No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Britannia Country House Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
196 PALATINE ROAD , Manchester , M20 2WG
The Britannia Country House hotel is set in its own landscaped grounds and is in a prime location for easy access to all motorway networks.

All 255 en-suite bedrooms are pleasantly decorated with wood furnishings; facilities including TV, Telephone, Trouser Press and Tea & Coffee Making facilities. There are two restaurants, of which include Jenny’s serving the hearty breakfast or a lighter continental style and dinner a traditional Carvery. Alternatively try the Overstuffed Pizzeria is open each evening with a selection of pizzas, steaks and hot sandwiches. The main residents bar offers a tranquil atmosphere, great for a quiet drink. with light snacks being served during the day.

The Leisure facilities here include a swimming pool, gym, sauna and steam room.

The eight Conference rooms can offer first class facilities for any occasion catering for up to 360 people. WIFI is free to all guests and is available in all public areas of the hotel. The hotel offers a 24 hour coach transfer to the airport, this service is charged at £6.00 per adult, £3.00 per child - return trip.
Picture of Britannia Country House Hotel, Manchester  at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 349 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
52% recommended this accommodation to a friend 57% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

night out
liked it. stayed there before always.

Reviewed by
brian slipper

From Oldham, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Commendable
It was very good.

Reviewed by
Godwin I

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous
I was given a huge room, with round bath/jacuzzi. Wifi available throught the hotel. I stayed on my own for 5 days, I felt very well looked after. The restaurant staff are extremely friendly yet professional and welcoming. Only thing I wasn't keen on was a dim lit car park. It is 5 min drive to Manchester college so fabulous accomodation and very reasonably priced. Others I knew stayed at the airport Premier Inn and The airport Brittania both did not seem as good as my hotel, I definetly chose the better place to stay and would stay again without hesitation. Restaurant is huge, 2 bars, swimming pool, gym all looked great.

Reviewed by
A Oliver

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Britannia Country House Hotel
Check in was a huge let down. Massive queue and no organisation. Staff rummaging around for paperwork. Surely someone knows who is arriving and it will be busy 2pm onwards? Described as 2/3 miles from mc. More like 7 miles in total.

Reviewed by
Steve cross

From Lytham St Annes, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Valentine's Night Stay
We paid £59 for the night, and didnt include breakfast within that payment. For £59, the room was basic but the bed was lovely decorated, and the toilet stylish and very clean, as was the room. The room wasn't huge, but big enough for two people looking for a cosy night in. We did go to Burton Road in West Didsbury, about a 5-10 minute drive from the hotel to visit the bars, which were all really relaxed. Dinner the next was morning was a Sunday Buffet breakfast and cost £10.95 per head. Considering you could have as much as you want, probably worth the price, but the food wasn't amazing, however tasty. The hotel itself has a small bar with seating area, however it doesn't take debit/credit card and the cash machine in the building was not working, but just unfortunate circumstances. The hotel staff were all friendly and willing to help- when our key card stopped working. I would definitely go back as we had a lovely stay, but only for a one or two night stay.

Reviewed by
Mica G

From Altrincham, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fits the bill
The hotel is ideal as a place to crash out when you need some where near the airport. The staff are fine, the italian restaurant is fine and the deal was good. No grumbles.

Reviewed by
steve s

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Britannia Country House Hotel
Be aware that there is another Britannia nearer the main road!
I was a late arrival and early leaver so asked for my bill before retiring - I was told that it wasn't possible and to come back in the morning.
The room was like the proverbial oven and despite opening the only window - a small upper window the room didn't cool down for over an hour - the heating bill must be astronomical

Reviewed by
David M

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Britannia Country House Hotel
The hotel suited our needs as a late booking after a day in Manchester shopping.

Reviewed by
S Day

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Had such high hopes!
After such a lovely, friendly and efficient welcome by receptionist Callum, but unfortunately my stay went from bad to worse. The first room I was given was home to several unwanted ladybirds. Thankfully this was quickly rectified by Callum who swiftly changed my room. Only when it was time for sleep, did I discover that I had no way of securing the door from the inside, to which the Manager's reply was 'I really don't understand what the problem is?' Not exactly the response I was looking for as a female staying in a remote part of the hotel alone. No wake-up call was received even though it had been pre-booked at time of checking-in, apparently it was never changed to the new room. This, along with the severe lack of shuttle service provided led to my late arrival to work at the airport. I have used this hotel many times in the past without any incident, and selected it for my stay because of this, however, never again will I even consider or recommend it.

Reviewed by
W Mitchell

From Johnstone, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Britannia Country House Hotel
We enjoyed our stay at this Hotel, cleanliness, service and food were good.

Reviewed by
Ranjith D

From Slough, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next