Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff > Butetown Hotels > The St David’s Hotel & Spa
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The St David’s Hotel & Spa

5AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Havannah Street , Cardiff, CF10 5SD

Simply The Guest Awards Winner

Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

Cardiff’s most stylish and contemporary hotel, ideally situated on the waterfront of Cardiff Bay. The only AA rated five-star hotel in Cardiff, the St David’s Hotel & Spa makes a bold contemporary architectural statement with its dramatic, glass-fronted façade that creates a light, airy feel within the hotel interior.

A visit to the award-winning Marine Spa is a must to feel pampered and relaxed. Dine in our Tempus at Tides restaurant or take Afternoon Tea taking in the breathtaking views across the harbour. Conference facilities are available for meetings or banquets from 8 to 250 people

Coming for a break away, why not take in the historical views of Cardiff Castle or the infamous Millennium Stadium which is a 40 minute walk away, or try the home of the Welsh National Opera at the Wales Millennium Centre which is a 5 minute walk away.


Picture of The St David’s Hotel & Spa, Cardiff at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 376 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic city break

Reviewed by
A Marsh

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Spectacular views from balcony
We stayed here after seeing Paul Weller play Cardiff Castle. Was surprised to find this 5* Hotel was cheaper than many 3* and 4* for that night. So we thought a little luxury and a stroll into Cardiff Centre was a better option and how right we were
It was fabulous, I don't think we will ever stay in the centre again!

Reviewed by
D BURFORD

From Neath , UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the hotel was lovely we had a fab day and night there we will go back thanks
hotel was lovely and clean staff was good to will go back soon

Reviewed by
k archer

From Ferndale, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice Hotel 4 star i would say. Reception staff really helpful and pleasant. Breakfast expensive and I have had better.

Reviewed by
Janice Jones

From Tonypandy, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

On arrival we were told we had received an upgrade, 7th floor , with a wonderful view from the balcony over Cardiff Bay.

Reviewed by
M Dyer

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Views
Loved the room the views over the bay were stunning, ate in the restarant but found it very expensive and food just ok. On booking in I was informed about a £15 per night to park the car as I booked through Laterooms I was unaware of this and could not get anyone to get back to me as I felt it was an expense I should not pay - in the end they waved the cost which was very good of them but Laterooms need to put this on the website as the hotel overall is quite expensive (£384 for two nights and that did not include breakfast!) It looks like I did not enjoy our stay when I read though this review but I have to say we did and would go back again as it was very clean. I can say the bed was one of the best we have ever s;ept in both nights we had really good sleeps.

Reviewed by
Brenda M

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

In need of a major refurb!
First impressions of the hotel weren't very good as the exterior of the hotel needs a good clean as it's all white and looks very dingy. £15 parking for one night is ridiculous!!
The room
It was very basic considering I payed extra for a master deluxe room, I have stay here before in a standard room and they were exactly the same so don't get ripped off. The safe did not work so we had to take all out valuables everywhere with us including the spa. The room was in need of a good clean so not something you'd expect from a '5 star hotel'
The spa
The tiles in the jacuzzi/ swimming pool are green and look like they have not been cleaned for a whole. The steps are broke so you have to climb in, not very good for someone like me as I haven't long come off crutches for dislocating my knee!
Food was very expensive, better to just walk over to the bay for food.
Also, as I payed for a deluxe package I was told I'd get champagne, chocolates and welsh casks delivered to my room, which they never delivered. So I complained and they gave me my 'package' as I was checking out which was obviously too late and not good enough
Overall not worth it for the price and definitely not a 5 star.

Reviewed by
Lowri R

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hidden overpricing
Did not appreciate paying £15 for parking the car then another £ 24 for breakfast on top of the room price. Not overly impressed for a high class hotel. No milk in room when we asked for some it came in a very small jug, just one cup for us then !

Reviewed by
Lindsay M

From Milford Haven, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stat

Reviewed by
N Arnold

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

5 Star Venue
The St David’s Hotel & Spa provides an outstanding experience of 5 Star Hotel Service. From the moment you park your car in the ample car park and walk through the main doorway the reception staff are there to assist in an manner possible. All staff are very welcoming and are pleased to assist in making your stay as pleasant as possible. The evening bar and restaurant staff go out of their way to accommodate your every whim. The food and wine is excellent and the overall style, design and location of the hotel is akin to a luxurious Dubai development.

Reviewed by
John McKenzie

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next