No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Britannia Country House Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
196 PALATINE ROAD , Manchester , M20 2WG
The Britannia Country House hotel is set in its own landscaped grounds and is in a prime location for easy access to all motorway networks.

All 255 en-suite bedrooms are pleasantly decorated with wood furnishings; facilities including TV, Telephone, Trouser Press and Tea & Coffee Making facilities. There are two restaurants, of which include Jenny’s serving the hearty breakfast or a lighter continental style and dinner a traditional Carvery. Alternatively try the Overstuffed Pizzeria is open each evening with a selection of pizzas, steaks and hot sandwiches. The main residents bar offers a tranquil atmosphere, great for a quiet drink. with light snacks being served during the day.

The Leisure facilities here include a swimming pool, gym, sauna and steam room.

The eight Conference rooms can offer first class facilities for any occasion catering for up to 360 people. WIFI is free to all guests and is available in all public areas of the hotel. The hotel offers a 24 hour coach transfer to the airport, this service is charged at £6.00 per adult, £3.00 per child - return trip.
Picture of Britannia Country House Hotel, Manchester  at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 400 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
52% recommended this accommodation to a friend 57% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great hotel friendly staff
Nice rooms good deals if you book on late rooms its worth the price if u get it cheaper

Reviewed by
sarah w

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quality personified
Luxurious amenities with very friendly helpful staff

Reviewed by
jackie v

From WOLVERHAMPTON, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Breakfast excellent. Nice surrounding bit slow at the bar. Good spa facilities.

Reviewed by
Ashley Powell

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Britannia. Good basic economy option
Ok for price

Reviewed by
A Ward

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not impressed. Staff not concerned about stayers complaints

Reviewed by
J Randall

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel itself was nice but as soon as you enter the room it's old fashioned and worst of all everything was broke! The jacuzzi didn't work and the toilet seat was coming off which you don't expect for the price of the executive suite. Oh and the restaurant staff were rather impolite as well.

Reviewed by
Gareth D

From Wrexham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely big rooms, transfers arranged to and from airport, hotel set in lovely grounds.

Reviewed by
janet l

From Millom, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend away.
I have stayed at this hotel a couple of times now when visiting my daughter, and have always found it very pleasant. The staff are really friendly and helpful, the breakfasts are lovely, eat as much as you want. The rooms are very clean, although the bathroom was adequate, there was no plug for the bidet but I'm sure if I'd asked they would've glady provided one. I asked for a quiet room and was not disappointed, all in all I had a wonderful stay and look forward to returning soon. Would definitely recommend. I'd read some reviews before that didn't sound too good, but to be honest I think some people can be very hard to please, so don't let those comments put you off.

Reviewed by
Carole D

From Brampton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel was shabby in places, a quick coat of paint doesn't really hide dated rooms. It's a huge hotel which offers parking for holiday makers. I felt quite unsafe trying to find a parking space late at night in a huge poorly lit car park and then had quite a trek to the hotel with bags etc. the next day the car was covered in bird poo and tree debris

Reviewed by
Jane S

From Solihull, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Won't be staying here again
Decor and fittings dated and worn. The carpet in our room was threadbare! My single room at home is bigger, and this was supposed to be a twin!! Arriving back at the hotel 12.50 told the bar was shut, though clearly a barman there and it just felt like we were being given lots of excuses. Eventually served us, very grudgingly, drinks from behind reception and were very surprised that we wanted glasses to drink out of! No security, anyone could have walked in and had access to the hotel. It was the worst hotel I have stayed in.

Reviewed by
P Goddard

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next