Cardiff Bay. The only AA rated five-star hotel in Cardiff, the St David’s Hotel & Spa makes a bold contemporary architectural statement with its dramatic, glass-fronted façade that creates a light, airy feel within the hotel interior.

A visit to the award-winning Marine Spa is a must to feel pampered and relaxed. Dine in our Tempus at Tides restaurant or take Afternoon Tea taking in the breathtaking views across the harbour. Conference facilities are available for meetings or banquets from 8 to 250 people

Coming for a break away, why not take in the historical views of Cardiff Castle or the infamous Millennium Stadium which is a 40 minute walk away, or try the home of the Welsh National Opera at the Wales Millennium Centre which is a 5 minute walk away.


Picture of The St David’s Hotel & Spa, Cardiff at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 378 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Customer service would have been 6 if not for the reception staff

Reviewed by
Joanne L

From Westbury, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful hotel with good service and magnificent views.
A lovely place to stay - my only issue being that the spa could do with an update. However it was a lovely feature. Views from the bedroom were really magnificent. There was a wide choice of restaurants and bars nearby. The hotel bar gave lovely service and great selection of drinks. The rooms were clean and well equipped. Extra cost for parking was a bit off putting too.

Reviewed by
Alison C

From , UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Marred by minor detail
An enjoyable experience marred by breakfast. I ordered porridge and one poached egg as did my companion. After a considerable wait we were served porridge with two poached eggs each. I quickly ate my poached egg to then eat the porridge to find it was stone cold -not even luke warm. Really disappointing.

Reviewed by
heather s

From Portsmouth, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel with 1st class customer service,Situated in the Cardiff bay area which offer a variety of bars and restaurants if you feel like a change from the hotel,

Reviewed by
stuart evans

From Merthyr Tydfil, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Family visit

Reviewed by
Jane Evans

From Corwen, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great facilities at the hotel.
I enjoyed my stay and breakfast was good. Quite hot near the buffet end.
Glad I didn't pay the full rate for my deluxe double bedroom. But at the
discounted price it was fine. Carpet clean but stained. It didn't feel like a deluxe room.
Bed was very comfortable. Good spa, couldn't book any treatments
though, there seems to be a lot of day visitors so book treatments
in advance.

Reviewed by
Debra W

From Hertford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

terrific treat
Excellent stay at the St.Davids Spa Hotel! Great Location, Great room, Good food and friendly Staff. Will definitely be back!

Reviewed by
clare james

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Happy with hotel and great location
Views from rooms and spa pool are excellent. Very happy with the hotel, bar and restaurant. Although for a 5 star hotel the carpet in the bedroom could do with a deep clean or replacement.

Reviewed by
R Gunnell

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

View fantastic, room out of time
View from room is fantastic panorama of Cardiff bay , but room needed refreshing, updating, new carpet and décor improvement. Also expected modern health club. Staff were very good

Reviewed by
M Woodward

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay, Cardiff bay is also very nice with water front bars and restuarants

Reviewed by
James M

From Chippenham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next